Vegetable Quesadillas

I got a ton of stuff done this weekend, and I’m feeling great about the fact that I have this upcoming week off. Finally, I chopped a couple inches off of my hair, and though it’s not very noticeable, I just feel better. The split-ends were really bothering me.

After my haircut!

Paul and I watched Black Swan this weekend, which I’ve been dying to see since it hit the theaters.

I really liked it for two reasons. Natalie Portman is a phenomenal actress and she nailed this role right on the head. Two, Darren Aronofsky knows what he’s doing. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen Requiem for a Dream, but that movie is so freaky and it really grips you. Black Swan did the same thing for me. Paul, on the other hand, thought the film was really overrated. I can kind of see how he would think that, but I thought it lived up to the hype.

I mean to get a blog post in on Saturday, but Paul came over and I just never got around to it. I did, however, get to make some rockin’ quesadillas. Seriously, they were delicious, but very messy. If anyone knows how to make quesadillas without creating a mess, please let me know!

The quesadilla filling minus the cheese

I pretty much just took whatever vegetables I had in the fridge. We also had some navy beans, so I figured they would work in the quesadillas too. Though in retrospect, black beans would have been tastier.

Cook cook cook!

Lots of colors, but I think it needed some green.

Tortilla one

First tortilla is ready, and I’ve added the cooked vegetables and beans plus lots of mozzarella cheese.

Peek-a-boo!

Just a little sneak peek before the real mess started.

One on top of the other

And here comes the final product aka the messy, messy quesadilla.

Vegetable Quesadillas!

I loved this recipe. Cheese and bread in any form = the best invention ever. Paul also thought the quesadillas were pretty tasty so yay for that. I could definitely make this one again, but I still need to figure out how everyone else makes them so neat and filled. Pointers?

Vegetable Quesadillas

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C. chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/4 C. chopped orange bell pepper
  • 1/4 C. navy beans
  • 3-4 green olives, chopped
  • 3-4 cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • pinch onion powder
  • olive oil
  • no-stick cooking spray
  • 2 6-inch whole wheat tortillas
  • 1/2 C. reduced fat mozzarella cheese
  • low-fat sour cream
  • medium-hot salsa

Directions:

Spray a large nonstick pan with no-stick cooking spray and then a bit of olive oil.Ā  Add a dash of onion powder. Cook red pepper,Ā  orange pepper, beans, olives and tomatoes in olive oil over medium heat for 6-7 minutes, or until tender. Remove vegetables from pan.

Spray the pan with cooking spray again, and then put one tortilla in the pan. Add some of the vegetable mixture to the tortilla and top with 1/2 of your cheese. Add the rest of the vegetable mixture and then the rest of the cheese. Top with the second tortilla. Cook until both sides are golden, 2-3 minutes on each side. Remove quesadilla and cut it into 4 pieces. Serve hot with sour cream and salsa.

How was your weekend? Did you see any movies? When was the last time you had some quesadillas (or Mexican food in general)?

This entry was posted in beauty, dinner, food, lunch, Me, movies, recipes, snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Vegetable Quesadillas

  1. The quesadillas look yummy! Mine are always really messy, so I have no idea to tighten them up at all šŸ™‚

    My weekend was great—and now I’m trying to get focused and do work (no luck so far!).

    We’ve seen some really good indie films lately on netflix, but I can’t think of their names! I’m so bad at that stuff.
    Glad you had a great weekend šŸ™‚

  2. Your hair flatters your face so well! šŸ™‚ LOVE IT! šŸ˜€

    Your Quesadillas look fabulous! šŸ˜€ I have got to make them.

    I just saw The Prince Of Persia (that was AWESOME!) and The Karate Kid. šŸ™‚ Have you seen those? šŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. Katy says:

    Girl you look so gorgeous!!! I want to see that movie so badly!! Hope you have an awesome week ahead!!!

  4. Tara says:

    Your hair looks so very pretty! I really need to get one soon, I haven’t gotten one since september. I’m a slacker when it comes to my hair.
    I love quesadillas, but it’s definitely been a long time since I’ve had one. I love grilling hummus with cheese and spinach in a tortilla.

  5. Kace says:

    I love chicken quesedillas. I use the recipe for the filling of Andrea’s (canyoustayfordinner.com) chicken enhiladas, and just make it into quesedillas instead. I think the key is not over stuffing, and spreading the filling out!

  6. Courtney says:

    I just found your blog… can’t wait to keep reading! šŸ˜€ Your hair is so pretty! I havn’t had Mexican food in a while, but this post made me really crave it!

  7. haven’t had quesadillas for awhile, but I LOVE mexican food! I should make some up sometime soon!

  8. Kat says:

    Your hair is gorgeous. Super jealous over here!
    I love me some mexican food!! I never make quesadillas at home and I am not really sure why! I love them so much, I really need to start making them! I think they are perfect snacks šŸ™‚

  9. Allison says:

    Mexican food is my favorite!! I just had it the other day for my birthday. Your veggie quesadillas look great!

  10. This is one of my favorite lazy-day meals! colors? check! veggies? check! delish? duhhh!!!!

  11. Yummo-those look amazing. I love quesadillas for real.

    Your hair is so pretty, I absolutely love it!

  12. Oohh that quesadilla looks great! I had Mexican for dinner last night – and it’s such a treat. I love it so much šŸ™‚

  13. Your quesadilla looks awesome!

    I’m on the fence about seeing Black Swan….it looks like it would be just absolutely crazy!

  14. Mmm I love Mexican food – and your quesadilla looks delish! Messy food is always the best šŸ˜‰

  15. Ma Ma Megan says:

    Getting hair trims is one of the best feelings ever. I totally feel less stressed after I get one. Or is that just me? ha.
    yummy looking quesadillias. I think I’ll make it using daiya cheese šŸ˜€
    I’ve heard such great reviews on black swan. Dying to see it!

  16. I do love Mexican food and your quesadillias look delicious!

  17. oh girl you got me craving mexican!! love your hair cut!!! i love cutting off split ends- feels so refreshing!

  18. Tara says:

    I got my hair trimmed yesterday!

    I saw Black Swan and wasn’t a fan immediately because it wasn’t what I expected but it was really good. Plus Natalie Portman is amazing.

    I looooove Mexican food but that’s pretty much as MUST living in south Texas.

  19. Jenny says:

    Veggies, beans, and cheese? Love it! Quesadillas are definitely one of my all time favorite Mexican foods. I loved Black Swan because I felt that as a ballerina I could really relate to it. It is pretty cut throat and it can get pretty intense. I haven’t seen any movies in forever, I’m starting to feel like a hermit šŸ˜¦

  20. I love veggie quesadillas! The only thing I can think of is to put the veggies in the melted cheese so it sticks together. But I always end up with some sort of mess.

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    These veggie quesadillas look great, and most Mexican food I make is always messy! I think I eat some type of Mexican food once a week, usually a veggie black bean burrito with guac. I love your hair! It’s so thick & a great length.

  22. Yummm! I love quesadillas. Last night my friend made some with soy chorizo! Delish!

  23. Your hair looks cute. You can never tell when I get my haircut wither, but it feels SO much better always!

    I saw Black Swan last weekend. Natalie Portman totally deserved the award! Crazy movie, but amazing!

    The quesadillas look phenom.

    I had a weekend of ME this weekend. Felt good!

  24. cbrady3 says:

    Messy quesadillas are still yummy quesadillas:)

  25. alex says:

    you look gorgeous! I love your hair!

  26. I love quesadillas but mine are always a mess too so I can’t offer an pointers.

  27. shoshana says:

    Yum – those quesadillas looks sooo appetizing!

  28. Kristina says:

    my quesadillas always fall apart and turn into a hot mess-which I take as meaning they are utterly amazing and need to be devoured, haha.

  29. Alyssa says:

    I love those ‘dillas! I actually set out to make one a few weeks ago, but ended up wrapping it burrito-style. šŸ˜‰

  30. Meri says:

    your quesadillas look super yummy! We watched 500 days of summer over the weekend, and I thought it was pretty boring. I kept leaving the room to go do other stuff haha. I have pretty bad attention span though I guess, to be fair šŸ™‚

  31. I loved Black Swan. It was kind of a freaky movie (and more than a little dark), but I still thought it was great. And Natalie Portman did an awesome job.

  32. Katelyn says:

    Why are you so gorg?! SLash giiiirl, quesadillas are my lurve. Forever and ever:)

  33. Ellie says:

    I watched the movie “Once”! Very good music in it! And the way that true love is depicted in it is pretty good! šŸ˜€ I love your natural looking waves in that photo! i want it like that hehe

  34. YUM! It’s been forever since I’ve had quesadillas! What a great dinner ideas!

  35. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t seen that movie yet, but I’ve heard nothing but good things. I’ve heard it’s really disturbing and mesmerizing.

  36. Gorgeous hair!! And the quesadillas looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

