And I’m Off!

Vacation begins now! I can’t believe that I’m not going back to work until March 28. It seems like such a long time, but I know it’s going to fly by. Sorry for the missed post yesterday. I ended up going out with my sister and group of friends to a local bar to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. The place was pretty packed, the drinks were cheap and I was still home in bed by 1 a.m. I’m actually surprised I wasn’t more tired this morning at 6:38. I’m sure it’s going to hit me tonight!

Goodies from Kayla!

I also received my goodies in the mail from Kayla at Little Miss Healthify yesterday. So many recipes sound delicious in this cook. With a week off, I should be able to try at least a couple new ones. And these granola bars all look delicious. I’ve never tried any of them, so I’ll make sure to let you know what I think. Thank you Kayla!

Tomato, Tempeh and Zucchini Bowl

I made a decent dinner for myself yesterday, but I think I should have let all the ingredients simmer some more. I didn’t let the liquid reduce enough. But the bowl was still good. Next time, I want to add more veggies in the mix. Unfortunately, we didn’t have any.

Heating up

One thing that having a blog has really taught me is that I’m a really inexperienced cook who is eager to try new things. I mess up a lot (brownie madness), but I don’t quit.

Tomato, Tempeh and Zucchini Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C. tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 C. zucchini, chopped
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 Tbs. kefalotyri cheese
  • 1/4 C. tempeh, chopped
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 tsp. balsamic vinaigrette
  • parmesan cheese

Directions:

Heat olive oil, garlic powder and onion powder in a skillet over medium heat. Add spinach, and let cook for a couple minutes, then reduce heat to medium-low. Add tomatoes and zucchini and let cook 2-3 minutes. Stir occassionally. Add kefalotyri and tempeh and let cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add balsamic vinaigrette and let cook for another 1-2 minutes, until liquid is reduced. Let cook until it looks eatable. Transfer to serving bowl and sprinkle with parmesan, to taste.

Not sure what my plans are for tonight. I think I’m going to take a rest day, though. Tomorrow should be pretty jam-packed. If all goes as planned, I’ll get my brows done, get a hair-cut, work out, possibly get a car wash and get some reading in.

Tempeh…yay or nay? What are you up to this weekend?

This entry was posted in blogs, dinner, food, goals, Me, recipes, work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to And I’m Off!

  1. hannahnow says:

    I know I will love this recipe! I gave up meat and I’m always looking for vegetable based dishes. Looks Yummy!

  2. Olivia says:

    I’ve always wanted to try those BoraBora bars; let me know how they are!! Have an amazing vacation (those bars came just in time didn’t they, you can travel with them so perfectly!!!) I can’t wait for my spring break…just one more week:) PS You’re on my blogroll! Finally got around to that thing:)

  3. Run Tara Run says:

    Enjoy your break!! Mine is starting to close.

    I’m looking forward to hearing how your new recipies go!!

  4. I’ve been wanting to try tempeh for a while now! I really need to step up my game πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful vacation!

  5. Jenny says:

    Yay how fun to have a vacation!! We all need a little R&R. I’ve never tried tempeh 😦 Gotta look into that. And trust me you’re not inexperienced, at least you attempted to make brownies, I don’t even do that lol

  6. runyogarepeat says:

    Mm the stir fry sounds good. I’ve only had tempeh a few times, but I like it. I made a maple ginger tempeh that was really good. Have a great break!
    I hear ya on the bars being packed. I actually heard some guy in class yesterday say he got up at 6:30 to go out because the bars opened early. Crazy!

  7. ooh that reminds me….gotta make brow appointment πŸ˜‰

  8. MMM girl jealous.

    Have fun on Spring Break. I would love to trade places and have your Spring Break now. Ha. Wow 5.5 hours of sleep-you are a champion!

  9. Ah how fun!! Enjoy your time off! I LOVE tempeh! So much protein.

  10. Looks like some great food! And yay for vacation—hope you get to relax πŸ™‚

    I’m not into tempeh at all…I tend to stay away from all soy products, even the fermented ones. Every since I watched Food, Inc…and learned about the estrogen effects, they all just freak me out a bit. I tend to overreact though πŸ™‚

  11. Recipe Chefs says:

    I love food and I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Family Recipes –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

  12. Have SO much fun!!! πŸ™‚

  13. That dinner looks delicious! I like your Italian twist on tempeh. πŸ˜€ I didn’t like tempeh when I first tried it, but now I love it.

  14. the only time i had tempeh i didnt marinate or anything and it was NAY but with so many recipes id see it as a yay now! jealous of your goodies!

  15. Ellie says:

    I love tempeh! πŸ˜€ And you’ll love the PURE bar. ’tis very delicious.

  16. Cat says:

    Happy vacay to you! Such a chunk of time off sounds so wonderful…I am a bit envious πŸ™‚ xx Cat

  17. Ma Ma Megan says:

    Pure bars are so good! especially the wild blueberry one πŸ™‚
    Tempeh = YAY!
    I buy 7 grain tempeh and it is the best!

  18. enjoy your goodies I love the real food diet!

  19. Gina says:

    Awesome goods! That recipe looks delish! Did it serve one?

  20. Tara says:

    Oooh what a fun giveaway prize! I just bought some borabora bars, and I love the tribal cinnamon oatmeal flavor. I can’t tell which one you got. Definitely let us know how the cookbook is!
    Tempeh = yay! I love it in asian stir frys or marinated in honey mustard dressing and thrown in a salad with craisins and pecans.

  21. Meri says:

    I like tempeh when it’s done right… which for me is usually at a restaurant haha. I think a lot of times I’m too lazy to put a lot of effort into it. I certainly like it more than tofu though. But I think I prefer seitan to tempeh. Oh proteins, so many to choose from πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the bars- that is my favorite Luna flavor that you got!

  22. tempeh in my fridge. yay or nay yet to be decided. best wishes with your “take off!” sometimes getting going is the roughest patch

  23. Katy says:

    Hey girl!! I’m. Glad you had fun on St Patricks Day!! This weekend I’m justctrying to get readjusted to being in America, and also get some reading done!

  24. alex says:

    enjoy your break, i’m jealous!

  25. Enjoy your break!!!!!! =)

  26. We have some Temph in the fridge, but I have tried it yet.

    Enjoy! πŸ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

