On the Pavement

I was in for a big surprise when I walked out of work today. The temperature was near 60 degrees, so I took off my sweater and wore a tank-top on my ride home. I had the windows open, the radio blaring and I couldn’t help but smile, even though it took me 45 minutes to get home.

(source)

On that long ride, I decided I would go for an outdoor run when I got home. I received the really cool Nike + iPod from Katy a couple days ago, and I still haven’t got a chance to set it up. But when I finally got home, I couldn’t find my iPod anywhere. I looked for a good 15 minutes, until I just gave up and decided to run without it. I ended up running for 25 minutes, so I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that I ran about 2.5 miles.

Running outside made me realize a couple of things:

1. My shoes are amazing. The last time I ran outside (in October), I didn’t have running shoes. My Nikes made a huge difference.

2. I have no idea how to breathe. Maybe I was cold, I’m not sure, but I felt myself sniffling, having to spit and keeping my mouth open. Sorry if that was gross. If anyone has any tips for beginning outdoor runners, please let me know.

3. Music is important. On the treadmill, I watch television or listen to music, and I think I could run longer outside with some tunes also. New goal for my vacation: set up the Nike + iPod. Note: One reason I haven’t done it yet has to do with the fact that my brother’s computer crashed. He was able to get all of our music onto our external hardrive. But until we get it back onto a computer (hopefully mine), I don’t want to sync the Nike + iPod.

So first outdoor run is over. I’m looking forward to the warm spring weather and knowing exactly what my pace is outside. Right now, I’m clueless. By the way, I found my iPod after my run, of course. It was hiding in my car. That little devil!

Get in mah belly!

My stomach wanted just about anything and everything this morning, so I let it have its way. I had a typical Fage yogurt bowl with honey, a piece of wheat bread and a green apple topped with cinnamon raisin peanut butter. My PB stash is running low. Need to get on that ASAP!

Muenster!

Lunch was…interesting. As a kid, I was unbelievably picky. I always brought my lunch and I pretty much limited myself to cheese and bread every single time. My most common sandwich was muenster cheese on white bread. It might seem boring to you, but I never got old of it. Once I became a meat eater, I let muenster fade to the background. But now I’m bring it back and I’m adding some tomatoes too.

Instead of white bread, I used ezekiel bread. Healthier and lots more taste.

On the side.

One apple wasn’t enough for me today. I packed an apple bite pack for lunch too. Vegetables included red pepper, orange pepper and zucchini. My veggie sides have been good, but I’m actually starting to mix my spinach salad. Actually, I’m really missing the honey vinaigrette.

Tonight we’re bringing back girls night. Time to watch Real World!

Do you have any tips for someone new to running outside? Muenster cheese…yay or nay? If you run outside, how do you track your distance?

This entry was posted in breakfast, fitness, food, lunch, music, random, running, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to On the Pavement

  1. bearrunner says:

    60, sounds like perfect running weather to me!
    Treadmills get boring regardless of what is on the tv or the music available… I have done a lot of treadmill running this winter and have appreciated my outdoor runs more lately because of it!

    cheers

  2. Jenny says:

    Lol at 60 degrees I’d be wearing a jacket, too funny. I find that running shoes really do make all the difference. Love your sandwich, have a great girl’s night! πŸ˜€

  3. I’ve never been a fan of Muenster cheese, but at least you found SOMETHING to eat as a kid. And it’s much better than only eating mac and cheese (like my little sis), haha!

  4. Oh geez….I have no good outside running tips…except to dress in layers and make your layers easy to tie around your waist if you get hot!

    I used a garmin when I was running. I recently sold it since it collected dust for a year. If I’m ever uninjured…I’ll probably buy the ipod thingy!

    I’ll be interested to hear how your outside running goes—I think it’s a pretty big transition!

  5. Haha, 60 degrees?! I’m sweltering where I live! It is so humid here, and it’s not even Spring yet! πŸ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  6. Tara says:

    I almost always run to music. I didn’t for the first 2 miles of my 10k last week but that’s the only time I can think of. Find music that keeps a similar beat to your cadence. It usually keeps me from thinking too much about my running because it’s natural for my feet to pound the ground to the beat of the music.

    I also just bought a Garmin and it’s the best. thing. EVER. I haven’t been able to use it a whole lot b/c I am injured but I LOVE IT!

  7. Katy says:

    I’m glad you got your Nike +! I hope you get to use it soon! I also hate running without music! One day maybe I’ll train myself, but I am definitely not at that point yet! j

  8. Meri says:

    I’m so torn between being excited to be outside more, and terrified of what allergens await as it warms up… gah! I might just have to pump myself full of claritin for my walks to work!

  9. Oh thank goodness you reminded me about real world! Its on in ten minutes here πŸ™‚ Unforch I have a test tomorrow so I probably shouldnt be watching…oh well! I track my distance with a garmin watch and it is amazing, im sure the nike system will work great too!

  10. mmmm – isn’t Muenster the best? I can ONLY run outside! I get bored inside! I like to run trails or through neighborhoods with pretty scenery!

  11. vixter2010 says:

    Ah lucky it’s still cold here, I can’t wait for the sunshine!

  12. I use dailymile.com and you can record your running workouts. It’s awesome! No seriously-it’s awesome!

    I love running outside-it makes the time seriously fly.

    • runyogarepeat says:

      Agreed, dailymile rules! There’s some cool stats at the bottom that records your all-time totals for distance, time, and donuts burned.

  13. Tara says:

    YAY for muenster cheese! It’s definitely a favorite.
    Tips for running outside… dressing appropriately is crucial. Also breathing in a rhythm helps. I usually breath in for a certain number of steps and breath out for a certain number of steps. I learned to do that years ago and now I don’t even think about it.

  14. I’ve been trying to run for a couple years now, but I still consider myself new to it πŸ™‚ When I run outside I usually do what you did – guesstimate with the time. I know I run a little under a 10 minute mile outside, so it’s pretty easy. Do you have an iPhone? My fiance uses his to track his runs. It’s neat!

  15. Hi! I just found your blog via the Fit Academic. I love muenster cheese. I put a bagel with muenster in the toaster oven until the muenster gets just a bit bubbly. MMMM!

  16. I love muenster cheese. It makes delicious grilled cheese to. One way that I track my outdoor mileage is by using Google maps. When I finish my run I’ll go to the computer and map it out on there, and it gives me a fairly good estimate of the distance I ran.

  17. Muenster: Yay! I’m a fan of it with tomatoes, too!

  18. I’m pretty new to running outside too, but I always very my route, so I have something new to look at. I also make myself a playlist of pump it up songs to listen to as I run!!
    I have Nike+ipod on my ipod but I don’t know how to use it. Do you need to buy something else? like an attachment?

  19. BAHAHAHHAA at the “get in my belly” reference! =) I loooove muenster cheese! I havent bought it in forever!!!! totally time to change that! ❀ yum!

    hooray for spring sunshine! whooohooo!

  20. Alyssa says:

    I’ve never tried Ezekiel bread, but I really want to!

    as for breathing while running outside (or anywhere)…. focus on breathing in through your nose and out though your mouth.

    this has always been a struggle for me, especially since I have allergies and don’t like to breath through my nose while working out (gross), but this gets your body into a groove, and eventually, you won’t have to focus on it.

    that breathing method also gets rid of runners cramps if you ever get ’em!

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    Spring weather always makes me so happy! I always track my routes with mapmyrun.com. I love creating routes beforehand, so I can see where hills when I check the incline data. Try to find some local trails or a park to run in – they’re much prettier & relaxing in to run in compared to busy roads.

  22. I used to be obsessed with muenster cheese! When I was little I used to call it monster cheese and I’d demand it every time we went to the store! πŸ™‚

  23. YES i NEED MUSIC!! i can never track my distance unless i steal my moms Garmin hehe!

  24. Kat says:

    I dont run outside at all, simply because I am not much of a runner!! I wanted one of those Nike plus things so that I could start running, so maybe one day I will take the leap and try it out πŸ™‚

  25. HEY GIRL!! Missed you too- I no longer have WordPress.com subscription thingy that I used before…so it’s Reader time!! πŸ˜›

    I think you are going to LOVE running outside!! I use a Garmin, but tracking distance is so much fun!! Just get a rockin’ playlist and you’ll LOVE it!! πŸ˜€

    And trust me, I remember going through all that too!! You get used to it and figure it all out! But I still get the sniffles for the first coupla miles or if it’s windy, so I stash a tissue up my sleeve (or in my bra strap…but don’t tell anyone, k? πŸ˜‰ )

  26. that reminds me, i need to set up my Nike thing! glad to hear you like your shoes. i’m not sure what tips i can pass on…maybe just watch out for pedestrians??? πŸ™‚

  27. Toni says:

    Hey there, just found your blog and wanted to stop in and say hello! Happy St-Patricks day! πŸ™‚

  28. I always like music when I am running outdoors. It makes the time go by faster. It’s also nice running with a buddy outside.

  29. Ellie says:

    oOOOooO hope you had a great time with the girls! that’s always such a blessing isn’t it? πŸ˜€ haha i know how that feels, when my stomach gets greedy and wants everything. That’s why I love to mix things.

  30. I am addicted to my Garmin Forerunner watch! It tracks basically everything in the world, including heart rate if you have the strap and then it creates nice little charts and records on your computer.

    As for sniffles and such, with this weather it’s pretty much unavoidable. You can bring tissues in your pocket or running belts, but honestly, sometimes you just have to spit. It’s okay, runners get it.

  31. Pingback: Officially Spring | Raven Waves

  32. Pingback: Officially Spring! | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

