The Best Yoga Pose Ever

I was planning on running on the treadmill today, and then doing Jillian’s 30-Day Shred, but after a 1-mile run, I had a sudden urge to get my yoga on. It was between Denise Austin’s Yoga Buns and Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown. Jillian won out for one reason. She consistently kicks my butt.

The Pigeon

(source)

But both DVDs have one very important thing in common. They both end with a stretch known as the pigeon. This stretch is by-far the best hip-opener I’ve ever experienced. It’s the perfect move to end a yoga session, and if you plan on doing any yoga in the future, I recommend you try this one out. Make sure to check out Yoga Journal here for a tutorial on how to do this pose. I’m not an expert, by any means.

I also solved my shin splint mystery. It wasn’t pretty simple actually. When I woke up this morning I noticed a purple bruise, about 1 inch in diameter, right on my shin. I’ll probably never figure out how I got the bruise, but at least I can rest easy knowing it’s not a shin splint. I develop bruises all the time, and it just so happens that I bumped my talus bone on my the little wall that stops water from escaping from the shower. Sometimes I really don’t know how I manage these things…

Lunch on March 15

At least I had mixed vegetables as my side for lunch today. Yellow bell pepper, zucchini and sun-dried tomatoes are three of my favorites. Everything bagels are also keeping me pretty full, especially with Laughing Cow Cheese.

Vacation

My excitement is building for my week off of work. I have 9 days off (including two Saturdays and Sundays), and I want to do so many things. Here are some of the goals that I’ve come up with:

1. Professional massage – I still have a gift card to Mario Tricoci!
2. Get a hair cut – I’m thinking somewhere like Great Clips since I only need a trim.
3. Read half of Game of Thrones.
4. Go out to dinner with Paul.
5. Make a new playlist.
6. Work out 6-7 times.
7. Get my eyebrows done.
8. Go out for margaritas with the girls.
9. If it’s nice out, go running in the fresh air.
10. Watch a good movie.

If I can dream it, I can do it! 🙂 I’m off to make my lunch for tomorrow, and then head over to Paul’s. Have a great night everyone!

Do you have any goals for the spring or next month? Have you ever tried the pigeon pose? Do you enjoy yoga?

This entry was posted in fitness, food, goals, injuries, lunch, Me, working out, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Best Yoga Pose Ever

  1. Olivia says:

    I LOVE Jill’s yoga meltdown! Totally agree that pigeon pose RULES! I also really love warrior (all of them) just because they really burn like crazy when you hold them long enough…and well, I guess I like a little burn:)

  2. I LOVE pigeon! I love yoga, in general! Savassanah is totally my fave : )

  3. So random but whenever I shave my legs-I always find the most random and yucky bruises. They are seriously awful. I think they were from getting out of the pool….YAY for no shin splints.

  4. Glad you figured out the shin prob!

    Pigeon is a great stretch—I can tell when I’m neglecting my stretching when I get into pigeon and my hips scream at me!

    I love yoga—I am trying to make it a more regular part of my life.

  5. Love the pigeon pose! I love yoga! My goals for spring are getting the baby weight off post baby 😉

  6. runyogarepeat says:

    Pigeon is the best hip opener, and my hips are always so tight from running. I love that we stay in pigeon for a minute or two in my yoga class – feels sooo good!
    Good luck on your goals! It’s taken me about 2 months to make it halfway through Game of Thrones because I stopped reading it for a few weeks, and I just started up again now.
    My spring goal is a half-marathon in May with one of my best friends.

  7. Gina says:

    The pigeon is such an amazing stretch! I always do it after a long run!

  8. OMG i totallllllllllllly love the pigeon pose! It is a true blessing… so, so good! And i am loving your “to-do” list for your vacay… looks like a lot of fun things are in store! wooooohoo!

  9. I love the pigeon pose! I always do it after runs. Good thing its a bruise and not a shin splint, those heal way faster! 🙂 How exciting, I bet those nine days off will be so relaxing! I have spring break at the beginning of april and cant wait 🙂

  10. Ellie says:

    I have tried it and love that pose! I think another fave of mine is the camel pose, and the eagle pose. I think that’s what they’re called! 😀 have a great day!

  11. Katy says:

    I’m so glad you don’t have shin splints! Yay! So awesome you have your mini vacay!! I bet you are super stoked. I know I am super excited mine… Hehehe. I also bruise ALL THE TIME, and have no clue how I get them. I wrestle imaginary alligators in my sleep, I think… Or maybe I’m a superhero, and am out saving the world at night, and just don’t know it. Either way…. Haha.

  12. vixter2010 says:

    I’ve never tried yoga, I’m not very good at balance but maybe I need to try, looks like it’s relaxing. Your time off sounds fun, I hope you get to do all that!

  13. yes, pigeon pose rocks!! i really gotta get myself a yoga DVD, how’s the Jillian video? is she all hard-core still or more mellow? (i prefer mellow.)

    enjoy your days off! let me know about your new playlist. 😉

  14. I love that yoga pose its so great for stretching out . Sounds like you have a lot of fun stuff planned for your break im jealous of the massage 🙂

  15. Allison says:

    9 days off would be so nice! I am not a big yoga person. I made it one of my goals this year to try and do it more often but I havent been too successful yet.

  16. Tara says:

    I’ve done yoga a few times but don’t really have the patience for it! I might have to try that pose though to help my hips.

    I get bruises ALL THE TIME and don’t know where the come from!! One day my roommate watched me run into a wall (part of it, I was walking through a doorway) and it didn’t even phase me until she commented on it. My boyfriend says that I need to start paying attention or people are going to think he’s doing it to me!

  17. I need to get some new yoga dvds. I love how it makes me feel but i’ve been slacking.

    Pigeon rocks! It’s one of my all time favorites stretches. Feels so good 🙂

  18. I’m so sorry about your bruise! I hope you get better soon! 🙂

    I love workout videos! Especially Yoga! 😀 For some reason, I prefer Bob’s workouts over Jillian’s. Don’t know why. 🙂

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  19. Kace says:

    I get shin bruises all the time; actually all over my legs for no apparent reason. Although I think most of the shin ones come from kicking the shopping cart while at the food store.

  20. ahh I don’t think I’ve ever done that pose on purpose (or anything that could be classified as a ‘pose’ for that matter) it looks fancy

  21. Jenny says:

    I have never done Yoga but I know it works out muscles you don’t even know you have so it must be quite a workout. I’d probably leave super sore

  22. ahh pigeon pose- I LOVE that- i actually didnt know it had a name, but i do that stretch all the time!!

  23. I did my first ever day of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred today! 🙂

    Sounds like such a good vacation ahead of you!

  24. Kat says:

    Yay for Jillian!! I love her dvd. I do pigeon the day after my soccer games and it HURTS so good!! I just keep switching legs for like 20 minutes lol

  25. myhighonlife says:

    pigeon is phenomenal. perfect after a long run too 🙂

  26. My main goal for spring is just to keep moving. Sometimes I slack off in the exercise department and I don’t want that to happen this year.

  27. Pigeon pose is my absolute favorite. It was made for runners!

  28. After you told me about the pigeon pose, I’ve been doing it after running – and you’re totally right – it’s definitely my favorite hip stretch!

    Glad to know that it wasn’t shin splints. That would definitely cramp your workout style.

  29. Stephanie says:

    I love the pigeon! Nothing can stretch out my hips quite like that pose. I feel so gooooood when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

