A Shin Splint?

How is it possible that I get a shin splint after NOT working out for three days? Something sounds a little fishy, no? It’s the strangest thing. So what is a shin splint?

The real term for a shin split is medial tibial stress syndrome. You know you have it if you have discomfort and pain in the shins. Fortunately for me, my pain hasn’t been too bad, more of an annoyance.

That begs the question, do I really have shin splints? Probably not, but I definitely have some pain in the shin region.

But I didn’t let that stop me today. I got in 2.5 miles on the treadmill and 20 minutes on the elliptical. Then I smelled one of my favorite scents, and I was led out of my basement to my kitchen. Seriously, there was an invisible string pulling me. Low and behold, my family ordered pizza. My one true kryptonite. I couldn’t say no, so I took a quick shower and came back downstairs and pretty much stuffed my face. I had 4 pieces of thin, and I don’t feel guilty about it at all. I don’t eat pizza as much as I used to, so every once in a while, it’s OK to splurge.

Plus, I had a relatively healthy lunch.

Crunch Time and Raspberry Preserves

There’s nothing like peanut butter and jelly on a Monday afternoon.

Fruit and Vegetables

My vegetable side consisted of red peppers and zucchini, and my fruit consisted of strawberries and blueberries. Spring is definitely on its way if strawberries are coming back.

Work actually flew by today. I’m trying to get as much crammed in before I have my week off. But a busy Sophia makes for a happy Sophia. Concentrating on work means that I’ll probably snack less, and feel much better after the workday ends. Fingers crossed that the rest of the week pretty much goes the same way.

Day 14 – A picture of someone you could never imagine your life without

Mommy!

Here I am with my mom right before my graduation from Loyola. My mom has done so much for me over the years, even when I was a little punk high school kid. She’s an extremely strong person, and I’d like to think that I got my strength from her.

Now I’m off to catch up on some television, and perhaps pick a template for my new blog! I’ll keep you posted!

What excites you the most about spring coming? Ever have shin splints before?

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, family, food, injuries, lunch, running, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Shin Splint?

  1. What excites me most about spring is wearing flip flops and buying new sun dresses! 🙂

  2. awww great photo of you and your mom! you’re both BEAUTIFUL! ❤

    I had PB and J for lunch too ! it was fabulous

    and i'm glad you're able to work through your shin splints! poor thing! ❤

  3. Jenny says:

    How annoying to get a shin splint!! 😦 Love the pb & J sammie, and what a beautiful pic of you two

  4. Kristina says:

    Love the pic of you and your mom-so pretty:)
    HATE shin splint…they are def more annoying than painful!!!!
    I can’t wait for spring to hit the pavement and run outside-and take my pup for walks!!!

  5. Euuw, I am not a fan of shin splints. No fun at all! 😦

    You and your mom are so cute together!

  6. Lisa says:

    Healthy lunch cancels out pizza dinner!

    I have had shin splints before…once due to just getting into running shape (the shins were a little overworked I guess and hadn’t caught up to the work being done!). The other time it was totally because I had the wrong running shoes—I went to the running store and got an assessment, bought their recommendation for shoes—-instantly had no shin splints!

    Good luck figuring yours out!

  7. runyogarepeat says:

    Hope your shins feel better! I used to get them in high school from running a steep downhill on the hard sidewalk.
    I’m just excited for my first outside run in shorts & a t-shirt in the sunshine 🙂

  8. You and your mom are so cute! I see the family resemblance between you, Angie and her.

    For me, spring = racing season. Since I’ve spent all winter training, I’m ready to go kick some butt!

  9. I have never had shin splints because I run so far on my toes. I do, however, get some killer calve cramps! ERG.

    I love love love pizza. I haven’t had it in ages though for real. 😦

    PS: I finally added you to my blogroll. 🙂

  10. Yum, gotta love PB and J! sorry to hear about your shin splints 😦 I had some really bad before and they went away once I started wearing shin sleeves while running (and rest too). Hope they heal soon! Also, icing them for sure will help! I cant wait to wear tanks and sundresses on a daily basis 🙂

  11. I have had shin splints a couple of times. They are awful! Once I wasn’t working out for a while because I had a sprained ankle. I got a shin splint because I was walking in a weird way due to my ankle. I had to get some crutches to help correct my walk a little. I know you can get them if you increase your mileage or your speed too fast. There are exercises on the web that show you how to stretch your shins. But running on them probably isn’t the best idea. They can last a lot longer if you put stress on them.

  12. kitkat1126 says:

    Oh no shin splints are the worst! I was getting them a lot when I was wearing old sneakers and when I was running a lot on the treadmill without any incline. After I got new sneakers and started running at minimum 1% incline they have been rare. I would say definitely try to foam roll and ice after each run though. Hope they go away soon!

  13. JFlo says:

    Shin Splints are miserable! Kinesio tape is awesome for that kind of stuff and new shoes are too. I always know that I need new shoes (gym shoes that is) when I get shin splints and my knees start to hurt.

  14. Katy says:

    Awwwwwww, your mommy is so pretty! Lots of gorgeous girls in your family!! I hope your shins feel better, I had shin splints a few weeks ago, but they’re gone, thankfully! I’ll send healing vibes your way!! 🙂 Girl, I know ALL about pizza kryptonite. My three are pizza, sushi, and mac and cheese. And only sushi is healthy out of those!! Haha!

  15. yikes! hope your skins feel better! i’ve never really had skin splits, it’s usually the quads or calves that are the problem. can’t wait to see your new template!

  16. vixter2010 says:

    Sounds painful, I hope it gets better soon, I can’t believe you still managed to do running, that’s some dedication 🙂 Aw you and your mum are sweet, I feel the same way about mine! I can’t wait for the weather to warm up, no more coats and boots!

  17. Allison says:

    I loveee spring and summer in Chicago. It is what makes winter slightly bearable. I am looking forward to just being outside!!!

  18. I love the picture of you and your mom! My favorite thing about spring is asparagus! I love that all of the fruits and veggies come back, and I can finally get some variety in my life. I’ve never had shin splints before, but I hope you feel better.

  19. Tara says:

    Shins splints are no fun! Actually, any pain is no fun! I had them for a while over the winter and I think it came from running on the treadmill. As soon as I started running outside again they went away (for the most part)
    It would be torture if I smelled pizza while I was running. It would totally throw my run, or maybe make me more motivated to finish, I’m not sure which! I actually haven’t had pizza in ages now that I think about it. Thin crust is the best.

  20. Kace says:

    I agree with the sundresses, flip flops, and shorts. I LOVE warm weather clothes!

  21. Meri says:

    I think I’d choose my mommy too. Definitely I am a momma’s girl. When I used to run cross country I had a very mild case of shin splints, but icing and resting took care of it and they eventually went away. Now that I don’t do any impact activity I haven’t had a problem with it. Ouchie!

  22. Tara says:

    I’m excited for spring weather!! Houston doesn’t have a lot of time that its pretty outside but spring is definitely wonderful!!

  23. Pizza is something I can never turn down either! A balanced diet includes pizza! 🙂

    Ah, pain in the shins is never fun–maybe you need new running shoes?

  24. Stephanie says:

    Your mommy is so beautiful and youthful! The two of you both glow!

    I just love the sun in the spring. I love the first day that the sun feels warm on my face.

  25. Kat says:

    Ugh I had shin splints almost every week in highschool because my soccer coach would make us run on the street everyday. My poor shins couldnt handle all the pounding DAY after DAY. I actually have shin pain now as well, but its only because I had an intense game sunday!!

  26. thequirkykitchen says:

    Going out without having to wear a million layers of clothes. Fruit tastes fruitier. The nights get lighter. The world of wildlife comes alive 🙂 – those are the things i locve about Spring 🙂

  27. oddly enough, ive never had shin splints! but so many people do!! i couldnt live without my mommy too!

  28. Girl, I would totally say PB&Js are healthy!!! As long as it’s 100% Whole Grain Bread, Fruit only Jam (or Bananas!), and Natural Peanut Butter! 😀 YUM! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

