Lent Lent Lent!

Happy Fat Tuesday to everyone celebrating! If you’re not celebrating it, then happy Tuesday, nonetheless!

Orthodox Christians, like myself, actually started Lent yesterday. In Greece there is a huge celebration, just like Mardi Gras, called Apokries. People drink a lot, eat too much food and dress in crazy costumes and masks. One day, I need to either be in Greece for Apokries or New Orleans for Mardi Gras. What an experience that would be!

Easter 2010 in front of our two lambs!

Two years ago, I gave up meat for Lent, and last year, I just kind of forgot about the whole thing, and didn’t do anything. This year, I think I’m just going to fast from meat on Wednesdays and Fridays. I don’t eat much meat anyway, but I don’t want to limit myself when I’m on vacation from March 21-26 and when I’m in…Arizona! I’ll be in AZ from April 6-10!

The hotel we're staying at!

(source)

Yep, you read right! I’m taking a trip! My wonderful mommy is turning 50 in April, and all the women are going on vacation. It’ll be my mother, her two sisters, my sister and myself. We’re staying at The Boulders for 5 days. I haven’t been on vacation since I went to Florida for a handful of days in January 2010. It was so cold there, that I was in a sweatshirt the entire time. Wonder what my goal is for this vacation? Get a tan!

I am too pasty!

I live for being tan. I know, it’s not good for you and sunscreen is extremely important, but it’s amazing how great it feels to have a little bit of color. Hey, we’re all allowed to have a few vices, right? 😉

Day 8 – A picture that makes you laugh

Paul and I - The night before Halloween 2009

I have no clue what we’re pointing at, or why we both look so aggravated, and I guess that’s what makes me laugh at it! I’ll never have any idea what was going on in this one…

Food

Yogurt bowl for me

I’m trying to get as much use out of my cinnamon raisin peanut butter as possible. I subbed out my honey, and put a huge spoonful of it in my morning yogurt. I also added in some granola, and a couple bloobs.

I missed my salad

It’s been a while since I packed a salad, and since we have lots of spinach in the fridge, I took as much as I could to make this one a winner. I also added in cherry tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, yellow bell pepper and feta. On top was my all-new honey vinaigrette. It’s actually giving balsamic vinaigrette a run for its money!

Now I’m off to pack my lunch tomorrow. It’s going to be a long day. After work, I’m off to start volunteering for the tournament. Fingers crossed that nothing goes wrong!

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, breakfast, family, food, holidays, looking back, lunch, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Lent Lent Lent!

  1. Hooray for vacations! One of these days i’ll take one too! maybe a honeymoon? =)

  2. Your trip sounds like so much fun! I am so jealous!!!

    Best of luck with your tan! and the tournament! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. Arizona will be so fun! You will get tan for sure 🙂 Have fun at the tournament tomorrow!

  4. That salad looks deliscous. That photo is hilarious though!

    On a side note-have fun in Boulder even know it’s a bit away. You are going to come back so tan. I just wish the summer would come now.

  5. littlehealthjunkie says:

    I totally live for being tan too-I hate how pale everybody gets in the winter!

  6. Lisa says:

    Sounds like you’ll have a great girls trip!
    I love vacations—and I think it’s totally ok to celebrate with a little tan 🙂

  7. Katy says:

    I love vacations! My version of tan is like a light golden brown, but it’s all I’ve got, and takes FOREVER to get that way! Even though it’s so much work (Laying out by the pool takes a lot out of you… haha) I LOVE it! 🙂 Have so much fun, and I can’t wait to hear all about it!! 🙂

  8. Tara says:

    I looooooove Arizona! My brother lives there and I wish I did too! The weather has been all over the place where he lives… there are some nights when it’s colder there than it is here in the northeast!!

    I hope everything goes well with the tournament!

  9. Im jealous have a blast in AZ and get some sun for me 🙂

  10. Kat says:

    I have no clue what to do for lent this year!! Last year I gave up chocolate and OH MY GEEZE I thought I was going to die lol Dont get me wrong I know God sacrificed His son for me, but asking me to give up chocolate is a lot!! ;);) I think this year I am going to try and just let go of my grudges. That is something I really need to work on!

  11. Jenny says:

    Have a great vacation! Hope it’s warm with plenty of tanning sunshine 😀

  12. An all-girl vacation sounds like so much fun!! I feel way better tan too! 🙂

  13. i need to be in Greece for Apokries!!

    i love a tan too, but sigh….living in Australia requires a lot of sunscreen. (hole in the ozone and all that.) i swear, i didn’t have these wrinkles before i came over here! have fun at the tournament! 🙂

  14. vixter2010 says:

    Ooh your holiday sounds lots of fun, a girly trip in the sunshine woo! Just make sure you wear some suncream 🙂 Love that pic, action shots are always hilarious when you don’t have a clue why you’re doing what you’re doing. I also smiled at the photo of the big lamp, it reminded me of ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ lol.

  15. I love Arizona. Have an absolutely fantastic trip!

  16. Your trip sounds like so much fun! Arizona is on my US Trip Wish List! It look ssooo pretty! And you’ll have so many places to hike! 🙂

  17. alex says:

    do you do the whole red egg thing and cracking them? Whatever it is called, I can’t think of it.

    Lamb makes me sick – literally – so we have Pastitiso for Greek Easter – it is amazing.

  18. Kristina says:

    ohhhh-Arizona, i’ve always wanted to go there-what fun!!!!! Can’t wait to get some recaps!

  19. woah! have fun in AZ! i will be there this summer- so u must tell us about it! aH I NEED A TAN TOO! living in london= pale!!!!

  20. When my mom turned 60 all the women got together. It was her 2 sisters, her cousin, her mom and me – and a little bit of my sister-in-law who was busy with a new baby. My mom had a Morrocan woman come to her house and she set up silk tents with cushions for us to lounge on and gave us all tunics and belts with coins on them to wear. We all had henna in our hands, took a belly dance lesson, and then a Morrocan tea ceremony with dessert. Everything glowed through colored silk and candlelight. It was amazing! And the fact that my mom pulled it off as a surprise for the rest of us made it even cooler.

  21. Kayla says:

    What a fun trip you’ll have! That photo is cute! 😛

  22. I love honey vinaigrette! I had a mint honey vinaigrette dressing at this restaurant that i had to recreate! have you ever tried making your own? It is super super easy!!

  23. I love vacations. I’ve always wanted to go to Arizona. I know you’ll have a blast.

  24. I’m so jelly I want to go to AZ SO SO bad!!!! The hotel looks gorgeous!!!

    You are totally not pasty. You are so cute!

  25. Ellie says:

    Enjoy your time Soph!! How exciting is that? 😀 you look beautiful in your pic btw!! haha…I’ve never ever tried to get a tan, and never wear shorts! 0_0 But I’ve gotten unwanted or unintentional ones (ugly ones) from mission trips lol. But I really want to tan badly, it’s just–they never work out right.

  26. I love all women trips with my family!! You will have SO much fun 🙂 I cannot express to you how excited I am to get down to Key West and just sit in the sun for HOURSSSSS each day!

  27. Hooray for vacations! I’m sure it’ll be a blast!

  28. runyogarepeat says:

    A girl’s vacation sounds like a blast!

  29. Kace says:

    I just want to get to Greece, period!

  30. Allison says:

    I am so envious you are leaving cold weather for warmth!! What i wouldnt give to get outta here!!

  31. Gina says:

    I love yogurt and PB, amazing 🙂
    Have a great trip, girl! Jealous you’l be getting your tan on!

  32. Oh my goodness, I hear ya on the tan thing! That’s definitely one of my vices too. Though I don’t do the tanning bed thing anymore so I feel justified in just laying out in the sun. I still use sunscreen on my face, though. I’m terrified of skin cancer on my face, haha!

  33. Ah lent… as a fellow Orthodox, I also started up on Monday… I gave up everything from oil to cheese to meat, etc… I’m starving! 🙂

    Have fun on your vacay!

  34. Your vacation is going to be awesome – and much deserved!

  35. Pingback: On the Pavement | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

