Building Up to the Tournament

**I just updated my blog roll on the right side of the site! Check and see if your blog is there!**

Monday is just about done, and I’m about ready to knock out. It’s going to be pretty difficult to exercise Wednesday-Sunday when the tournament starts, but I’m going to do my best. If I can get in 2/5 days then I’ll be pretty happy. Blogging is also going to be on the back burner once the games begin. I probably won’t be on computer at all. It’ll be a kind of nice to be away from technology for a bit. I’ll still be on the computer 8 hours a day at work (there’s no getting away from that), but I’ll be heading over to the different sites after I get home around 6 p.m.

No pictures of my lunch today. It was a pretty lame meal. I had a bialy with a wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese. On the side, I chowed down on a red bell pepper and a handful of cherry tomatoes. I also had some apple slices and grapes. Relatively healthy, and really yummy.

Day 7 – A picture of your most treasured item

Just a portion

I’m an avid collector of movie stubs, concert tickets, theater brochures, pretty much any memento from somewhere fun that I’ve been. When I get a card from someone, I keep them all together. The same goes for notes, all the way back from 5th grade. I’ve got boxes full of these items, and together, I’d say that that’s my most treasured item. The places that I’ve gone, combined with the people I’ve been with all make up some of my happiest moments. For me, moments are more important than items. But since I can’t say a moment, I’ll take the mementos from the moments. That was kind of a tongue twister, haha!

I had a small bowl filled with black beans, green olives, yellow bell pepper and feta cheese for dinner. Plus about 15 crackers spread with my new favorite: cinnamon raisin peanut butter. It’s just that good.

Last night, I stayed up late and finished Wuthering Bites. Honestly, I didn’t think it was very good. I thought the addition of vampires into the story was kind of forced. It didn’t flow effortlessly like I had hoped. Any mention of vampires kind of seemed out of the blue, and it didn’t mimic the voice of the rest of the story. But I did have to finish the book. I can’t just let a book go when I’ve invested so much time in it. Unfortunately, the ending was probably the most disappointing part. Eh, oh well.

Now I think I’m going to start reading Game of Thrones, the first book in the series, A Song of Ice and Fire. Here’s what the review on Amazon says:

“Readers of epic fantasy series are: (1) patient–they are left in suspense between each volume, (2) persistent–they reread or at least review the previous book(s) when a new installment comes out, (3) strong–these 700-page doorstoppers are heavy, and (4) mentally agile–they follow a host of characters through a myriad of subplots. In A Game of Thrones, the first book of a projected six, George R.R. Martin rewards readers with a vividly real world, well-drawn characters, complex but coherent plotting, and beautifully constructed prose, which Locus called “well above the norms of the genre.”

Martin’s Seven Kingdoms resemble England during the Wars of the Roses, with the Stark and Lannister families standing in for the Yorks and Lancasters. The story of these two families and their struggle to control the Iron Throne dominates the foreground; in the background is a huge, ancient wall marking the northern border, beyond which barbarians, ice vampires, and direwolves menace the south as years-long winter advances. Abroad, a dragon princess lives among horse nomads and dreams of fiery reconquest.

There is much bloodshed, cruelty, and death, but A Game of Thrones is nevertheless compelling; it garnered a Nebula nomination and won the 1996 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel. So, on to A Clash of Kings!”

(source)

How was your Monday? What’s your most treasured item?

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, books, dinner, food, Me, science fiction and fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Building Up to the Tournament

  1. That is so cool that you keep all of those momentos! 😀 I love those kind of things! They bring back so many memories! 😀

    YAY! I love your Blogroll! Thanks for adding me! 😀
    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. Tara says:

    My most treasured items are my journals, photos, and awards. I love looking back at them later to see how much I’ve grown (literally and figuratively). I totally hoard ticket stubs, brochures, and stuff like that too.

  3. Gina says:

    Womp, womp boring Monday for me! Classes all day. Hmm, you’ve totally stumped me on my most treasured items. I need to think about this one!

  4. I keep stuff liek that too! Although I am not very organized about it. I usually find random Phillies ticket stubs and movie stubs in odd places lol.

    Wuthering Bites??? Hahahaha. Never heard of it. Glad you reviewed it though, sorry it was a disappointment. Hate when that happens.

  5. Katy says:

    Ooooh, that book sounds good. I know exactly what you mean about finishing once you’re invested! I am reading a book right now that is a re-write of Romeo and Juliet, so not only is it boring, but I know the ending! But I’m over halfway so I must finish. Haha. It’s awful because I really want to move to another book…

  6. Jenny says:

    I’ve only kept 2 concert stubs because well I’ve only been to 2 concerts lol Black Eyed Peas and Britney Spears. Both super amazing! Hope you won’t be too busy to blog 😦 Thanks for adding me to your blog roll 😀

  7. All my fave blogs are on your blog roll 🙂 (except yours!!). Have fun at the tourney girl, its good to get away from technology every once in a while for sure.

  8. What I treasure more then anything is memories!!! It sounds really lame and cliche but it’s how I feel!! Love the blog roll, thanks for adding me!! XOXO

  9. vixter2010 says:

    Thanks for adding me! yay 🙂 Looks like a big collection, I have kept some concert / theatre programmes but I rarely look at them. I suppose I treasure photos the most and my rather large collection of books, films and music 🙂

  10. alex says:

    looks like a fantastic book, I may have to read it!! I am currently reading a suspense novel, those are my favorites! It is called In The Woods by Tana French!

    I love all your mementos! i used to do that a lot! It is so much fun to look back on all of it!

  11. Lisa says:

    How cool that you keep all those mementos!
    I have a box full of stuff that I have kept, but it’s definitely not complete. I found a box of my sister’s notes from high school—that was fun to read through, even when she was talking about how she hated me! haha.

  12. That’s so cool that you keep all of your cards, stubs, notes, etc 🙂 That must be so fun to go back and read through all of them. I have a box under my bed at home from hundreds of passed notes from when I was in high school, but they’re just silly. Good luck with the tournament!!

  13. I’m such a big collector and scrapbooker so I’m the say way. My stuffed bear, bloomie, is my most treasured item though. I sleep with him everynight. 🙂

  14. Allison says:

    I wish I kept everything!!! I would have to say my most treasured items are the photos from places I have been. I really love looking back at them!

  15. thanks for putting me on your blogroll 😀 :D!!!!!!! i love your card and note collection- that is so awesome! and so fun to look back on! .. hmm i treasure my laptop.. is that sad?

  16. Alyssa says:

    ya know, it’s typically hard for me to pick a most prized possession, but I think I agree with you – old photos, cards, and memories should serve as my #1. 🙂

  17. Woo hoo! So excited I made the blog roll! My Monday was a total blur! I think the rest of this week is going to follow suit!

  18. Megan says:

    ohhh i so wish i had kept all of my stubs over the years! i have started doing it in recent years, but i missed out on SOOO many by not doing it before!

    ❤ megan

  19. YAY! I made the blogroll! Thanks, chica! 😀

    Aww, your most treasured items are so sweet. How fun that you can show all of that to your kids someday!

  20. Ellie says:

    I’m really sentimental with letters and cards! Sometimes I’ll read them over and over 😛

  21. I used to collect SO many little things like ticket stubs, post cards, stamps, magazine cut-outs, etc. I love pretty things like pictures and scrapbooky type deals. 🙂 Fun to see that you collect things too and bring me back to growing up.

    Cinnamon raisin peanut butter just sounds amazing. Mmmmm.

  22. Kace says:

    I keep all that stuff too!

  23. I collect stubs, tickets, brochures, too! I have a special box dedicated to just Mike and me. I even have the movie stub from our first date! We’ll be glad we had this down the road! 🙂

  24. Olivia says:

    YAY! great job on your blogroll, I still need to get mine up and posted-keep puttin’ that off…oops!! my most treasured item is probably my dog…haha or my cappuccino maker!?! Idk that’s hard!

  25. runyogarepeat says:

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll 🙂
    I’m reading A Game of Thrones right now too! My boyfriend has read most of the books in the series and gave me the first one to read. There’s actually a TV-series on the books starting in April that he’s pretty excited about. I just need to finish book 1 by then!

  26. YESSS! So glad I was added to your blog roll! I really need to try this cinn raising PB!

    I have a memory box I made for me and my bf 3+ years ago. It’s overflowing but he told me to make a scrapbook out of everything! I think that would be a great idea for all your collections!

Leave a Reply

