Basketballed Out

After watching three of Paul’s four games this weekend, I’m ready to take a break from basketball. But with the AHEPA Marrow Basketball Tournament starting on Wednesday, I really only get two days off. That stinks. Also, I’m still kind of sick; my cough has gotten worse, and I feel completely out of it. I woke up today around 10 a.m. That’s much later than usual. I managed to get a quick run in on the treadmill, and I was feeling fine, but then I just got very tired. I don’t know how I managed to get to Paul’s game.

They ended up losing in the championship today by a buzzer beater. Oh well. There are much more important things in life than one game of basketball. Well, unless it’s the Chicago Bulls beating the Miami Heat…

(source)

Tonight, I’m just going to stay in. I really don’t want to get even sicker, especially since this is going to be another busy work week. Yesterday, Paul and I ended up watching “Due Date.” I have the biggest crush on Robert Downey Jr. He is one fine-looking man. Zach Galifianakis is so hilarious too. But it seems like he can only play one kind of character. At least, it’s a funny one. I thought this movie was pretty cute. If you’re looking for a comical, rated R movie, try this one out.

I did my best to fight through my sickness on Saturday because I needed to get to the mall. Shocking, right? I had a couple gift card things for Victoria’s Secret, and I ended up getting two bras and six pairs of underwear for $115. Not bad, eh?

Since Express is only a short walk away, I figured I’d stop in. I had a 15-dollars-off coupon that was only good for another couple weeks. Here’s what I ended up with:

When it comes to fashion, I prefer the basics. Though Paul thinks I love wacky colors, I’m only like that when it comes to dresses. My tops are all pretty tame.

This is one of those bubble-sleeve tops. I couldn’t get a good pic of it, but here is the other one I got:

Three tops for $74. I don’t go shopping very often, so for me, that’s not half-bad.

My eats weren’t too spectacular this weekend. I’ve been munching on too many cookies and potato chips, but I’ll get back on track tomorrow. My dinner on Saturday was a goodie, though.

Veggie and Black Bean Bowl

I sauteed some spinach, green olives, red bell pepper, cherry tomatoes and cauliflower in olive oil and garlic powder. Then I added some heated-up black beans. The bowl is topped with feta cheese and this new honey vinaigrette, we bought.

Loved this meal. Cauliflower isn’t one of my favorite veggies, but it really broke up the textures in this dish.

For breakfast this morning, I had another English muffin with cinnamon raisin peanut butter, a banana and a handful of bloobs and grapes. The real winner was the trio salad from Corner Bakery that I had for lunch.

Trio!

On the bottom right corner is the Greek Vegetable Salad: Cucumbers, tomatoes, artichokes, pepperoncini, kalamata olives, and red onions in white balsamic vinaigrette topped with feta cheese.

Above that is the Pasta Caprese Salad: Fresh mozzarella, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, basil, and parsley tossed with cavatappi pasta in a lemon garlic dressing.

To the left of that is the Asian Edamame Salad: Edamame, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, red bell peppers, carrots, green onions, fresh basil, and cilantro in a ginger citrus dressing.

Corner Bakery is my favorite restaurant chain!

Now onto the 30-Day Challenge: Day 6 – A picture of a person you’d love to trade places with for a day. This one is really tough. Hm…

(source)

Why? I’d love to be able to be completely free, wacky, weird, happy, content, confident…and most of all, be able to sing. Gaga is a queen, and it would be crazy fun to be her for one day.

Now I’m off to prepare for the week ahead, make some lunch and get back to reading blogs. I’m taking 5 days off from March 21-26, and it should be so relaxing. Can’t wait!

If you could trade places with someone for a day, who would it be? Do you like Corner Bakery? Have you seen Due Date or another really good funny movie recently?

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, breakfast, clothes, dinner, food, lunch, movies, restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Basketballed Out

  1. I want to see Due Date! I think it looks awesome!

    Cute shirts! I love Express!

  2. Hope you feel better soon!!!

    I am all basketballed out too. It’s all my hubby watches and it’s driving me crazy, oye.

    Thanks for the movie review. I was debating on seeing that one.

  3. BrittFit says:

    I love all your veggies and salads.. thats just how I eat ! šŸ™‚

  4. awww poor sophia! feel better super soon darling! ā¤ hopefully your new clothes helped brighten ya up a bit! I've been drooooling over the sequined tanks that express is selling this season.. I'm stalking them til they go on sale with a coupon. Hopefully they'll still have my size by then! eep!

    feel better!!!! ā¤

  5. Lady Gaga is hilarious-I would love to trade places with her for real! I agree with you 100% though-I love the basics and working through with that. You can always spice things up with an accessory or two.

  6. Tara says:

    Cute new clothes!! I’m a little jealous but just bought at Garmin 405cx today so that’s where all my money went this weekend!!

    The boyfriend & I wanted to see Due Date but it didn’t get great reviews so decided to wait for Redbox. We are renting Life As We Know It on Tuesday because we also wanted to see that but again, didn’t get great reviews. We’re pretty big movie people!

  7. Jenny says:

    Due Date looks so hilarious I can’t wait to see it, and I hope you start feeling better again. I hate working out when I’m not feeling well, I don’t get a very good workout. And I can’t say I agree with your basketball statement since I’m from Miami lol šŸ˜‰

  8. myhighonlife says:

    I love Express–although I don’t go there often cause I’m still stuck on a poor college kids budget.
    That veggie & black bean bowl looks soo good, might have to try that one out this weekend.
    I’ve heard good things about Due Date but have yet to see it, good thing spring break is right around the corner for me! šŸ™‚

  9. Katelyn says:

    That is THE biggest plate I have ever seen!! Slash those tops are gooorg, we have the same taste, girlie girl!

  10. Katy says:

    Awwwww, get well soon!!! Girl, I wish we could shop together, it would be soooo much fun! šŸ™‚ I also thought Due Date was funny, and totally agree about RDJ! Haha. He is a fox.

    Are you doing anything exciting for you vacation, or just relaxing?

  11. Meri says:

    I like your new tops! Hope you feel better soon- Spring is on its way so that should help šŸ™‚

  12. Lady Gaga would be fun for a day! Ah hope you feel better soon girl! I have only had coffee from Corner Bakery, but it was good šŸ™‚

  13. Vixter2010 says:

    Ooh I should check that film out, I just watched Easy A loved it! LagyGaga is crazy but I wonder if it’s all an act to get headlines, I would love her voice tho, I get so frustrated not being able to sing sigh šŸ™‚

  14. quirkyrunner says:

    Love the fashion buys sweetie! Good choice to rest up šŸ™‚ Nothing worse than starting a new and very busy week feeling like everything you do is such hard work! Take care šŸ™‚

  15. Lisa says:

    That’s a lot of bball! I’d need a break too šŸ™‚

    Cute top–I like the tame ones too!

  16. Robert Downy Jr. is a fine sexy man, couldn’t agree more. šŸ˜‰

    looks like you got some good buys! i’m totally the same with the basics, you can get so much more mileage out of them. hope you’re feeling better soon, dear! make sure you take lots of Vitamin C! i swear, it works every time.

  17. Oh my gosh I have such a crush on Robert Downey Jr, too! He is so good looking šŸ™‚ I’m sorry you’re still feeling sick! Get better soon!

  18. Allison says:

    I am a shopping addict i love express. I just saw megamind. It is a cartoon movie but it is so cute and funny!

  19. runyogarepeat says:

    Due date was pretty funny!
    Lady Gaga is nuts, in a good way. My sister is going to see her in concert tomorrow night, gahhh I’m so jealous!

  20. So funny – I saw about 3 other bloggers who all watched Due Date over the weekend! Great minds think alike! : )

  21. alex says:

    I’d like to see what gaga thinks about in 1 day…is she really that nuts??? lol

  22. Kace says:

    Hope you feel better soon! And I keep myself away from Express for my budget’s sake.

  23. Alyssa says:

    I LOVE Due Date! and Gaga is a great choice… different, but you’re totally right. I think I’d choose Ke$ha for the same reason you chose Gaga. See: Halloween 2011 pictures on my “About Me” page! Heh. šŸ˜‰

    And I’m the same way (for the most part) with my style… the plainer the wardrobe, the more versatile it is!

  24. So many delicious eats and so many cute clothes!

    I know how it is to get basketballed-out. It’s been a long time, but back when we were in college and Christopher was playing every single night… well, there were times when I was tired of basketball, haha!

  25. I want to see Due Date!!
    Ugh that stinks you arent feeling better! That salad looks amazing. I guess we dont have one around here because i’ve never heard of it.

  26. Kat says:

    I love Robert Downey Jr too, but I think hes best in Iron Man. I literally drool watching that movie. SMOKIN’!! šŸ˜‰ My hubby and I thought that movie was ok. My hubby LOVED The Hangover, and I think he was expecting this to be as funny as the Hangover and then he got a bit let down. STill, it had some great parts šŸ™‚

  27. The shirts you got are SUPER cute!!!! I know you will look great in them! šŸ˜€ They are totally YOU!

    I like to be crazy when it comes to dresses too! šŸ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  28. Ellie says:

    I really like Express and the fact that they lower prices so often šŸ˜€ I looove corner bakery!! Especially their tomato, and wedding soup. And steakhouse rye bread…..haha. Hope you have a beautiful day and stay strong ā¤

  29. Forever 21, Express, and H&M are my go-to’s for shirt shopping. Love what you picked! Hope you’re feeling better today from Saturday. Starting the weekend off sick is no fun at ALL.

  30. Kristina says:

    I haven’t seen Due date-but I want to!
    I hope you feel better, I think rest was the right decision!

  31. cute shirts, I love express although I havent gone shopping in soo long im jealous! I want to see due date and also life as we know it!

  32. Ha! I live walking distance from Loft and always find myself meandering down there. Thankfully I only live near one clothing store otherwise I’d be broke.

    I really want to see Due Date! Seriously, though, the last movies I’ve seen have been all the old Star Wars movies (just saw Return of the Jedi).

  33. beautyrun says:

    I would trade places with my father. He always says he gets 400 calls a day at work and is constantly running around. Being around him for so long, I understand his personality and his job (pharmacist) doesn’t require that much work. He’s super lazy and I know he’s lying. Anyways, you see the pharmacists at CVS and Walgreens and other places and they are not doing that sort of stuff. I think he just wants an excuse to come home and lay on the couch for the rest of the day!

    HAHA! Look at me rambling on. That was pretty easy to do though! Hehe!

  34. Pingback: Lent Lent Lent! | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

