A Special Package

I got something pretty spectacular in the mail today, thanks to the beautiful Katy from Runnin’ to the Altar. I won her giveaway for a GU Performance Energy Sampler and Nike + iPod, and the energy sampler arrived!

πŸ™‚

I’m so excited to try all of these. I’m going to do some more research since I’ve never tried one before about when to take them (before, during, after), but if you have any advice, I’d love to hear it! I can’t wait to try these once it starts to get warm out, and I can run outside. This is going to be my first spring as “someone who works out.”

A cute note!

Katy also sent me a really cute card, with a sweet note inside! I’m so lucky to have become friends with her! Thanks Katy!

Peanut butter breakfast

Since I pretty much missed Peanut Butter Lovers Day, I celebrated today instead. My breakfast was filling and so so yummy! I chopped up a huge red apple and also had a toasted Thomas Whole Grains English Muffin with lots of gooey Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter.

Lunch on March 3

Skipping Greek yogurt for a day just doesn’t work for me, so I managed to sneak in some Dark Cherry Chobani for lunch. My mix-in was the Kashi Go Lean cereal we’ve all been snacking on at work.

I also had an everything bagel thin with a wedge of Laughing Cow Light Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil. My obsessive need with sun-dried tomatoes didn’t let me end there though. I also had cherry tomatoes and the sun-dried version on the side.

Let’s just say this was a meal accomplished! Now onto the 30-Day Challenge.

Day 3 – A picture of the cast from your favorite show

The problem is that I have a ton of favorite shows, but I’m just going to share a couple. You wouldn’t want to get bored πŸ™‚Β 

Lost

True Blood

Other favorite shows of mine include Friends, Xena, Buffy, Family Guy, How I Met Your Mother, Battlestar Galactica and Jersey Shore. I need to have one reality show in there!

Dreams

It’s no secret that I have very weird dreams regularly. I had a strange one about being a vampire recently, and two days ago I had a terrible one that I got in a car accident. If anyone can tell me what that’s supposed to mean, please let me know! At least yesterday’s wasn’t so scary. I dreamed that I was going to try spray-tanning, which I’ve never actually done in real life. For some reason, I decided to jump around as they were spraying me, and I ended up with a huge orange line (kind of like a scar) on my eye. Weird!

Now I’m off to grab some dinner, catch up on blogs and make some tea.

I’m not a tea person at all, but I’ve had a sore throat all day. There is no way I can get sick right before the AHEPA Marrow Basketball Tournament. There is just too much for me to do. Hopefully the tea will make it all go away.

Have you ever tried energy supplements like GU? Are you obsessed with a certain food right now? For me, it’s sun-dried tomatoes! Can anyone make sense of my crazy dream?

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, breakfast, dreams, fitness, food, friends, lunch, Me, recipes, running, television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to A Special Package

  1. Katy says:

    YAYAYAYAY! I’m glad you liked it!!! πŸ™‚ I think my note (and handwriting!) look sprettier in the picture than in real life! Haha! I usually take the GU gels right before I work out. But that’s probably not how you’re supposed to take them… Haha. I’ve only had the gels, so let me know how you like the other things!! ❀

    I'm so glad we found each through blog world!! We will have to set up a blog get together someday! πŸ™‚ Have a great day!!

  2. I use GU’s for my long runs (anything over 7 miles), and I generally take them about half-way through. I love True Blood. I order HBO during the summer just so I can see it!

  3. runyogarepeat says:

    What an exciting package! I tend to have the weirdest dreams, as well. I remember them when I wake up, then if I try to tell the dream to someone during the day, I always forget them.

  4. Allison says:

    Ohhh lucky you won!!!! I love Gu and use it during my long runs. Vanilla bean is my fav!

  5. I’ve never tried GU, but I hear really good things about it. I love that you got it from Katy, though! She’s pretty amazing! πŸ™‚

  6. Jenny says:

    O0o0 what a fun package! I love getting goodies in the mail. And omg I am obsessed with True Blood!! The whole Sookie and Bill thing has got me on my toes. Can’t wait for the new season and Eric is so freaking hot!

  7. myhighonlife says:

    I love Gu; although I only like three flavors. I’m a texture person so a gooey fruity flavored substance grosses me out. My faves: Chocolate, Chocolate mint, & espresso love. Taste like candy.
    I also have them on runs that are 7+ miles and will take one at mile 4. If it’s a 11+ I’ll take one at 4 & then again at 9 miles. Let me know how you like the chomps–haven’t branched that far yet! πŸ˜‰

  8. I’ve never tried the Gu gels–can’t wait to hear what you think about them! Ah, you just got me SO excited for the new season of True Blood!! πŸ™‚

  9. mmmstories says:

    Wow scary dream!! I’ve had a lot of those lately (I actually thought I was haunted because I was dreaming about ghosts so often)! I’ve found it happens when there’s a lot on my mind or something I have yet to deal with or am worried about – though I don’t know if that fits with the tan scenario πŸ™‚

    I looooved LOST!!

  10. vixter2010 says:

    Wow you do have crazy dreams, maybe you need to get a book on interpreting them! I need to get into Lost I think after I finish catching up with Fringe. Have a fab day πŸ™‚

  11. what a great package!!!!!! i have never used Gu’s but they do help, I’ve heard! i LOVE True Blood- but recently its gotten a little weird!

  12. Olivia says:

    Sundried tomatoes are bomb. Hands down! My food obsession right now is probably coconut dark chocolate bars…I got them at WF the other day and they’re organic and SUPER addicting! Love it:)

  13. I love sundried tomatoes. I’m currently obsessed with raw chocolate and green smoothies. Love them!!

  14. I love blogger care packages! So cute that she included a note, too!

  15. I just won a blog giveaway, too! They seriously are one of the best perks of blogging/reading blogs πŸ™‚ Have a great Friday!

  16. Peanut butter breakfasts are my favorite! hehe I’ve never tried energy supplements! Except for that FRS Drink stuff. It was ok, but nothing spectacular.

  17. Peanut Butter is the BEST! YUM! πŸ™‚ Every day should be Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. πŸ˜‰

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  18. What a cool package you’ll have to let us know how the GUs work!

  19. Katy says:

    I think I fixed the video… I hope so, at least. Haha!

  20. Kace says:

    There was a peanut butter lovers day? How did I miss this??? I will eat reese’s eggs this weekend to compensate.

  21. Oh my heart! This looks like such an awesome package to receive in the mail!! πŸ™‚ And I totally love Lost too!

  22. haha congrats again! and omg i love how everyone in blogland appreciates the insanity that is jersey shore. haha!

  23. all i know is that dreams are “a reflection of the true thoughts and feeling we wish to explore that we otherwise would suppress in our awake state of minds”

    mmm im obsessed with kabocha squash..but it HAS to be baked. baked kabocha squash is my new fav food since sliced sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  24. I always use the vanilla flavored Hammer Gel brand energy supplements because they’re all-natural and don’t make my stomach hurt like some of the other brands. Basically, the general rule of thumb for these little babies is to use one for every 1 hour you workout/run, etc. So I always eat a few during my long run marathon training runs. If you’re not working out for more than an hour you probably don’t really need the extra carbs, unless you want to use it as a pre-workout pick-me-up if you don’t have time to eat a small snack before. Such a fun prize! You could also eat one after an intense workout, but I think drinking a smoothie, chocolate milk or gatorade is a much tastier way to fill the post-workout sugary void.

  25. cbrady3 says:

    What an awesome GU package! I just ordered two boxes for myself – one vanilla bean and one mint chocolate.

    I love the GUs during long runs and they are great for morning workouts when you can’t stomach a real breakfast beforehand. Hope you love them!

  26. I’m so jealous you won that stuff from Katy!!
    I’ve never used the gels – but id like to hear how you like them!
    i’m obsessed with chia seeds right now.
    Hope you are feeling better!

  27. yay for winning the giveaway!!! i have one of those Nike things, i just haven’t read the instructions yet. (oh i’m so lazy…) can you believe i’ve never seen ANY of those shows except for Friends and HIMYM??

    hope you’re feeling better! take Vitamin C just to be safe! πŸ™‚

  28. Lisa says:

    I’ve never tried Gu…. but it looks interesting!

    I’m totally obsessed with avocados right now. I eat at least one everyday!

    Have a fab weekend—-and dream happy dreams πŸ™‚

  29. Pingback: Sick on a Weekend | Raven Waves

  30. Pingback: Lent Lent Lent! | Raven Waves

  31. Pingback: Sick on a Weekend | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

