Find a Penny Pick it Up

Today’s challenge is: Day 2 – A picture of you and the person you have been closest with the longest

This one is a cinch! Thank goodness that God gave me a little sister who is only 1 year and 4 days younger than me. Angie and I been close since pretty much day 1, and now we’re even closer since we share so many interests.

For example, I recently started working out, running and eating healthy, whereas she’s been doing this for at least a year. Now I can go to her when I have a problem (my knee hurts) or a question (should I be holding on to the treadmill rails or no?).  She’s always been there for me when things have gotten rough, especially when my boyfriend in high school cheated on me. Yuck.

Also, when I was a kid, I would get horrible anxiety attacks before I went to bed. There were so bad that I couldn’t sleep and I just lay awake miserable. Angie and I shared a room then, and she would let me come into her bed so I could fall asleep. I spent months sleeping in her bed, until the attacks and stomach aches would go away. I love you Angie!

Penny Fever

My brother was cleaning through his room yesterday, and he found my old penny book. I used to have an obsession with collecting coins, and I vividly remembered this book.

1959-1995

Not only is it supposed to fit pennies from every year from 1959-1995, but there are also special years that have pennies with D and S near the year. I was crazy about finding all these pennies.

And since I’m a crazy person, I spent 30 minutes yesterday going through all the coins I’ve been meaning to cash in to the bank, searching for pennies that were missing from my collection. I found a few, but mostly I found pennies from 1995-present.

That fact pretty much forced me to go on Amazon and find a new penny book. They’re only like $5, so…I’m going to buy it!

Food

Yogurt Bowl

My normal yogurt bowl was in need of a little bit more flavor this morning. So I added pomegranate seeds, yogurt covered goji berries, honey, oat groats and apple cinnamon granola. This bowl not only kept me full, but it kept me satisfied. Double whammy there! I think I’m going to do something similar for breakfast tomorrow.

Pasta Salad

The main meal for lunch today was a delicious pasta salad. It contained bow-tie pasta, mozzarella cheese, cheddar cheese, yellow pepper, black olives, cherry tomatoes and olive oil. Bow-tie pasta is one of the best pastas out there, and it won’t soon be forgotten.

Lunch on March 2

I loved the edamame on the side. They may be small, but they’re really filling. Fruit is always a must in my eyes, so I had some grapes and bloobs. I’m ultra cheesy, so I needed a string cheese too.

Who are you close to? Did you ever collect coins, or maybe something else? How’s your week going?

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, breakfast, family, food, looking back, lunch, Me, random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Find a Penny Pick it Up

  1. I’m really close to my mom. Whenever I need to talk about anything, I know she will always be there for me. 🙂

    I love that you collect pennies! We do the States with the Quarters. 🙂

    I love this post!
    xoxo
    Kathleen

    P.S. I want Angie as my sister! 😉

  2. Olivia says:

    Ooh, I used to have a huge quarter collection like that! It kind of disappeared though, as I wound up finding needs for those quarters. 🙂 You know what’s crazy, I finally realized that you look exactly like my neighbor, like it’s scary! Which is a total compliment btw:)

  3. Katy says:

    OMG, you and Angie look so gorgeous!! Good genes! You are so lucky to have a sister so close in age to you!! That’s so cute about the pennies!! I don’t collect anything, but I would like to collect Disney figurines.

  4. awwwwww so awesome that you and angie are close and have eachother! ❤

    love the penny book! I need to get one for my mom — she collects them too!

    and omg about your comment yesterday — we totally are friends silly! just from afar! 😉

  5. Jenny says:

    This is such a cute post! My brother and I use to be pretty close but not so much anymore. He’s married with a baby and 10 years older than me so it’s really not the same. I sometimes wish I had a sibling that was closer to my age and a girl so I could hang out with. You’re so lucky to have Angie! 🙂

  6. I wish I had a sister!!! I do have cousins though, and I’m very close to them!

  7. What a second! Y’all are sisters? Is that Angie from that fitness apple blog?! Pure craziness!! Or am I the crazy one?! Hah!

  8. Gina says:

    My mom and I are very close. She’s my best friend, I’d be lost without her!

  9. Meri says:

    Aww you make me miss my sisters! I’ve got 3 of them and they are the absolute best.
    Cheers dear 🙂

  10. aw, that’s great that you’re so close to your sister. i would say i’m that close to one of my oldest friends. (15 years, baby.) she and i can spend hours talking about absolutely nothing. (but we mostly talk about nutrition and exercise, go figure.) hope you’re having a great week! 🙂

  11. BrittFit says:

    I love love love yogurt bowls! My week? it’s been stressful but it’s almost spring break for me so I’m hanging in there! hope your week is going well too!

  12. Vixter2010 says:

    Awww so sweet, yours lucky to have each other. I have no siblings but am really close to my mum. I started to collect stamps when I was younger but gave it up pretty quickly! 🙂

  13. That’s so cool that you collect pennies! I collect rocks, which isn’t nearly as cool. The person I’m closest to is my best friend Lauren. She’s been with me through everything and we always have a great time together.

  14. i collected little mermaid trading cards when i was little. i think it was a way for my dad to accept he was given two girls haha!

  15. i wish i had a sister 😦 i hav an older brother.. hes okay i guess 😉
    i used to collect pins.. like little pins from all over europe, but idk where my collection went! EEK!

  16. You are too cute! No, I never collected coins, but reading this post definitely put a smile on my face 🙂 I hope you have a great Thursday!

  17. aww, what a fun collection! When I was younger I collected keychains but now I really don’t have any collections.

  18. what a cute post, I didnt realize you and Angie are sisters I wish I was as close with my sister as you two are !

  19. Linda says:

    I recently found my brother’s penny book. He’s went from 1909 to 1950’s. It was pretty cool. I’m going to send it back to him cause I think some of those pennies are worth more than a penny!

  20. I’m closest to my mom and my older sister. Sure, we’ll fight sometimes, but that keeps things interesting and we know after a few minutes we’ll be right back where we were. Plus, there are only certain things you can do around family for laughs 🙂

    You are your sister are beautiful!

  21. I collected Hanson t-shirts – hahaha. I still have all of them 🙂
    I’ve been closest to my best friend from Florida since the day she was born. We’re only 6 months apart!

  22. My sister and I are 13 months apart and we’re super close too! I’m also really close to my younger sister–we’re 10 years apart! 🙂

    I collected trolls way back in the day! haha

  23. mmmstories says:

    You and your sister are so cute! That’s awesome you share interests and hobbies! My brother and sister are also two of my favorite people in the world. We don’t always see eye-to-eye but we always have the best time together and are there for each other!

    That’s quite the penny collection girl! I remember when the state quarters came out, those were big collectibles – right up there with original Beanie Babies 🙂

  24. You and your sister are so GORGEOUS!! I love that you are so close and share similar interests! 🙂

    And wow your penny collection is AMAZING!!

  25. Pingback: Hershey’s Heaven. | The Fitness Apple

  26. Wow that is so awesome that you and your sister are so close! You don’t meet many people who get along that well with their siblings from day 1, especially being so close in age! I have great long-time friends but I would have to say my mom gets this award. We are super close, she’s my absolute best friend 🙂

  27. Kat says:

    Like you, my sissy is the person that I am most close with. We are 12 years apart (we have different dads) and I am pretty sure that when I was younger I annoyed the heck out of her, but now we are closer than ever. I could not imagine life without her!

  28. Lisa says:

    How awesome that you and your sister are so close! I love it when sisters know exactly how lucky they are to have each other 🙂

    I’d love your yogurt bowl right now!

  29. I love so much that you and Angie are so close! You two are both so incredibly amazingly gorgeous. My sisters are like that. We didn’t always get along growing up, but we’re all best friends now. Love my sistahs!

  30. I am a complete collection nerd! I collected pencils, snow globes, stickers. Anything that came with more than 1 thing to be collected and I probably collected it.

Leave a Reply

