30-Day Blog Challenge: Day 1

On a last-minute whim, I’ve decided to go ahead and do the 30-Day Blog Challenge. Thank Caitlin for bringing it my attention. I’m still going to blog about other random daily occurrences, food-related things, workouts, etc. But I think this is a great way for my personality to come through more. So without further ado…

Day 1 – A picture of yourself with ten facts

This was taken at my cousin's wedding in July 2010.

1. My favorite clothing items are rock-n-roll t-shirts. If I love something, I want to rock it! I have tons of Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, Rolling Stones and Red Hot Chili Peppers t-shirts. I don’t just wear them around the house either. If I love it, I’ll wear it out.

2. I’ve never dyed my hair. My hair is really dark brown, and I don’t think any other color would look good with my skin tone. I will admit, I was very tempted to get highlights back in the early 2000s when everyone seemed to be streaking their hair. But my better judgment won out thankfully.

3. My favorite food is pizza and I could eat it several times a week, and be happy! Well, at least until my jeans stopped fitting. Seriously though, pizza could be my second boyfriend. I’m not too picky about my toppings either. I need lots of cheese, but other than that, put it on the pizza and I’ll probably eat it.

4. I’m messy but organized, if that makes any sense. My room is cluttered, my desk at works has tons of things on it, but I know exactly where everything is. It always aggravates my mom, but I try to explain to her that it’s “arranged chaos.”

5. I’d love to be a guy for a day. Come on, who wouldn’t? You could take a beer bong, eat a whole pizza, play hard-core football and still not gain a pound. Plus, then I might be able to see the tops of people’s heads!

6. When I was a kid, I used to sit and wait near my radio and tape-record all my favorite songs. That was the only was I could get songs back in the day. Later on, I became obsessed with CDs. Then I got Napster, Kazaa and all that bad stuff. I ended up crashing many computers. Ouch!

7. I have a serious obsession with Greek mythology, and I’m proud of it. I know most of the major stories by heart, and Athena is and always be my favorite goddess.

8. I have a terrible memory. It used to be really good, then high school and college happened, and now I’m lucky if I can remember what I did the last weekend. Thank goodness for Facebook.

9. My number one karaoke song is “Like a Prayer” by Madonna, followed closely by “Gangsta’s Paradise.” Yep, you heard me right. I know every word to both.

10. I’m a night-owl. I love staying up late even when I have to wake up at 6:30 in the morning. Most weekdays, I force myself to stay up until at least 11:15 and most of the time, midnight. It’s not healthy, but I have so much to do πŸ™‚

Alright, day one is done! Onto some food.

Vegetable Pasta Mix

In the mix I have spinach fettuccine noodles, orzo, yellow bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, feta and a drizzle of olive oil. This was really good. Spinach is great and all, but it can’t compare to noodles.

Lunch on March 1

Sides included a fruit salad and some yummy cottage cheese.

I got a new lunchbox! I’ve been using shopping bags and leftover bags for the past year, and now I finally have a real lunchbox. And it’s so me! Yay for Chicago Bears!

Yoga made up my workout today. I’ve been pretty pooped the past couple days, so hopefully I’ll feel more rested tomorrow.

Tell me a fact about yourself! Did you have a lunchbox as a kid? Are you doing the 30-day challenge? Join me!

This entry was posted in 30-day blog challenge, blogs, food, lunch, Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to 30-Day Blog Challenge: Day 1

  1. LOVED reading your facts – so fun to get to know you!

  2. You’re such a pretty lil thang πŸ˜‰

    Love gangstas paradise! LOL! A karaoke song….you’re outta control!

    I had a Smurf lunchbox, then a She-Ra Princess of Power lunch box,. Later on, when I got older and thought I was “cool” I brown bagged it. Lunch boxes are so the way to go though!

  3. myhighonlife says:

    I don’t know if I approve of that lunchbox! Packer fan born & raised. πŸ˜‰

  4. Jenny says:

    Oh man I was the kid in middle school with a lunch box and rolling bookbag. Yea a nerd for sure lol Good Karaoke song, I’d probably choose Like A Virgin haha πŸ™‚

  5. Katy says:

    OMG, I love Like a Prayer!! It’s amazing! I used picnik.com to make my header, it’s free and a super fun way to edit photos. I made a collage, saved it to my computer, then chose the picture as my header in the settings. I have Blogger, not WordPress, so I have no idea how your settings are set up, but Im sure it’s not too different. Hope this helps, and you should def use picnik. It’s soooo neat!

  6. I wrote a greek and norse mythology book in middle school b/c I was super obsessed =) haha I illustrated all of it too! I honestly don’t know how I had the time for all that but it was pretty cool to look back at last time I was home visiting my fam!

    I’m doing the 30day challenge too! I originally told myself I wouldn’t have time or remember but this month is all about NO EXCUSES for me! and I’m totally doing it! Though I might need help remembering if you want to help meee! =)

    xoxoxo

  7. Cait says:

    you two are so sweet for doing it πŸ™‚ yay! you’re fabulous!! I’ve never died my hair either haha and everyone thinks I have but opps- nope! xo can’t wait to read more hun!

  8. That 30-Day Challenge sounds like fun! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never dyed my hair either! I have Auburn hair with Natural Red highlights. In the Summer, my hair becomes really Red. LOVE SUMMER! πŸ˜€

    I totally am a night owl too! There needs to be more hours in the day, because I seem to run low on them, and I have so much to do! πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  9. Kat says:

    I have an obsession with greek mythology as well! Well, any mythology to be honest. I just love all the stories and tales. Some of them are really beautiful and romantice πŸ™‚

  10. Allison says:

    30 day challenge!?! Why have I not done this! That will be my goal for April, March is super crazy.

    I try not to be a night owl! I love sleep and am cranky with less than 7!!!

  11. We have so much in common!

    Your hair is so naturally pretty–never dye it!!

    I also love pizza, would love to be a guy for a day, love Greek mythology (so does Adam!), have a terrible memory, AND I’m a huge night owl!! πŸ™‚

  12. I loved this! I kind of wanted to do the 30 day challenge but idk if this month is the month for me… or perhaps I’ll start mid-month we’ll see πŸ™‚

    so much fun to learn about you!
    ❀
    n

  13. Meri says:

    haha, I love your karaoke choices. I often end up singing some Salt n Pepa πŸ™‚

  14. I was that girl with the streaked hair in 2000……not my best look!!!!!! Love your facts!!!

  15. vixter2010 says:

    Fun facts love it! I have changed my hair so many times it’s crazy so well done for sticking natural! I used to have school dinners mostly so no lunchbox for me πŸ™‚ I saw Madonna live once it was a great show !

  16. alex says:

    medusa always scared the crap out of me, therefore I loved learning about her! I have also never dyed my hair! yay! There aren’t very many of us out there!

  17. Sruthi says:

    Those were some fun facts, loved reading them. I loved the dress in the picture.

  18. I did the 30 day challenge! I liked having something different to talk about everyday πŸ™‚
    I am so jealous you never dyed your hair!! I have been blonde, black, streaky, brown, caramel, red even pink! haha

  19. I love wearing rock-n-roll t-shirts too! They’re so comfortable, and I love supporting my favorite bands.

  20. Im excited for your 30 day challenge and to learn more about you. Love pizza I could eat it all the time too but I have resorted to making it at home whenever I crave it, soo much healthier! Cute lunchbox I have been wanting one for awhile now even though I never really eat lunch anywhere I think it would be cool to have one!

  21. Haha what a fun lunch box! πŸ™‚ I never had one when I was younger, because I was homeschooled, so no need for lunchboxes πŸ˜‰ Now I usually just use a grocery bag!

  22. you do look AWESOME with dark hair- wudnt change it either- totally suits you!
    AHHAA YES i would LOVE to be a guy for a day!!!!
    YES I HAD A LUNCHBOX!!! it was decorated with butterflies πŸ™‚

  23. love this! i had a my little pony lunchbox. yeah, i was pretty cool haha

    i did the 30 day challenge but dropped off at the very end! so keep it going, i love reading them!

    ps – i have the worst memory too and would love to play the role of a dude for one day!

  24. I usually wanted the hot lunch, and I think if I took lunches it was usually brown-bag style. I had a lunchbox when I was REAL young (early elementary school), but I know for sure by middle school I was against lunch boxes (clearly I wasn’t considering the environmental damage of non-reusable boxes!)

  25. 2. I’ve never dyed my hair either! I remember exactly what you’re talking about in the early 2000s when everyone else was doing! I sooooo wanted blonde highlights, but my parents wouldn’t let me get them (they were super strict). I don’t dye my hair now for two reasons: 1. I love the color it is already. and 2. I donate my hair every year or so to Locks of Love and they can’t take chemically altered hair.

    3. ME TOO! Seriously pizza and I are bffs! I am so sad that I can’t have cheese anymore so no more just eating pizza whenever I want from wherever I want, but I can always make it at home with my soy cheese! πŸ™‚

    6. I used to tape record songs too, haha! I’d have my own little “radio show” and “dj”… oooh yeah…

    And I love your Bears lunchbox! Christopher would be so jealous, haha!

  26. Linda says:

    I used to buy concert tshirts to every concert I went to. I’ve been to over 100 concerts so that’s a lot of shirts! My favorites are my first DMB tshirt and my AC/DC tshirt.

  27. haha, I would love to be a guy for a day too! Just to pig out and play video games. πŸ˜€

  28. I’m going the picture challenge too, but I started a few days ago πŸ™‚ I’ve never dyed my hair either!

  29. Yay cant wait to read your 30 day challenge! I had a lunchbox as a kid–it was totes my little pony πŸ™‚ I need one now though!! I totally use grocery bags or whatever I can get my hands on…I need to find something cute and sustainable! Im liking yours πŸ™‚

  30. Megan says:

    im doing the challenge too πŸ™‚

    i loveeeee that you know all the words to gangster’s paradise. me toooooo! i havent karaoked to it yet though LOL!

    great blog!

    ❀ megan

  31. Lisa says:

    I’m messy but organized too! That totally makes sense πŸ™‚

    I love pizza so much—I requested every year for my whole childhood on my birthday, and begged for it all the time. I even used to secretly like the school cafeteria pizza. Now…I’m a little more picky, but nothin’ beats pizza!

  32. Olivia says:

    Your hair is gorgeous!! I’m so jealous that you’ve never had to die it to look like that:) I could eat pizza all the time too…and I would love to be a guy for a day! Boys have it so easy:)

Leave a Reply

