On Being A Vampire

Remind me not to read about vampires before I go to sleep ever again. I ended up having a crazy, crazy dream. Apparently, the world was pretty much over and all the humans that had survived were being hunted down by vampires. That included me, and a bunch of other random people. Of course, the vampires caught us and they bit us all horribly until we were almost dead (yuck, I know!).

(source)

But then the vampire in charge decided that he wanted to make me a vampire, so we had to go through this really strange ritual that involved dancing and kissing (yes, I have issues). In turns out, I ended up falling for this undead guy, and I ended up becoming a vampire too. I loved it, scarily enough. It was weird because we could go out in the day, and…I could fly!

Then my dream kind of changed, and it was normal life again, except that I was still a vampire. I was at my grandparents house, and they didn’t know I was a vampire. I guess all the vampires were trying to hide what they were. I was still with the King Vampire, and I guess my little cousin was a vampire too. The last thing I remember is my cousin’s teacher giving her a hard time because she was a vampire so I brought her to my house, and me and King scared the living daylights out of her. She didn’t bother my cousin ever again.

(source)

Wow, that dream was weird. There were a lot of other gruesome details that I won’t bring up. It’s so strange that the book I’m reading found its way into my subconscious. I’m reading Wuthering Bites, which basically takes the story of Wuthering Heights and combines it with vampires. It’s only okay so far, but I’m hoping it’ll pick up.

Anyway, it’s still pretty crummy in Chicago, which stinks since it’s not often that I have a day off. Still, I’m going to make the most of it, get some errands done, hopefully get myself onto the treadmill and catch up on blogs.

Yesterday, Angie and I did Level 2 of Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred. My biceps are killing me this morning! The workout was really intense, but it was definitely doable. It’s always those strength moves that I have the most trouble with. I do feel like my arms are getting stronger, though!

I ate out a lot over the weekend. When Paul and I got to the hotel on Saturday, we didn’t have much time to relax. Our reservations were at 5 p.m., so we walked through the rain to the restaurant, Osteria Via Stato. Paul gets embarrassed kind of easily, so he asked me not to take pictures of the food. I say FINE, with kind of a pout, but I consented.

(source)

We started off with some fresh bread and garlic. It was so satisfying. The garlic pieces are much tastier than bread could ever be. We also had an order of the calamari. We always order it at Italian and Greek restaurants. Paul then ordered the Classic Caesar Salad – Romaine Hearts & Garlic Croutons. He loved it, mostly because it used the hearts rather than the leaves of the lettuce. It made the salad really long, weird.

For dinner, I ordered the Penne with Spicy Tomato Cream &Β Chicken. I only got a side order since I filled up on calamari and because we didn’t have a fridge in the hotel room. Nowhere to put leftovers. Such a delicious pasta. I would definitely recommend it!

Paul ordered the Chicken Mario – House Favorite inspired by Chef Mario of Sostanza in Florence, Italy. He said it was only okay. It didn’t have that much food; just a piece of chicken and some broccoli.

The rest of the night was a ton of fun. We sat up late and watched all the NBA All-Star festivities, and the hotel room was beautiful. Thank you Groupon!

When we finally got back home on Sunday, I was craving vegetables, something that doesn’t happen very often. I figured it was probably because I had a carb-overload this weekend. So I made a yummy salad, and added in a new ingredient: hearts of palm.

The best salad in a while!

In the mix is spinach, red bell pepper, tomatoes, zucchini, green olives and hearts of palm.

This salad was huge and it hit the spot! The hearts of palm were really interesting. I had no idea what they were, so when I saw them in the fridge, I decided to try them out. Basically, hearts of palm are vegetables harvested from the soft core of a palm tree. I was sold right there!

Now I’m off to make some breakfast for myself, and try to stay away from my work email. I have problems. I can’t help but check my work email address when I’m off, which can be a bad thing since it reminds me of all the things I need to complete in a four-day week. Ouch!

Ever have any bizarre dreams after you’ve read a book? Anything vampire-related? If you have the day off today, what are you up to? Ever try hearts of palm?

This entry was posted in books, dinner, dreams, food, friends, lunch, Me, recipes, restaurant, science fiction and fantasy, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to On Being A Vampire

  1. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    I have crazy weird dreams too (a lot lately). I also find that I dream about people I haven’t seen in years. I think a lot is due to Facebook. When scrolling through the mini-feed I see a lot of names and regardless if I actually *think* about the person, their name is stored in my subconscious. Does this make any sense? hahah

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Wow crazy dream! I read so much supernatural stuff, I’m actually quite disappointed I haven’t dreamt about Edward from Twilight in my room πŸ˜‰

  3. Jenny says:

    Lol I don’t think I’ve had vampire dreams but definitely creepy serial killer dreams where I’ll wake up in the middle of the night with cold sweats. Then I’m just too scared to go back to sleep lol I always have the day off since I’m not working but I gotta study for grad school admission boo 😦

  4. Wow, that’s a crazy dream! πŸ™‚ Hehe, I’ve dreamed (literally dreamed) of being a Jedi before. It was totally AWESOME! πŸ™‚

  5. Katy says:

    I love crazy dreams! I have them all the time! My favorites are the ones with dinosaurs. Oh yeah. Dinosuars. Though, I could do without the snake ones. I think I saw Anaconda and Jurassic Park too young…. Haha.

  6. If we weren’t miles apart, I would say we need to have a girls’ night and watch some vampire favorites like VD and Underworld, despite your bad dreams. I think popcorn and candy would help. Actually, even though we’re miles apart, I STILL say we should do this πŸ™‚

  7. I always have bizarre dreams after watching episodes of make-you-think tv shows! I am guilty of falling asleep with the tv on almost every night!

    I am super jealous of everyone that has off work today! Not I!! But, I did get front row parking at work because of it.

    I never even heard of hearts of palm, did it taste similar to anything? I am intrigued!

  8. omg, that’s too funny! Your first pic reminded me of all my fond memories watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer when I was in Middle School. haha. I almost never remember my dreams and if I have a weird one it’s usually just a snipet that I remember – almost never the whole dream!

  9. I have weird dreams all the time. I think I had a weird dream after watching Twilight last week, but the details are foggy. I kind of like weird dreams, they keep life interesting.

  10. Crazy dream!! I have weird dreams if I eat a lot the night before… But I havent had any in a while!
    I LOVE Groupon! They always have the best deals.
    I always ask Adam if he is going to be embarrassed when I take pictures at a restaurant but he says no – Then i end up being shy about it!! haha

  11. I love hearts of palm!!! It’s been too ling since I’ve had it.

    Hahaha, and Michael used to be like that with my food pics. He’s gotten over it. I feel weird doing it at times though. That and I hate lugging my SLR out to restaurants all the time! Your din sounds like it was amazing though πŸ™‚

    When I read the Twilight Saga (obsessed) I had crazy dreams like every night. No lie. I breezed through those books but the dreams lingered a bit. I was totally engrossed it was invading my subconscious!

  12. Crazy dream! Cory and I had the day off and we went to pick out his tux for the wedding! It was really exciting πŸ™‚

  13. Tara says:

    I had to quit watching CSI and Law & Order shows at night because I’d have awful dreams about something happening to me or someone I love!

    I orginally had the day off but we’re making up our non-snow snow day from a few weeks ago instead.

  14. Scary movies and lots of food before I fall asleep always give me weird dreams! I am obessseedddd with true blood!! I know you are too πŸ™‚ I have tried hearts of palm before at salad bars but for some reason never think to buy them in the store..good idea!!

  15. Oh my goodness, what a weird dream!

    Aww, Christopher used to get embarrassed by me taking snapshots of food in restaurants, but now he’s embraced it. πŸ˜‰

  16. Gina says:

    I have weird dreams pretty frequently. It freaks me out when they repeat themselves!

  17. I really like Greek style salads. Seriously one of my favorite types besides fruits. I had been having a lot of strange dreams lately but I’ve also been having sweets before dinner bahaha.

  18. Olivia says:

    Hearts of palm salad? yum yum yum! I love eating out especially at Italian restaurants! what you got sounds delish, I always order ceasar salad and our table usually shares calamari too! Glad you had a great trip!

  19. That is one crazy dream! Hey, at least it didn’t involve work….

    Today was a wonderful combination of shopping + reading/relaxing! It was so gloomy that I almost couldn’t bring myself to get dressed.

  20. quirkyrunner says:

    hey! no i’ve not tried hearts of palm. what are they like? i had some random dreams about burglers two nights ago. i always have bad dreams when i’m super tired. no vampire dreams tho.

  21. Linda says:

    I read a lot of vampire books so I have crazy vampire dreams all the time!
    I love Greek salads. Definitely one of my favs!

  22. I loooove hearts of palm on a good greek salad!

    OMG and that was one heck of a dream! quite an imagination ya got there =) You for sure need to keep writing! ❀

  23. alex says:

    make sure you keep note of these,. they are always fun to look back at. I have the weirdest dreams also….really bizarre

  24. Pingback: A Special Package | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

