The Best Love Songs Ever

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! Hope you’re having a great day, no matter if you’re staying in (like me!) or doing something extra special.

Since Paul and I are planning on doing Valentine’s Day/anniversary stuff over President’s Day weekend, today has been a pretty normal day for me. But he did stop by on his way to basketball to drop off a couple things.

White roses are my favorite!

I love having flowers in my room. It just makes me so much more cheerful. Does anyone else feel like that too?

He also got me a box of chocolate, and I know I’m going to be digging into it real soon.

I also got Paul a small box of his favorite chocolate, Ferrero Rocher, and some fun, personalized M&Ms.

He loved them!

Tonight’s going to be pretty low-key for me. I got a 3.5-mile run done on the treadmill, and I’m ready to crawl into my bed and watch a fun chick flick. Something cute has to be on!

Also, kind of random, but I was thinking about love songs today, and I wanted to post some of my favorites. Hope you find a couple you enjoy:

1. K-Ci and JoJo – All My Life – I remember dancing to this song at my first dance in 6th grade!
2. Led Zeppelin – All of My Love – This my favorite Zeppelin song, and the horns are so beautiful.
3. Cure – Lovesong – I’m really not into ’80s music, but this one is too good to pass up.
4. Johnny Cash – Ring of Fire – The man in black really knows what he’s talking about on this one.
5. Goo Goo Dolls – Iris – This band has really fallen off since the ’90s, but this song will always be a good one.
6. The Pretenders – I’ll Stand By You – I love her voice in this song!
7. The Zombies – Time of the Season – A fun, old-fashioned love song.
8. Temptations – My Girl – Everyone needs to know this one.
9. Marvin Gaye – Let’s Get It On – Sexual references aside, you know you just want to jam to this song.
10. Rolling Stones – Wild Horses – A perfect wedding song.
11. Percy Sledge – When a Man Loves a Woman – Old school love songs are so much better than the new ones!
12. Oasis – Wonderwall – One of the best ’90s songs, by far.
13. Sonny & Cher – I Got You Babe – When I was a kid, I could do the best Cher impression. Now…not so much.
14. Guns N’ Roses – Sweet Child o’ Mine – Not all love songs have to be slow!
15. Stone Temple Pilots – Interstate Love Song – One of my favorite tunes ever!
16. U2 – With or Without You – I really don’t like U2 at all, but this one is a classic, especially when they played it in Friends.
17. Pearl Jam – Black – The opening of this song is ridiculously good.
18. Air – Playground Love – Ever since I saw “The Virgin Suicides,” I’ve loved this one.
19. The Plimsouls – The Oldest Story in the World – Two words: “Valley Girl.”
20. Aerosmith – I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing – How could you not love this song?
21. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Don’t Forget Me – Probably my favorite song of all-time.
22. The Wallflowers – One Headlight – My second favorite 🙂
23. Seal – Kiss from a Rose – So beautiful.

Wow, I did way more than I meant to, and I’m sure I missed a ton of my favorites! There are just way too many good love songs out there.

Lunch

I wasn’t going to post about lunch, but I just need to say that I love avocados.

I sliced up 1/2 an avocado and spread it on some Ezekiel bread. On the other side I had some Swiss cheese. This sandwich was scrumptious, and the bread was really tasty. I love the crust!

I had to get those veggies in!

What’s your favorite love song? Or do you have 10 million, like me? Avocados…yay or nay?

This entry was posted in food, holidays, lunch, Me, music, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to The Best Love Songs Ever

  1. YAY for avocados! 🙂

    Yes, I adore flowers. They always brighten up a room and smell AMAZING! 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day girlie! ❤

  2. Love the flowers! So pretty!

    And All My Life was one of my favorite songs!!!

  3. timkeen40 says:

    Happy valentines day. I took my wife out to eat.

    I am sure you will get more, but I would like to add to your list of love songs.

    Everything I do, I do it for you – Bryan Adams or Englebert Humperdink
    Waiting for a girl like you – Foreigner.

    Glad you enjoyed your day.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

  4. The flowers are beautiful! I love how roses make an entire room smell amazing!

  5. First of all I love white roses too! Yellow are great as well, secondly Ezekiel bread rocks no!? thirdly that avocado looks great. Fourthly way to go on the 3.5 mile run sophia!!!!!!!!!

  6. I was just looking at white roses over the weekend and realized how the simplicity made them that much more beautiful! K-Ci & JoJo was the first song that I ever danced to with a boy : ) HAHA!! How far we have come…

    Avocados + hummus is one of my favorite combinations in the world.

  7. Gina says:

    Aww, such beautiful flowers! That list of songs is so perfect. Definitely brought back some memories for me too.

    And that avocado sandwich?! Yes please 🙂

  8. Aww so beautiful roses! How sweet of Paul to bring you flowers even though you aren’t celebrating till later! 🙂

    Sooo many great love songs! Love that list!

  9. mmmstories says:

    Those flowers are beautiful…how exciting! And your list = dead on!! I agree One Headlight is one of the best songs…ever.

    I really love “Stolen” by Dashboard Confessional, mostly because it plays in the background of a cute Scrubs episode that always gets me; “Suga Suga” by Baby Bash because I’m a sucker for pop-y hip hop, and “At Last” by Etta James because it is is the ultimate romantic movie/ wedding song 🙂

  10. Maryann says:

    I love avocadoes 🙂 Totally have a stock in my kitchen right now! Pretty roses! I have some too and agree they make my room more cheerful.

  11. I got a dozen red roses! I love white, pink, and red! 🙂

    Avocados are a HUGE yes!!!

  12. I’m not a huge fan of avocados but I’m pretty sure they’ll grow on me eventually 😉

    and if i listed all the love songs I like… it’d take me like half my life. I’ll spare you. 😉

    I love the Goo Goo Dolls though! And that Aerosmith one… AND WONDERWALL IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES

    You’re missing taytay swift though 😛 heehee.

  13. quirkyrunner says:

    Happy belated Valentine’s sweetie! Love love love the roses! My favourite flower 🙂 The M&Ms are cool :-)We can’t get personalised ones over here but I went mad for them when in NYC 🙂 x

  14. sophia says:

    White flowers are my favorite! I’ve always preferred them to other brightly colored flowers.

  15. Katy says:

    I love flowers. I don’t get it when girls get upset to get flowers on a holiday. Sure, it’s been doen a thousand times. Wanna know why? Cuz it WORKS! Flowers are beautiful, and I love them so much. White roses are definitely up there in my favorites, but purple tulips, and purple roses are my top two. (I love purple!)

    I LOVE love songs. Here are a few of my favorite.
    “I’m There Too” by Michelle Featherstone
    “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain
    “Faithfully” by Journey
    “The Dolphin’s Cry” by Live

  16. Sere says:

    I love Avocados! And also “I’ll follow you into the dark” by Death Cab for Cutie

  17. those roses are GORGEOUS. you’ve got a nice man over there, girl!

    hmm….not sure if i listen to a lot of love songs, but i am a sucker for that one “Alone” by Heart. oh – and good choice with Pearl Jam and U2. 🙂

  18. I love avocados!! I have a million favorite love songs, but I can’t seem to think of any of the top of my head (I hate when that happens.) Your love-song list is a good one!

  19. alex says:

    The Zombies – Time of the Season – A fun, old-fashioned love song.

    I ABSOLUTELY LOOOOOOOOOVE this song!

  20. Erika says:

    I love flowers, especially roses! They’re so pretty! 🙂
    Glad you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

  21. I love gerbera daisies but the classic roses are always so pretty on the day of love.
    Have fun celebrating this weekend with Paul. I know you guys will have a great time!

  22. vixter2010 says:

    Lovely flowers! Good song choices too, I sense a bit of a rock chick 🙂

  23. ohhh love the white roses…and avocados? FOR SURE!

  24. Cait says:

    love everything about this post 🙂 !!! the songs are so cute! xoxo and white roses are so magical!

  25. Jenny says:

    I love all your songs! All my life and kiss from a rose go way back with me. Glad you had a wonderful V-Day 😉

  26. kitkat1126 says:

    Avocado, yum!!! Up until a few years ago I thought I hated avocado. Then one of my friends smeared some on a piece of wheat bread and a sprinkle of salt and now I’m hooked! It’s also really good with a little balsamic. 🙂

    Favorite love song ever: Crazy Love – Van Morrison

  27. Sweet guy! I love having fresh flowers around too – just makes me happy!

  28. I adore flowers!!! They really brighten up my mood whenever I look at them, especially if they’re from Chris. 😀

  29. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    great list right there! I love “when you say nothing at all” as a love song

  30. I love ‘cados! I love putting them in nearly anything!! Guac is for sure one of my favorite foods.

  31. Those flowers are beautiful!!!!! Avocados are a definate yay!!!! I think my fav. love song is always changing. I’ll hear one and say it’s my favorite until I hear and remember the next! Hope you had a great day girl!

  32. Olivia says:

    Avocados are one of my favorite things ever!! I just had Chipotle last night and got the fajita bowl with double the guac..so good!! I pretty much love anything by the Red Hot Chilis, especially Don’t Forget Me. Hope you had a great VDay!! XOXO

  33. I’m all about staying in. If avocados are involved then even better, I love avocados!

  34. Kat says:

    Im a sucker for love songs!! Maybe its because Im born on vday? haha but either way I love love songs. And they can be by anyone, I dont discriminate! haha Love the personalized m&ms!!

  35. cbrady3 says:

    I love The Way You Look Tonight by Eric Clapton and This Year’s Love by David Gray!

  36. Avocados are THE BEST! Especially in chocolate mousse form! 😉

    And it’s all about ‘When you say nothing at all’. I am SUCH a girl and well up every time I hear it! 😛

  37. My favorite is You and Me by DMB.

    I wish I liked avocados! They’re so good for you and such a easy addition to meals, but I just don’t like the taste.

  38. dressed2dish says:

    Pretty flowers! I am obsessed with avocados and making GUAC! 🙂

  39. I’m always so jealous of your peppers! I still can’t find good hearty ones that arent mushy or super overpriced! hurry up spring!!!!!!!

    those personalized mm’s make suuuuch cute gifts! good job! =)

  40. Love your list of Love songs!! I used to be able to play Black on the guitar like a rock star 😉 Pearl Jam was my OBSESSION in middle school. I had Eddie Vedder all over my walls!!! And “All My Life” reminds me of junior year in high school. Good times!

    i had avocado in my salad tonight. They are so amazing

  41. runyogarepeat says:

    Those flowers are so pretty! I got some too, and I love having them in my room. I love how all your love songs are older (90s or before), those are some of my favs too. Avocados = major yes!

Leave a Reply

