Burnt Valentine’s Day Brownies + Twitter

I’m on Twitter! Follow me here!

Onto business. I’ve had my first major kitchen disaster, and I’m pretty disappointed. I asked Paul if he had any preferences regarding what to make for V-Day, and some of the words that he mentioned were peanut butter, chocolate and brownie.

So I thought, okay, perfect! I scoured the web to find the perfect recipe, and I thought I had found it. You can see it here. I think the problem was that every oven is different, and I don’t know enough about baking to have realized that the brownies needed to come out of the oven. The recipe said the brownies should bake for 40-50 minutes. Definitely not. I took them out at minute 38 and they were toasted by that point. Oh well though! No use crying over burnt brownies.

The recipe at the bottom of the post basically shows you what I did, and the amount of the time the brownies should have been in the oven, not the time I actually used. You don’t want burnt brownies, right? 🙂

Butter and peanut butter

The two butters together at last!

Brown sugar

Am I the only person who loves the way brown sugar mimics the form of whatever it’s in? I think it’s the coolest thing!

Creamy

I did have a taste here. I can’t help it…batter is my kryptonite!

The flour mixture

Flour mixture + peanut butter mixture

Everything was going so smoothly.

So many chips!

All mixed in

All the chips are mixed in, and I got really excited at this point.

Batter

Definitely my favorite picture of the day!

I added a few more chips to the top for good measure.

38 minutes later…

😦

So upsetting. I wish I knew what went wrong. I mean I think it has to be the fact that my oven maybe was stronger than most? Also, my inexperience as a baker definitely played a part. Maybe I shouldn’t have used the spelt flour?

The worst part

Totally burnt. But rather than throw away the brownies, I cut them up and spent 20 minutes using a knife to chop off all the burnt parts. It was a big pain in the butt, but I just couldn’t bear to throw these things out.

Paul ate a bunch too. I tasted them, and they weren’t completely awful, but they weren’t delicious. At least he humored me.

Here’s how the recipe should have gone (shorter time baking):

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 stick butter, slightly melted
  • 1/2 C. creamy peanut butter
  • 1 1/4 C. packed brown sugar
  • 2 lg. eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 C. spelt flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 C. Ghirardelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with no-stick cooking spray. Beat butter in a bowl until smooth then add the peanut butter. Beat until well-blended. Then beat in brown sugar. Add the eggs, and beat. Add vanilla and beat. In a medium bowl, add flour, baking powder and salt. Add the mixture to peanut butter mixture. Beat until blended. Add in chocolate chunks and beat for 5 seconds. Transfer the batter to the pan, and use a spatula to smooth the top. Bake until toothpick inserted 2 inches from edge of pan comes out with moist crumbs attached, about 30-40 minutes. Transfer pan to rack and cool completely. Makes 12 square brownies.

Ever have a baking disaster? Do you have any idea why my brownies burnt? What did you make for Valentine’s Day?

This entry was posted in dessert, food, holidays, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Burnt Valentine’s Day Brownies + Twitter

  1. Katy says:

    Girl, I have had so many baking disasters it’s ridiculous. And since I’m going to spend the next few years trying to perfect recipes for a bakery, and many more years after that OWNING a bakery… Let’s just say, I’m sure there will be many more! Don’t sweat it. And go Paul! For eating them anyways. I know I get super emotional over stuff like that. Haha.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, and I’ve already followed you on Twitter! 🙂

  2. alex says:

    I have learned to never do it the full amount, I constantly check and find out that most of the time the time doesn’t work for my oven. Boys will eat anything though 🙂

  3. AH no!! thats no fun esp On V-day! i have never used spelt flour but i will watch out for that! usually things burn becuz my oven is super strong so it couldve been becuz of that!

  4. kitkat1126 says:

    Aww! It’s the effort that counts 🙂 That’s what I find so hard about baking, at least with cooking it seems like you can modify things here or there and it still turns out well. The brownies LOOK yummy though 🙂

  5. Maryann says:

    Aw! Its the thought that counts 🙂 I totally would have tried to cut off the burnt part too. Happy Valentines day!xoxo!

  6. Ever have a baking disaster? Are you kidding me? Only basically on a daily basis! I swear, I try! But I am just so good at getting it (everything) wrong when it comes to baking! I’ll keep trying : )

  7. I would definitely say they were just cooked too long! I always watch my baked goods like crazy because my oven is unpredictable!

    Glad you were able to salvage them a bit! Have a great Vday! ❤

  8. Oh man – that stinks when all your hard work gets ruined! I once made a family I was staying with “american apple pie”. it was so burned but they didn’t want to be rude and ate it anyway!

  9. It just looks like they could have been pulled out a few minutes earlier – I hate when that happens! I used to be the queen of burning everything I put in the oven. It’s just within the past few months that I’ve been able to pull off some pretty delicious desserts. I’m sure the non-burnt parts were good, though! 🙂

  10. Following you now! I’m @thisitalianrach! 🙂

    Definitely have had more than one baking mishap, haha! Happy valentine’s day, girl!

  11. Jenny says:

    This is probably the reason I just don’t bake lol My skills are not up to par when it comes to baking, pretty weird how they burnt up on you 😦 Either way I hope you two have a fantastic Valentines!

  12. mmmstories says:

    Womp womp 😦 I’m sorry about the brownies! I’m sure if it was any combination of chocolate and peanut butter it was pretty good anyway. I get soo antsy about baking times too because every oven is different. I’ve never used spelt flour but I’m intrigued for the next dish you try out with it!

  13. Lisa says:

    No clue what is up with your burnt brownies—I’m terrible about that stuff and have had lots of kitchen disasters…I just call it experimenting 🙂

  14. Aram caught my house on fire…making popcorn two years ago. AH. It still looks good and I would probably eat some if society allowed me too ha. Happy Valentines Day.

  15. I’ve had more than my fair share of kitchen disasters. I try view them as learning moments and try try again. 🙂

    For Valentine’s, I made some of my Chocolate Date VEGAN Cake in the shape of a heart, Cranberry Muffins, and Almond Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies. ❤

    Happy Valentine's Day! ❤

  16. awwww, so sorry about the brownies! That’s so disappointing. I have been baking for years. I am a MUCH better baker than I am cook. I have had some cooking disasters, baking…maybe a couple in the beginning. But you learn as you go! Now you know that it;s always better to under cook a bit, and never trust times. Oven times vary, so you always have to watch the baked goods!!!

    Hope you had a nice V-day despite the kitchen disaster!

  17. That’s what happens every time I try to bake! I’ve given up at this point!!!

    following you on twitter! =)

  18. I love baking! But honesty, I have no clue what went wrong…seems like big discrepancy between the time the recipe stated and when yours burned. My kitchen disasters are always cooking not baking. I love the precision of baking.

  19. I always always bake for 10 minutes under then what is recomended. You could say I’ve had a few failures in my lifetime. THey still look yummy 🙂 It’s the thought that counts!

  20. Arthy says:

    Hi,
    I baked brownies today for the first time. It was totally burnt even on the top in about 10 minutes and I trashed the whole thing. The reason may be I didn’t want to line the baking tin with aluminum foil as mentioned in the recipe. But I thought the foil would just help to life the brownies easily after baking. Still not sure why it burnt. Baked at 350 F for about 15 minutes and the smoke alarm went off. BTW mine is gas oven I suppose. May be I’ll try 300 F next time. Good luck.

  21. Pingback: And I’m Off! | Raven Waves

  22. Pingback: And I'm Off! | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

