Chocolate Oats and Yogurt Bowl

Thanks everyone for all the sweet comments on my last post. I was a little nervous talking about my relationship with Paul, but you guys are all so amazing. Hope everyone has a great Valentine’s Day!

On to the weekend cooking highlight. I tried making my own breakfast oats for the first time, and it was a success. It might actually be more than a success because not only was the breakfast delicious, but it filled me up! I need to start eating bigger breakfasts like this one. I had so much more energy, and I wasn’t craving something sweet later in the day, since I already got my sweet kick in. Plus, I was able to use the granola I’ve been obsessing about!

Ingredients minus yogurt and granola

I really didn’t know what I was doing when I started. Thank goodness, it all ended up well!

Let the cooking begin

All ready!

I was ready to devour the oats, but as it turns out, there wasn’t as much as I thought.

1 serving?

That’s where the yogurt and granola come in!

I loved how the hot oats and cold yogurt created an unforgettable texture.

Lots of granola for me!

The finished product!

I’m thinking about making oats again tomorrow morning. I’ll probably have to wake up a bit earlier, but it’ll be a new delicious breakfast to add to my list. Hopefully, it’ll be as good as this little experiment.

Chocolate Oats and Yogurt Bowl:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C. oats
  • 2/3 C. water
  • 1 tsp. cacao powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 6-oz. container Fage 0% Greek yogurt (or Greek yogurt of your choice
  • 1 handful Cascadian Farms Maple Brown Sugar granola

Directions:

Boil water in a pot. Once hot, quickly pour in the oats and banana. Stir for a couple minutes, then add the cacao and cinnamon. Note: if you don’t like too much chocolate, try adding 1/2 tsp. of cacao powder instead. Cook until the mixture is thick, and the water has evaporated. Transfer to serving bowl, and add Greek yogurt. Mix together, then add granola and continue to mix. Enjoy!

I also tried making chocolate and peanut butter brownies from scratch this weekend. It was a disaster. I burned them completely. The recipe said to bake them for 40-50 minutes, and by minute 38, there were burnt. More on my kitchen disaster tomorrow though.

Now I’m going to do a closet makeover, since it’s a complete mess, and watch the Grammy’s. Can’t wait to see Eminem!

Thanks everyone for all the great ideas on how to use my granola! If you have any amazing breakfast oats recipes, please let me know where to find them in the comment section! Are you watching the Grammy’s tonight?

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, Me, music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chocolate Oats and Yogurt Bowl

  1. Gina says:

    I’m dying to try raw cacao powder! Your oatmeal yogurt concoction looks delicious 🙂

  2. Wow that is a good idea with the oats. I’m forever in a pancake breakfast rut. That is something one day I hope to work on. For now-I’ll survive as a typical college student eating a massive amount of pancakes vs ramen noodles.

  3. Allison says:

    Chocolate oats sound amazing!!! I am flipping between The Grammys and a few other shows. I dvr’d it so ill flip through to get to the performances tomorrow morning!

  4. Check out KathEats’ page on oats. She is SO inspiring! 🙂

    I’m so sorry about your burnt brownies. 😦 But your breakfast sounds divine!!! I love yogurt and oats too! 🙂 Just wondering, why do you use 1/3 of a cup oats instead of 1/2 a cup?

  5. Emminem rocked it! Hooray for closet makeovers! ❤

  6. Awesome I’ll be making this for lunch!

  7. Your oats look fab–so glad you enjoyed them! If you’re short on time, make overnight oats! You put them together at night-so they’re ready for you in the morning! 🙂

  8. I have never mixed hot oats with yogurt!! I need to try it!!

  9. How HOT did eminem look? N then they had dr. dre come out? Great show!

  10. Katy says:

    I wish I could have watched the Grammys… Oh well. 🙂

    Your oats looked yum! Good job on trying a new thing!

  11. alex says:

    I totally thought those oats were spaghetti o’s! lol I think I have a serious craving for those right now haha

  12. Olivia says:

    Great minds must think alike!! I posted about chocolate oats this morning too! 🙂

  13. CHOCO oats blow my mind- LOVE this and i love your raw cacao powder- that looks good!

  14. Kristina says:

    wow that chocolate oats look way too yummy!

  15. Oooh, I like the idea of adding yogurt to the oats! Definitely going to try this one with the 10 tons of Greek yogurt I just bought!

Leave a Reply

