A Granola Obsession

I’ve gotten tons of positive feedback about doing a post about how Paul and I met, so look out for that one sometime in the next week. Thanks everyone for the supportive comments! Also, I’ll try to include as many pictures as possible, but Paul and I are not a photogenic couple…haha! Seriously, though! Here’s the first picture we ever took together. It was taken about 9 months before we started dating.

Last day of high school

Anyway, thank goodness it’s Friday. This has been a crazy long week, and I can’t wait to sleep in a bit tomorrow. I forgot to mention this yesterday, but Paul’s brother’s girlfriend just had a baby yesterday, making Paul an uncle for the first time! The little baby is named Brandon, he’s a little over 8 pounds and about 22 inches. I can’t wait to meet him!

Onto my new obsession: Cascadian Farm Maple Brown Sugar Granola.

Amazing!

So far, I’ve only added it to my yogurt and eaten it as a cereal with milk, but I just can’t get enough! The flavors are phenomenal, and even though I’ve always liked brown sugar and maple separately, adding them together creates a crazy taset in your mouth…crazy, but good crazy.

I’m trying to think of new ways to eat it, and I’m thinking of creating a breakfast bowl, kind of like the ones all you awesome bloggers make all the time. Do you have any ideas of what I should include in the breakfast bowl?

I finished off the last of the quinoa in lunch today. It’s becoming my favorite grain. I just love how tiny the kernels are.

Chicken, tomatoes, peas and quinoa

My mom made a chicken and tomato dish that she originall had on pasta. But I didn’t want to let the quinoa just sit in the fridge, so I tossed it in along with some cooked peas…and voila!

Lunch on February 11

Crisp cucumber made its way back into my lunch, along with the rest of my yellow and red bell peppers. I also had a string cheese and apple bites on the side. Cheese and fruit is one of the best snacks on the planet!

Time for me to get going now. But first, did anyone hear Lady Gaga’s new song, “Born This Way,” today? I’m a huge Gaga fan, and I think the song is great because it’s all about accepting yourself and others no matter what race, religion, sexual orientation or ethnic group you are. But I did think it sounded awfully like Madonna’s “Express Yourself” and “Vogue.” Even Gaga herself sounded much more like Madonna than she has in the past. Still a great song though!

What do you think of Gaga’s song? If you make breakfast bowls, what do you put in them? Do you have a favorite granola/granola cereal?

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, looking back, lunch, Me, music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Granola Obsession

  1. I totally understand! Aram never seriously smiles in any of the photos with me…how sad.

    Your quinoa looks so good. I love the texture of it. So yummy.

  2. Jenny says:

    Lol cute pic of you and your bf. Mine always wants to do something stupid in the pic so I have to make sure we get at least a few good ones 😉 I just heard her song today in the car, I love it! She’s coming down in April for her monster ball concert, I wish I was able to go 😦 and my breakfast bowls contain cottage cheese, yogurt, berries, cocoa almonds, and some pb 😀

  3. It was so super eerily a madonna-esque song and sound — but it’s awesome and I’m sure even madonna herself loves this song! =) hehe

    Can’t wait to hear the looove story! ❤ happy early vday girl!

  4. I’ve heard a lot of people say that about the song!
    MM I’m always looking for new granola even though im obsessed with Yogi’s Blueberry Crisps.
    I think thats a great picture of you and Paul 🙂 Don’t be so hard on yourself!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. Cute lil’ baby. 🙂 My favorite granola is Almond Vanilla! 🙂

  6. I love that picture of you two – it’s so cute! Yeah, Mike and I are about as unphotogenic as it gets, and even worse, his mother is obsessed with taking pictures, so we have tons of awful pictures of us that will live forever on their family computer! Aaaahhh! Get Bare Naked Heavenly Chocolate Granola – it will knock your socks off!

  7. valgal123 says:

    Yay! Another Gaga fan! Its not often that I come across one with a blog! I’m actually listening to Electric Kiss right now. I love the new song and it fills every fiber of my being with joy.

  8. Katy says:

    I have to check out that new song! Haha. I love Lady Gaga!

    I eat ridiculous amounts of cucumbers a day. I love them so much!!

  9. Kristina says:

    I put my smoothies in a bowl so if you want to consider that a bfast bowl:)

  10. Erika says:

    I love granola. It’s so addictive! I usually put lots of berries, 1/2 a banana, cereal, greek or regular yogurt, flax, chia, granola, and cinnamon in my yogurt bowls. Here’s a link for my all-time favorite yogurt bowl:
    http://foodfitnessandfun.wordpress.com/big-bowl-o-blue/
    It’s pretty embarrassing – it was one of my first posts. 😉

  11. Kat says:

    Mmmm i love granola!! I have several recipes on my blog that I make. I dont ever buy it because I like making it myself and adding all sorts of things! Adding quinoa to it is probably one of my favorite things to do! It adds a nice healthy crunch!

  12. Lisa says:

    I haven’t heard gaga’s song yet—but I’m going to go check it out!
    My breakfast bowl would ideally be greek yogurt (plain), vanilla stevia, and granola…with a few added goji berries! I am not really doing dairy now, so I’m kinda stumped about what to switch it around too…not really big on oatmeal!
    Can’t wait to see what kinds of things you come up with!

  13. Maryann says:

    I havent heard the gaga song…Ill be on the look out for it!

    I love throwing random stuff in my bowls!! Peanut paste, greek yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit, microwaved chopped apples+cinnamon, I could go on and on 🙂 Im actually not a big fan of granola though!

  14. I LOVE granola! But ya know what? Just regular oats, work too! Sometimes I’ll have a handfull of oats, 1/2 greek yogurt cup, and fruit (like 1/2 banana, handfull of blueberries, etc.) Yum!

  15. i love gagas new song!! she honestly never has a bad song- they are all so good and catchy! Ive never been much of breakfast bowl gal! i guess i used to make COLOSSAL oat combos with crazy toppings but ive kept it low key lately!

  16. i admit, cereal is definitely my favorite food group. 🙂 hmm…not sure if i have any suggestions though. currently, i’m all about barkleymax, which is a whole grain, high in protein, and something like 4 times the fiber of other grains. (holy, i just sounded like a commercial there, didn’t i.) if you can find it on your side of the world, i highly recommend.

    hope you’re enjoying your weekend! congrats to the new mommy! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Chocolate Oats and Yogurt Bowl | Raven Waves

  18. Pingback: ABCs and Lots of Food | Raven Waves

  19. Pingback: New Playlist! | Raven Waves

  20. Pingback: Lent Lent Lent! | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

