Keep on Running

I felt so great after my 4-miler this evening! Usually, I get a small “high” after working out, but it just shot out the roof tonight. That’s probably because I get to see Paul tonight, and we’ll be watching our guilty pleasure, “Jersey Shore.” But things didn’t start off that great this morning. Here’s  why:

Zero degrees!

Every morning, I grab the newspaper from my front door and I froze my butt off after just 5 seconds of trying to reach out into the snow to grab the darn thing. Luckily, by the time I got out of work, the temperature went up to 18. Crazy, right?

Fingers crossed that it’ll be warmer this week (I’ll be thankful for 30) because we’re probably going to go out, and being at bars in the cold is no fun at all. My problem is that because I’m really short (5’2), I’m stuck wearing heels when I go out to bars and clubs. If I don’t, I seriously have a hard time getting through crowded places haha! Plus, Paul is 6’2, and being on your tippy toes all night stinks.

Lunch

I finally finished off the last of Cedar’s Mediterranean Salad today, and I’m pretty bummed. Bulgur and lentils are quite good!

Cedar's Mix

I added some quinoa, chopped beets, chopped orange bell peppers and chopped tomatoes to Cedar’s, and it was the beets that rocked my socks this time. This is the second time I’ve had beets, and they’re really growing on me. But it isn’t because of the taste. When I mixed the beets with the quinoa, the quinoa started to turn a pink/purple color. It made my grain/salad bowl much prettier than usual.

Close up

I created kind of a random spinach salad mix because I was craving some more veggies.

Spinach overload!

I packed in spinach, yellow and orange bell pepper, feta, chopped tomatoes and medium salsa. My dressing is usually a vinaigrette, and though it’s pretty good, I wanted a change. The salsa was only okay on the salad. It didn’t coat the spinach as much as a dressing does, and it wasn’t very appetizing to eat dry spinach leaves. Next time, I think I’ll just try a different dressing.

Lunch on February 10

I took this picture after I shook up the salad, and all you can see is the spinach now. Sorry about that! Cottage cheese made for a comforting side to this lunch. A little bit of cottage cheese goes a long way!

Since I’m a big news junkie, I’ve decided to share a couple links to healthy living/fitness/food sites that have posted some interesting stories recently. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did:

Is It Time to Replace Your Sneakers?
Winter Treadmill Survival Tips
Valentine’s Day Activities: How Many Calories Do They Burn?
54 Sweet and Healthier Valentine’s Day Treats
Valentine’s Day Lunch: Chocolate Peanut Butter Sandwiches

If you’re celebrating Valentine’s Day weekend, have a great time! Paul and I celebrate our 4-year anniversary on February 18, so we’re not celebrating until the weekend after. I’m thinking about doing a post or two about how we met, our relationship, etc. Would that be something you guys would be interested in hearing about?

Do you always get a “high” after you work out? Does a specific workout give you more of a “high” than another? Are you celebrating Valentine’s Day this weekend? Making a special dessert?

This entry was posted in blogs, fitness, food, lunch, Me, news stories, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Keep on Running

  1. I’m really short too! I’m only 5’4″, and I think I’ll be staying that way. Do you find it hard to shop for clothes? I do!

  2. Ellie says:

    Hii Sophia! Haha crazy! I’m 5’2″ as well~except my friends say that I’m 5’1″ and I refuse to accept it. However, I’m really starting to accept it better and perhaps like it? I loove sweating and huffing and puffin after a workout b/c I love the adrenaline rush. I almost get upset if I don’t sweat. Usually bodyweight workouts do it for me 😀

  3. Olivia says:

    Oohh!! Your lunch looks so good-that’s like exactly what I like to bring for lunch most days at school. + chocolate and a Bar:) Great job on the excellent run, that’s my favorite thing ever; getting that runners “high!” Seriously, the best!

  4. P.S. Cedars salad is good right

  5. If it makes you feel better…my car temp said -15 this morning….by the time I got to work it was -12. It was COLD. 🙂

  6. I always enjoy a good love story – please share! : ) Nothing beats a LONG workout on the treadmill and waking up the next morning feeling sore and tired. We have a tradition of making our own his/hers pizza on Valentines day followed by a trip out for coffee or fro-yo. We’re still (kinda) college kids, so none of that fancy Valentines day stuff for us!

  7. That Cedars salad looks so good!!

    I love the links you posted, especially about replacing your sneakers. I fight with clients all the time that refuse to replace theirs and they get foot cramps and other issues!!

    I love hearing love stories, I would def be interested in hearing how you met!! Happy anniversary!!

  8. I get runners high but never really “swimmers high.” Sadly since I do it a lot more.

    Happy Anniversary. 🙂

    I’m heading straight over to read about the treadmill now.

  9. Jenny says:

    I love that feeling right after a good workout. Makes me feel like I actually made use of a good day 🙂 And I’m celebrating the holiday indoors with the boyfriend. Making dinner and what not 😀

  10. I don’t always get a “high” (like a runners high of euphoria), but I ALWAYS feel “better”, ya know?

  11. Tara says:

    I love hearing love stories!

    My boyfriend and I are going to cook dinner at home and relax and I’m so excited. We both agreed to still get kind of dressed up, which is really just an excuse to go shopping!

    I don’t know if I’ve experienced the “runner’s high” but I definitely can tell a drastic change in my mood when I run!

  12. Maryann says:

    Yay for endorphines! I think I usually get them…basically I just get grumpy If I dont work out, so im assuming I usually get a runners high 😉 I think Nick and I are going out to dinner on Monday, not sure where yet though! I love would to hear about how you and paul met!

  13. I feel great after Zumba, its just so much fun and I don’t realize what a great workout I’m getting during it! It’s one of the reasons I really wanted to start teaching!

  14. Four years!! WOW!! I would love to hear about how you two met!!

  15. Katy says:

    Girl. You made my whole month with your care package. I wanted to cry. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!! I can’t wait to get into all of those yummy snacks!! 🙂

    I SO want to hear more about your relationship! I love those posts. Your sister has been asking me to post a few about Shane and I, and I am super excited to do so. 🙂 FOUR YEARS is a heck of a long time, too!! That’s amazing. 🙂

    I LOVE running highs. I got one yesterday that I can’t wait to post about. It was just the most amazing feeling. 🙂

  16. GREat links!!! i have never tried bulgur but have def wanted to !

  17. I’m 5′ 2″ also! I just don’t have the balance to wear heels. lol If I have a really good run I tend to get a high after, but I don’t usually get one. I guess that makes them all the more special.
    I would love to hear how you and Paul met. I love hearing stories about people falling in love.

  18. HELLO just found your bloggie!! You’re GORGEOUS girl!!

    I get SUCH a high when I work out!! Running gives me that more than anything! 😀

  19. Any time I run, I get runners high! I love the feeling I get from that!

  20. Kristina says:

    Running almost always gives me a mini high…or a big one depending on the type of run! I can kick the crap out of myself during a workout but nothing compares to a solid run:)
    Im freezing my butt off over here to!!!!

  21. Yes share your relationship story! 😀 I love to hear cute stories like that. I don’t always get a high after I work out…I don’t if I’m just doing a lift necessarily, but when it comes to a cardio workout like running or Piloxing I always feel bubbly and awake!

  22. My anniversary with my fiance is the week after Valentine’s Day, so we’ll do more celebrating then. Still, it’s nice to do something a little fun for Feb. 14!

  23. Ohhh i get a runners high!!!! I love it… feels like you can go forever!And yes I’d LOVE to hear more about you and Paul!

  24. I would love to hear your relationship story! I say do it 🙂

    I don’t ever get a “high” – Maybe i’m not working out hard enough! HaHa
    I am celebrating Valentines Day this weekend with my boyfriend. Then he will go back to NJ and I’ll spend Monday with my mom and grandma!! I have the perfect VDay dessert recipe. Have a great wekeend girl!

  25. mmmstories says:

    Wow, 4 years! Congrats!!

    I’m short too and am constantly in heels! Sure it means wiping out on ice a few times a year but what are you gonna do? 🙂

  26. I love hearing relationship stories! So yes, you should definitely share those! 🙂 Congratulations on four years! 🙂

  27. emma says:

    Hey! my boyfriend and i celebrated our 3 year anniversary yesterday 🙂 love is in the air! Yes I’ll definately make something sweet, heart shaped and cute for my man on Monday 🙂

  28. runyogarepeat says:

    The running high is incredible, and I feel the best after a run vs other workouts. I love reading others’ love stories. I’m thinking about making homemade oreo cookies for Valentine’s day and adding a little red dye to the frosting to make it festive. I found this great-looking recipe: http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/05/my-kingdom-for-a-glass-of-milk/

Leave a Reply

