Good Old Soup

First off, I just want to thank everyone who comments on my blog. It really means a lot to me, and I love how we all seem to have this amazing, supportive, healthy living community. I don’t have many friends that work out very often, or try to eat really healthy, so it’s great to have blog friends who are trying to do the same thing as you, and giving you amazing tips and advice along the way. Thank you everyone!!

Hope you guys are all having a great Hump Day! Mine hasn’t been anything special. Temperatures have really dropped in Chicago, and it got down to 10 this morning. I’m sure it’s even colder outside.

Paul and I didn’t end up going out for his friend’s birthday last night. The group didn’t get to the bar until 10:30, which meant that if Paul and I went, we’d probably be out until at least midnight. Yikes. That would have meant that I’d most likely actually fall asleep around 1/1:30, and that would have been bad news for me this morning.

Instead, we just had a chill night, and watched a couple episodes of The Office and How I Met Your Mother. We also love to look at funny You Tube videos. Yes, we’re dorks! Paul showed me this video a couple years ago, and I have to post it because it’s that good!

How amazing is that guy!

My mom made some chicken noodle soup on Tuesday, and it seemed like the perfect mid-week lunch. The giant carrot slices were phenomenal, and that comes from someone who despises carrots!

Chicken Noodle Soup

The soup warmed we up, thankfully, because the conference room where I eat lunch is always super cold.

I wasn’t feeling a salad today, so I opted for a raw veggie bowl filled with yellow bell pepper, green bell pepper and cherry tomatoes. I don’t know about you, but the green bell pepper does not compare to the other bell peppers in its family. Red is the best, followed by orange, then yellow and then the green. Poor little guy must be jealous of his bell pepper siblings…

Still have so much fruit left, so it’ll probably be in my lunch for the rest of the week. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll try an apple tomorrow. But the melons are so juicy!

I had a pretty small workout today. Just did 30 minutes on the elliptical while reading the newest issue of Shape. Marisa Miller is on the cover, and she is honestly so hot! Haha! Her body is rockin’ and I love the fact that she was a jock in high school.

Now I’m off to get things ready before my friends come over for girls night!

Thanks again everyone for listening to my random thoughts, my insanely boring lunches and my basic workouts. I really love this community!

If you watched the video, any thoughts? How cool is that guy? Do you like Marisa Miller? How about the other Victoria’s Secret models? Aren’t green bell peppers the worst in the big bell pepper family (haha!)?

This entry was posted in blogs, fitness, food, lunch, videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Good Old Soup

  1. I was shocked to see the word “carrot” and “phenomenal” in the same sentence, but as a witness – that soup looked and smelled good! Actually, I really like carrots in soups and soups only. Just relived evol. of dance, and it is still amazing!

  2. Tara says:

    I’ve seen that video before and it cracks me up. In college my friends and I always looked up YouTube videos. I love that my boyfriend has introduced me to a whole lot more!

    I don’t like any bell peppers but I do like carrots in moderation!

  3. ツ says:

    Wow I haven’t seen that video in a long time. Do you remember the milk and cereal video? That was a good one too… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDsj5UZ_1bA :p

  4. Ha! Me and Chris always have chill nights like that…watching a t.v. series and Youtube stuff. 😀 I love Marissa Miller too! She’s great. 🙂 I haven’t gotten that mag in the mail yet though… 😦

  5. we have chill nights all the time – thank goodness for netflix!

    that guy can do the crazy-knees dance! hahaha! and red pepper beats all ; )

  6. I agree about blogging friends! They seriously understand so much more than “real life” friends. Not many of mine workout or try and eat healthy like here. 🙂

  7. mmmstories says:

    Have you ever watched Tosh.0? Last night, he had the “Evolution of Dance” guy come on for a 5 year reunion! [ Here’s the link http://tosh.comedycentral.com/video-clips/web-dance-off—evolution-of-dance-guy ] I pretty much live for funny Youtubes!

    Stay warm, its undeniably “soup weather” out there!

  8. OMG Marisa Miller looks so smoking hot on the cover it makes me want to run a million miles! haha my favorite VS model is Adriana Lima…
    I really don’t like the green bell peppers :/

  9. Homemade chicken noodle soup is the BEST! How can you hate carrots?! They’re one of my fave veggies! : )

  10. kitkat1126 says:

    Too funny, I just made fajitas with friends the other night and my one request was to leave out green peppers. One of my friends was convinced they all tasted the same (and compared them to M&M’s and coloring) – not true! I love the red but the others are just not as good.

    On a more serious note I completely agree with the blog friends! I have found so many useful tips, habits, and workouts from healthy living and fitness blogs. Plus everyone is so great for your motivation!

  11. Cait says:

    love the post- love the video- seriously great!!! your blog always makes me feel better

  12. Maryann says:

    Girl you have got the pepper order right! Thats why the green ones are always cheaper!! I love all of the people I have met in just the short months since I have started my blog, you are right, everyone is so supportive and its great to be able to connect with other fitness/healthy food fanatics 🙂 So glad to have found yours!!

  13. Meri says:

    I’m like the only one I know who likes green peppers 🙂 I think my hierarchy is red, green, then yellow/ orange! But yellow are the prettiest, so when they aren’t too expensive I buy them…

  14. Jenny says:

    I feel this great support system with blogging too. None of my friends workout and none of them eat healthy which is why unfortunately they are pretty much obese 😦 Even my family doesn’t eat the way I do. I’m lucky to have a bf that is equally as weird as me in my food choices 🙂 Love the soup, it looks super hearty. And I’m not a real big fan of Marissa Miller, she kinda looks like a bobble head toy to me. My favorites are Adrianna Lima and Alessandra Ambrosio 😀

  15. Kat says:

    That vid cracks me up. It never gets old 🙂 I love all the fruit and veg you ate today! Looks delicious! I actually like green bell peppers, obviously not as much as the others, but I dont mind them at all!

  16. Katy says:

    I think Marissa Miller is perfect. Seriously. She is my idol. Love her.

    I also love the blog community! It makes em so happy to have people to encourage me to eat healthy, and exercise instead of looking at me like I have a third arm. Haha.

  17. alex says:

    my mom made me chicken noodle soup the other day, it was amazing!!!

  18. oh yeah, red peppers all the way. too bad their so friggin expensive. we pay almost $2.00 for one!! (seriously. it’s ridiculous.)

    i haven’t seen HIMYM this season. is Ted getting close to meeting the future baby’s momma?

  19. I totally agree about the bell peppers! If I’m cooking with them I don’t mind using the green, but if I’m going to eat them raw then it has to be red. They taste so much sweeter.
    Thank you for having a blog where I can come and read the thoughts of someone just as random as I am!

  20. Sere says:

    Your bell peppers ranking is exactly like mine =)

  21. No, thank YOU for sharing your random thoughts and daily life 🙂 I do love how supportive this community is and I’m so happy to be a part of it, too.

    Plus, today is Thursday. You know what that means. Vampire Diaries!!

  22. LOVE this video! I’ve seen it a zillion times! =)

    I never understood reading books and magazines while running or biking! I can’t see the words when im moving that fast! I wish I could!!!!!

  23. soup is always a great go-to. your veggies look so fresh and delicious!

  24. Red is totally the best of the bell family! Poor green. Maybe that’s why the green ones are always the cheapest at the store 😉 hahaha

  25. Gill (snaxandthecity) says:

    best movie ever, right!? love it.

    yeah i totally have a girl crush on MM as well. although if i had to choose a model’s figure to steal i’d have Brooklyn Decker’s. She’s a great role model and fit as well.

    haha i totally agree about bell peppers. i always save the red for last and savour it slowly. green is too bitter!

  26. I’m at work, so I can’t watch the video–boo!

    Red peppers are def. the winner in the pepper family!! 🙂

  27. beautyrun says:

    Haha, that guy is the coolest guy I’ve ever seen!

  28. Olivia says:

    Marisa Miller was a jock in high school!?! That is so cool! I honestly love going to the gym just so I can read their magazines:) It’s ridiculous that I’m not subscribed to most of the ones I love, but I always read them at the gym or library so there’s hardly any point!
    I totally agree with you on the bloggy friends and how well they understand you. I’ve been in pure bliss ever since I officially joined the blogging community and seriously treasure all of the friendships I’ve already made:) Would you be interested in a little foodie swap!? I’ve never done one before, but it sounds super fun:)

Leave a Reply

