Football Hangover

Though it’s not even close to morning, I’m already hungover from the football game. Not from the 2 beers, not from the all the food, but from the game itself. I hate the Green Bay Packers, and I’m pretty sleepy, so this one’s going to be quick and filled with pictures.

Filling Breakfast

Breakfast was stellar this morning. I had a breakfast sandwich and yogurt mixture.

The makings of a great sandwich

The sandwich contained one egg, a handful of spinach and melted Swiss cheese on an everything bagel thin.

Side view

On the side, I had a container of Fage yogurt with some Kashi maple granola cereal.

Before the mixing

Delicious!

I opted for a bigger breakfast than usual because of the speed treadmill workout I wanted to try. I based this workout off of the one Carrie from Moves ‘N Munchies posted this morning. Mine was definitely not as intense, but I still felt like it was a good workout. Thanks Carrie!

I also did the Jillian Michaels Shred-It With Weights workout with Angie.

Then it was off to Super Bowl baking. I made the Nestle Toll House Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Morsel Cookies. I didn’t take a lot of pictures since I was rushing like crazy to get things done it time to get to Paul’s house, then to his friend’s for the game.

Batter

First batch

The cookies were really delicious, and a big hit at the party!

Nestle Toll House Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Morsel Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 C. all-purpose flour (I used wheat flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 3/4 C. granulated sugar
  • 3/4 C. packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 lg. eggs
  • 1 (11-oz.) pkg. NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Morsels

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add egg one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Yield: 3 dozen medium-sized cookies

Mini Sandwiches

I also made mini-sandwiches filled with salami, Swiss cheese and honey mustard. These were gone by half-time! 🙂 Score!

Random Trail Mix

I put a bunch of random things in this trail mix, including dark chocolate chips, raisins, dried fruit, peanuts, walnuts, almonds, Rice Chex and a ton of cinnamon. It was a pretty decent snack.

Now I’m off to get some sleep. Last work week was pretty intense, and I’m hoping things relax a little bit this week. Sorry I’m a little behind in blog reading. Hopefully I can catch up in the next few days.

Any thoughts on the game? Did you make anything? If you saw the commercials, what was your fave? Mine definitely was the Star Wars Volkswagen commercial!

    This entry was posted in breakfast, chicago bears, dessert, fitness, food, recipes, running, snacks, television, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    26 Responses to Football Hangover

    1. Great eats today soph! way to kick but on that run today!!! 🙂 can’t wait to do kettle ball again! I can’t believe we only did level one LMFAO it was so hard

    2. ahhh noooooo! It’s too late to look at food! =) I wanted to say hello though.. and yeah.. the game blew

    3. Meri says:

      Mmmm your cookies look way better than mine! Yumms!

    4. Jenny says:

      Love the cookies and mini sammies! Sorry the packers lost 😦 Hope you at least had fun with friends

    5. Katy says:

      I am definitely going to have to try that workout, I also saw it on MovesNMunchies, but hers is also to intense for me…. now. Lol. I WILL get there! Great job! I WANT to try Jillian Michael’s dvds, I have bought some, and they will be waiting on me when I get back to the States!! 🙂 Have a great day!

    6. No worries on being behind in blog reading girl–I get behind every single week! There are just way too many fab bloggers out there! Although I’d love nothing more than to read blogs all day long! 🙂

    7. i love all the american football hype! im missin out over here!! you made some yummy snacks- wish i could’ve joined in!! glad you liked the workout!!!

    8. alex says:

      I did not care about either team. Story of my life about superbowls

    9. We didn’t end up going anywhere last night which was weird but saved me from feeling like a stuffed piglet this am…I can’t stop craving doritos from those damn commercials though!
      Nice workout-you’re rock’n the treadmill!

    10. Nice workout! I am feeling disgusting after the Super Bowl party because I ate too much food!! I did want the Packers to win because I was so tired of Pittsburgh!!

    11. Maryann says:

      I ended up not watching the game at all! Not even the commercials, did I miss out on anything stellar? Looks like you had some delish food yesterday! and good job on the interval workout, yours does look intense!!

    12. Gill (snaxandthecity) says:

      I’m so out of touch with all these superbowl posts lol. do companies put on special commercials during the SB or something!? that trail mix looks great by the way!

    13. How fun! Those cookies look amazing. I tried to make some in France – not the same!

    14. My husband and I didn’t watch the game. We weren’t big fans of either team, so we didn’t have an urge to watch it. Instead, we ordered takeout and watched Social Network. That was still fun!

    15. I didn’t get to watch the game because I was working, but I love trail mix. It’s like crack to me.

    16. Katherine: Unemployed says:

      I saw the starwars kid on the news this morning. your cookie batter looks so good

    17. Olivia says:

      I made peanut butter milk chocolate chip cookies yesterday too! Although I made up my recipe, so they had a chocolate-based dough. I can’t wait to post the recipe! I did Carries workout yesterday too so wow i just realized we had a really similar day!

    18. beautyrun says:

      I hated both teams so I didn’t watch.

    19. mmmstories says:

      Yayy, it’s great to find see another young-professional Chicago blogger! I was also definitely feeling a giant headacheee after the Packers’ win. It’s not so much that I hate the Packers but I hateee listening to the Packers’ fans brag about this! haha Go Bears!

    20. I’m so not into football so I didn’t really watch the game!! Love your eats!

    21. Lisa says:

      Oh man….the game. I really didn’t care about it, and barely paid attention so I don’t even have any commercial faves!

      Love the Fage yogurt!

    22. That trail mix looks amazing! Wow, 3 different game snacks – you went all out!

    23. Kat says:

      That was some game! I was totally on the edge of my seat. I love a good football game! I didnt get to make anything 😦 but there was plenty of food to eat! Unfortunetly it was all unhealthy, but I stuck to the unsalted peanuts!!

    24. LOVED the Star Wars commercial. All the others were terrible. The game kinda bored me.

      The egg bagel thin looks so good!!!

    25. Wow, you were all over those Super Bowl snacks! I just ate leftover pizza from the night before. I couldn’t muster enough energy to make anything.

    26. I am right there with you on the Star Wars Volkswagen one!!! SO CUTE! 🙂

      Do you think you could remake that trail mix for the exacts? It looks SO amazing. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    