2 Greek Yogurt Dips

Last night’s girls night rocked! I brought over two yummy dips with fruit and veggies, and my other friend brought a ton of different cheeses and crackers. Sometimes snacking is so much better than a real meal! We started with three episodes of The Vampire Diaries. That show is seriously addicting. It’s not the best show ever, but everyone is just so good-looking it’s impossible not to get sucked in!

(source)

We also looked at our yearbooks from 6th and 7th grade. All three of us were best friends then, and it was hilarious to read the things we wrote to each other. Just the fact that I started my piece like this kills me:

Wazzzzzzzup?!?

Sometimes I really do miss 1999. Speaking of that amazing decade, we also watched the most memorable episode of Are You Afraid of the Dark? If you don’t remember this episode, then you were not a true fan…just kidding…but seriously. πŸ˜‰

Remember the one where the kid gets stuck in the pinball machine? I think the reason why most people I know still remember this episode is the fact that things didn’t go back to normal in the end. Even though most of the episodes are pretty freaky, usually the main character turns out safe and sound. Not here. The poor kid is actually stuck in the game and has to replay it for the rest of his life. So creepy!

We also watched some of Dave Chappelle’s stand up. I think he is by far the funniest stand-up comedian! Have you ever seen his racial draft? Pure gold right there.

Anyway, here are the two recipes I used for my girls night dips. The sweet one was definitely better than the other one. I think I should have used more dill and garlic.

Healthy Yogurt Dip

Healthy Greek Yogurt and Dill Dip
Ingredients:

  • 6 oz. nonfat plain Greek yogurt (I used Fage)
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. dill
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 Tbs. lemon juice
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

Directions:

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate before serving. Serve with chopped up vegetables, such as zucchini, bell peppers or carrots.

Yogurt and PB Dip

Greek Yogurt and Peanut Butter Dip:

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz. nonfat plain Greek yogurt (I used Fage)
  • 3 Tbs. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 Tbs. honey
  • 1/8 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and refrigerate before serving. Serve with fruit slices, such as apple and pear.

Did you watch Are You Afraid of the Dark as a kid? What’s your favorite dip? Have you ever tried making a dip with Greek yogurt?

This entry was posted in dessert, food, friends, looking back, recipes, snacks, television and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 2 Greek Yogurt Dips

  1. I’ve never made a dip with Greek yogurt, but I want to dip my finger into that peanut butter dip bowl now!
    I never watched that movie. Are you kidding, I wouldn’t stay home alone after seeing that!

  2. I love making dips with Greek yogurt. You’re right the first one probably needed more dill. It’s best to make those really strong. The PB one with cinnamon and honey sounds really really good.

  3. Great post soph! do you have any dip left over for us to make for the superbowl?

  4. I love making dip with greek yogurt. It is basically the same thing as sour cream anyways just more creamy and nom.

  5. Jenny says:

    I use to watch that show all the time!! Funny how tv shows change. Speaking of which, since you like The Vampire Diaries have you seen True Blood?? Omg addicting!!! It’s such a great show. Season 4 starts in July, I cannot wait!

  6. elvalentino says:

    Hahaha I remember that show are you afraid of the dark and how everyone would
    get together and sit around the bon fire lol that show was awesome growing up

    but hey that yogurt dip looks really good. I’m already a fan of greek yogurt
    so I’m going to try this one out, thanks for sharing your recipe

  7. Maryann says:

    Girl, when I was little if I saw Are You Afraid of The Dark I couldnt sleep alone! haha! I am still a wimp just bigger now πŸ™‚ Love the idea of mixing pb with Fage! Girls night sounds like so much fun.

  8. sophia says:

    OMG!!!!! Vampire Diaries!! That show totally sucked me in. It gets better and better after the first few episodes. God, I never really realized how hot Ian S. is in “Lost,” but he is STEAMING in this show. I’m a total sucker for bad boys. πŸ˜‰

  9. Olivia says:

    I love making dips with Greek Yogurt! I have this recipe for spicy buffalo ranch that we eat with carrots or (pre-vegetarian days!) used to dip buffalo chicken in and it was amazing!! Love your recipes too:)

  10. Um, well, I tried to watch are you afraid of the dark as a kid but I was a fraidy-cat (and I still kind of am) so i tended to avoid it πŸ˜‰ Definitely a trip down memory lane to think about that show though!

    Your dips look delicious! πŸ™‚ I love greek yogurt…

  11. Its too late for me to even think about AYAOTD!!! omg! TRAUMATIZING for me! hahaha

    mmmm now I want yogurt dip! a little dill and garlic makes the world go round =)

  12. Your dips look great!!! πŸ™‚

  13. Oh my gosh I was obsessed with Are you Afraid of the Dark!! And Goosebumps! And Eerie Street! haha We found them for my son too. πŸ™‚

  14. Katy says:

    That show scared the crap out of me. I’m the biggest scary movie baby. I think I do remember that episode, though! I love the Vampire Diaries, but I’ve missed all of Season 2. I can’t wait until it comes out on DVD, so I can catch up! πŸ™‚

  15. mmmm – what a great idea to make dips out of greek yogurt! I especially love the one with PB that you eat with fruit! I’ve got to do this next time I get to the store & get some more plain greek yogurt!

  16. I LOVE VAMPIRE DIARIESSs and Are you afraid of the Dark was MY FAV show.. oh my i miss it!

  17. Kristina says:

    i’ve never made dip with greek yogurt (i’ve never tried greek yogurt-I know shoot me now!!) I’m a fan of all things dip though so i’m sure i’d love it!

  18. double dip! in a good way πŸ™‚ I like hummus dips so usually don’t go for creamy greek yogurt dips, but my breakfast could probably be considered a dip for my spoon right?

  19. Greek yogurt dip is one of my favorites! I’m so happy you’re addicted to Vampire Diaries πŸ™‚ It’s so good, right!? You can’t help but love it.

  20. beautyrun says:

    I am going to have to try that healthy yogurt dip.

  21. That peanut butter dip looks really look – and so easy! I just had Mike pick up plain Greek yogurt at the store because I want to try experimenting with more yogurt recipes! And yes, Are You Afraid of the Dark was the best show ever, especially on Saturday night sleepovers!

  22. cbrady3 says:

    Oh my gosh, I used to watch Are You Afraid Of The Dark all the time! That empty swing in the intro scared me so badly!

  23. myhighonlife says:

    I will definitely be checking out that pb dip…. anything with peanut butter & I’m sold. At times I thought I was the only dork out there who watches vampire diaries but you’re sooo right–the people are soo good looking! πŸ™‚

  24. oh my, i’m making this PB greek yogurt dip as part of my lunch tomorrow. thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

