Working At Home

My first experience working at home was spectacular! I slept an extra hour, and felt incredibly rested. Plus, I didn’t have to drive 35 minutes to get to work in the morning or 45 minutes to get home. Also, I could eat whatever snacks I pleased, which is completely different than when I’m at work. I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t be able to get all my work done because of distractions but that wasn’t the case at all. It was actually EASIER to get things completed, if you can believe that. I’m guessing that’s true because:

1. Life in pajamas is much better than life in jeans
2. My home chair is so comfortable
3. I’m very used to working with my laptop
4. I can listen to music as I work

Working from home won’t ever be the norm, unfortunately, but at least I got to live it once. Paul, on the other hand, is having a field day. Not only was his night class canceled on Tuesday, all classes were canceled today, as well as tomorrow. So where is he right now? At the bar with his friends. I’m so jealous!

Here are a couple pictures I managed to snap of the snow this morning:

Still snowing

Winter wonderland

Through the glass

Pandora was really, really good to me today, too. Maybe that’s why I got so much work done? Anyway, I’ve only created three radio stations on Pandora. One contains rap and hip-hop, the second contains girl rock and third is all about my favorite old school rock-n-roll and ’90s rock. Here are some of the songs I got from that third station today:

Fortune Faded – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Bitter Sweet Symphony – The Verve
Shine – Collective Soul
Soul to Squeeze – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Polly – Nirvana
Plush – Stone Temple Pilots
Everlong – Foo Fighters
House of the Rising Sun – The Animals
Whole Lotta Love – Led Zeppelin
I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Creedence Clearwater Revival
Interstate Love Song – Stone Temple Pilots
Sunshine of Your Love – Eric Clapton
Free Bird – Lynyrd Skynyrd
Won’t Back Down – Tom Petty
Where Is My Mind – Pixies
Today – Smashing Pumpkins
In Bloom – Nirvana
Like A Stone – Audioslave
Voodoo Child – Jimi Hendrix
Dance Little Sister – The Rolling Stones

Now that’s music right there! 🙂

Looks like I’ll be heading in to work tomorrow, but we’re going out to lunch, so I’m pretty excited for that. Girls night was canceled for tonight. Boo! But, one of my best friends actually shares a backyard with me, so she’s going to try to make her way through the igloos and snow mounds so we can catch up on Jersey Shore!

Have a great rest of the week everyone!

Have you ever worked from home before? What kind of music do you listen to? Favorite bands?

This entry was posted in music, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Working At Home

  1. Olivia says:

    I love the music you listed! Ahh, so jealous of you getting to wear PJ’s all day! And a comfy chair!? How relaxing! Glad your first day working at home turned out great:)

  2. Sophia, your pictures are AMAZING!! I love them! 🙂 LOVE #1! 🙂

  3. Posky says:

    It sounds like a dream world but I always worry that working at home would allow for a “The Shinning” scenario to play out. I need regular activities and social interactions or I get a little down.

    Still, that pandora list doesn’t lie. It was most assuredly a good day.

  4. Oh wow I literally love every single one of those songs! =) I love nostalgic stuff but as far as current music, i’m an indie rock girl ❤ Vampire Weekend and The Killers are my favorites ❤ love it!

  5. I am so jealous of you working from home. I just about live in pajamas on my days off. 🙂

  6. Jenny says:

    Love those music choices! That’s pretty much what my pandora plays 🙂 And idk if i could get any work done at home lol I think I’d prefer to go to work but not in that weather!

  7. Working from home is the best thing in the world… Did you catch up on any daytime tv? Thats my favorite part! What was the total snowfall you received?

  8. Working at home is the best thing ever! Awesome playlist – no wonder you were so productive! I may have been slightly more distracted at home…

  9. little racer says:

    They cancelled classes! They said it would never happen…but it did! Now… hopefully my professors are still snowed in!

  10. your a great writer I cannot wait to read your book!!!

  11. Aw, I’m actually jealous of all of your snow!!! It sounds like you had a wonderful snowy/work day! Yayyyy!

  12. Maryann says:

    Sounds like a great day! Congrats on getting everything done 🙂 The only work I have done from home is studying…have to say I love being home though because it makes my snacking lifestyle easer. lol.

  13. JFlo says:

    I work from home and it’s AWESOME!!! My favorite music is Reggaeton! It’s the best way of representing my inner-Latina.

  14. Katy says:

    Girl, I am so jealous of all that snow! I know a lot of Northerners get irritated by snow, but it’s so foreign to me, I still have it romanticized in my head!! I just wanna go out and play in the snow! Haha. Instead I’m sweating my booty off in Africa.

    Working from home? Yes please. My job for the next 2 years is baking. I told Shane it’s “research” for my bakery. Which is true. But it’s also my idea of heaven. Haha. 🙂

  15. Lisa says:

    I love working from home! I work from home more often than not—and I love it! I’m really in a groove with being productive too, so I’m only distracted if I really do have extra time (which isn’t happening right now!).
    I love your music list. I find that I vary my music—pandora, the radio, a cd…and if I’m distracted I’ll pick something classical or without words.
    Snow days are great!

  16. ah working from home sounds so comforting!! i LOVE dance music.. and hip hop! tinie tempeh aLL THEWAY!

  17. Tara says:

    There isn’t a lot of teaching I can do from home so no, I’ve never worked from home 😦 I’m a little jealous- especially this morning!

  18. great song list! i’m definitely inclined to music of the 90’s, mostly rock and grunge (Pearl Jam, Oasis, Garbage…) they just don’t make music like they used to!

    p.s. i can’t believe the weather you guys have been having! hope you’re keeping warm over there!

Leave a Reply

