The Blizzard of 2011

The snowstorm has hit Chicago! Everyone take cover! Okay, okay, it’s not horrible…yet. Supposedly, most of the snow is going to hit us tonight, and I’m really thankful I don’t have to go into work tomorrow. Usually, my commute home takes 35-45 minutes. Today it took 1 hour and 35 minutes!

So happy to be home safely after that long drive!

And I actually got to leave 2 hours early. I carry granola bars in my purse for emergencies like this, and it finally paid off. Here are a couple pictures I took around 4:30, before the snow hit badly:

Down the street

The lonely basketball hoop

That all doesn’t look too bad, right? Things have changed a bit in the four hours since then. But since it’s so dark out, my photos aren’t taking well. Here’s the best I could manage:

Snowflakes keep fallin’ on my head…keep fallin’ on my…

5K

I’m still in the process of determining my first 5K race for the spring, but I hit another milestone today. Granted, it was on the treadmill, but it still makes me smile. I ran my 5K today in 30:16! I slashed more than 2 minutes since Sunday. I’m really starting to feel like I can call myself a runner. In junior high, I was the fastest girl in my grade, and even on teh high school basketball and volleyball teams, I was one of the quickest athletes. But things really spiraled downward in college. That’s what I get for staying away from sports. Now, I can hold my head up and be proud of my new fastest time. Maybe I’ll be able to break 30 minutes soon.

Lunch

Carrots, green pepper, yellow pepper and cucumbers

I had a veggie overdose today, mostly because there are so many in my home. I don’t want them to spoil, so I’ll just keep eating them, even those nasty carrots. Sorry if you’re a carrot lover, but I despise these orange piggie-toed stubs. I wish they weren’t so good for you…

Lunch on February 1

I also have been adding a lot more fruit to my lunches. My sweet tooth has been aching for some strawberries, and I chopped up a couple this morning.

Swiss, salami and veggie sandwich

For my main course, I have salami and swiss cheese on a wheat sandwich roll. I also have a couple yellow bell pepper slices and cucumber slices. The sauce you see is honey mustard. Not the healthiest, but the tastiest by far. 😉

YUM!

I love this side-view, and I loved this sandwich!

Since I’m working from home tomorrow, I can sleep in until 15 minutes before my workday begins. Usually, I wake up at 6:40 to get to the office by 8, but tomorrow, I can sleep until 7:45!

Do you like carrots? Any good ways to eat them, or add them to dishes? What’s your favorite sandwich to make for lunch?

This entry was posted in food, lunch, running, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Blizzard of 2011

  1. we love carrots in our house – i can seriously never buy enough. almond butter & raw carrots followed closely by honey glazed carrots are by far my favorites.

    best sandwich: pb&honey&bananas. it’s messy. but it’s 100% delicious. some day’s i’ll do the peanut flour thing if my PB consumption has been outta control.

  2. Cait says:

    Ahhhh we’ve been hit! It’s been blowing non stop I feel like its the a part in “The Day After Tomorrow”!! Stay warm!!

  3. Hate them, but I eat them almost everyday. They’re just so easy to pack and cheap to buy. I am also a huge fan of the PB, honey and banana sandwich or what my college called the Honey Monkey.

  4. I hate raw carrots some days and love them other days. its very odd

    stay safe in all the snow! glad you get to stay home tomorrow =)

  5. I love carrots!!! You can try my CRAZy SPuffins. They are veggie packed and OH SO DELICIOUS!!! 🙂

  6. Maryann says:

    Your sandwich looks great! I eat carrots raw..dipped into hummus! Also sometimes I chop them and eat them in salads. Lately my favorite sandwich has been cheese, spaghetti sauce and meatless meatballs on a wheat english muffin!

    Stay warm girl! xoxo

  7. Jenny says:

    Eh I’m not a carrot fan but I love a good turkey and cheese sammie. Too bad about the weather 😦 Drive safe!

  8. Katy says:

    I’m not with you on this one, I LOVE carrots. But my favorite is by far, cucumbers. I crave them like a pregnant woman. Haha.

    WAY TO GO on your 5k!!! That is seriously awesome sauce! You should be proud of yourself!!!!!!! And don’t judge yourself on the way you were in high school. I would send myself into a deep dark depression if I thought of how skinny I was then, compared to now. Stupid adult metabolism….. Haha.

    Just focus on improving, and keep being proud of the achievements you make NOW.

    And seriously, I would crawl into a hole with all that snow. I wouldn’t know what to do…. Haha. FLorida girl here. We shut down EVERYTHING if it even flurries. It doesn’t even have to stick. But that’s only happened twice in my city since I was born…. HAHA.

  9. Good job on your 5k!! That’s awesome you got faster!! I am not a big fan of carrots. I don’t know why, but they have never been one of my favorite veggies.

  10. Way to go soph on the time! keep improving!

  11. kitkat1126 says:

    Haha I legit laughed out loud at this description: orange piggie-toed stubs
    I’m not a huge carrot fan either. They’re OK dipped in hummus but honestly unless in a baked good (mmm carrot cake), I’d prefer a lot of other veggies.

    AWESOME job on your 5k, that’s really amazing you already cut off so much time! Your hardwork is definitely paying off.

  12. JFlo says:

    I think I ate so many carrots as a kid, that I can’t do them anymore 😦 Blarge! I cannot believe that it snowed like 18″ in Kansas at my parents, and Dallas is completely shut down due to ice. It’s in the 40’s and balmy up here in Seattle 🙂 Thanks to my new company for rescuing me, haha!

  13. Congrats on the run! I am trying to motivate myself right now to get out and run! grrr

  14. alex says:

    I wish I could work from home…it would be so easy…they just won’t let us 😦

    Those are cool snow pics! Stay warm and safe

  15. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    AHHH Stay warm!! 🙂 We don’t have snow yet here in DC….fingers crossed it stays that way!!

    Congrats on your PR! 🙂 🙂

  16. I love carrots! I just like to eat them plain or dipped in hummus!

    Enjoy your snow day! Stay warm!

  17. Way to go on the 5k time-you’re going to rock your first one!
    I love hummus/veggie sandwiches/wraps!
    Goodluck in the snow-we were suppose to get it and instead we got ice, no snow!

  18. I carry water and food with me in case of emergencies too. Congratulations on your speedy 5k time, that’s awesome. I like my carrots in stir-frys and then it’s usually little match stick slices in stead of the bigger pieces.

  19. Lisa says:

    Yummy lookin’ lunch!
    We were supposed to get your storm in NY…but it kinda missed us! It’s snowing, but not like you have!
    I’m a little boring with carrots, and usually do them with hummus or in juice or in soup. But, I’ve found that my nephew will eat more of them if they are cut into smaller skinnier “matchsticks.” …then I realized I like them better that way too! I buy the large carrots and cut them up—I swear they taste WAY better than already peeled baby carrots from a bag.

  20. Sruthi says:

    I love carrots, I usually peel and dice large carrots and add them in stirfry, salad and sandwich.

  21. Meri says:

    Sometimes I feel silly for keeping snacks in my car- now I see it can pay off!

  22. great job on your 5k!!

    I’m not a carrot hater but I think they usually don’t have a ton to offer. I like them in soups when they get soft and just kind of blend in to everything else that you are eating, or shredded in salad. OH! Look up a recipe for carrot/apple salad. Basically you just shred a bunch of carrots and apples to pieces, toss it with raisins, vinegar and a little olive oil. It sounds TOTALLY weird, but it’s seriously delicious and barely tastes like “carrots.”

  23. Kayla says:

    Congrats on your new running time! That’s awesome!

  24. That weather looks awful. It makes me glad that I live in Georgia. Our snowstorms are rare and melts quickly.

    I hate carrots too. Sometimes I just force myself to eat them. When I dip them in hummus, they do taste pretty good though.

  25. Kat says:

    I heard about these crazy storms. Stay safe girl! Here in LA it is about 65 and sunny, I feel guilty for having good weather when the rest of the US is being tortured!!

  26. Yikes! Glad you made it home safely before the “real” storm arrived! I love carrots! Could eat them a million ways – raw (dipped in PB, put in a smoothie, sliced on a salad, etc. etc. etc) or cooked (as a side-dish with dinner, usually). So yum!

  27. Olivia says:

    I feel so bad for all you Chicago people! Trapped in the snow in like my idea of a terrible, terribbbble day! Congrats on your new 5k time! That’s so exciting; dropping times is seriously one of the best feelings ever:) keep it up!

  28. YOU ARE SO ADORABLE!!!!

    Yikes, take cover girl!! Stay in and warm and dry tomorrow!!!!!

    Great job on the treadmill!! Woot Woot! You’re getting there!

  29. beautyrun says:

    I’m from Chicago and know how nasty those blizzards can be! But I still sort of miss that gentle snowfall that we’d get when winter was first starting.

Leave a Reply

