Using My Wine and Chocolate Groupon

Over the past couple months, I’ve collected a bunch of Groupons. But I haven’t had the chance to use ANY of them yet. That had to change this weekend. I had some free time, so I trekked on over to Schaefer’s. According to the Web site:

Schaefer’s is a Chicagoland institution that matches great service with a vast, but eclectic, collection of the best wines, food, brews, and distilled spirits. Now celebrating our 75th year at the same corner, our goal is to exceed expectations.

The Groupon was $20 for $40 worth of stuff, and at first, I thought I’d just get a higher-priced bottle of wine, but when I stepped into that place, my jaw almost dropped. Not only did it have a ridiculous amount of wine, but there was so much food!! They had a deli and a ton of gourmet food.

What I got for $20!

Instead of going for the higher-priced bottle of wine, I opted for 3 bottles that were about $12, and two small chocolate bars.

Here are the details on the wines:

1. Santa Rita Cabernet Sauvignon “Reserva” 2007, Maipo Valley Chile –Β  “Santa Rita has proven it can do it all from $7 varietal wines to $50 blends. The winery’s sweet spot, though, is in its midrange reserve wines. The 2007 Reserva Cabernet Sauvignon has a distinct somewhereness, a sense of place that is not California. The result is an expressive, balanced and persistent wine. Its aromas recall ripe, black fruit, plums and fine herbs, gracefully combined with vanilla, cloves and fragrant spices.”

2. Loriella Pino Grigio 2009, Friuli – “A perfectly balanced Pinot Grigio from Italy’s Venezia. This wine is rich and velvety with flavors of pear, orange, and melon with a hint of almonds. Crafted entirely in stainless steel, the result is a wine with delicate fruit and a soft crispness that will harmonize with a wide range of dishes. A great wine with seafood or light appetizers.”

3. San Pietro, Pinot Grigio, Alto Adige, 2009 – “Straw yellow color. Nose has excellent intensity with rose and ripe fruit tones. Immediate intense aroma supported by a good structure that makes the aromatic persistence longer, well-balanced. Serving suggestions: Shell fish, soft cheese, as an aperitif, with desserts.”

As for the chocolate, I got these mini bars.

Organic Dark Spicy Aztec Chocolate Bar – Spicy & sweet, classic Mexican ingredients make this deep, dark bar an unexpected revelation. 55% cocoa content Organic Dark Chocolate Bar with cayenne, pumpkin seeds, and cinnamon

My Thoughts: I didn’t get the spicy taste until after I swallowed my first piece, and then the kick really came in. The pumpkin seeds also were a yummy addition to the chocolate. Definitely a hit!

Organic Milk Sea Salt and Almonds Chocolate Bar – High cocoa-content milk chocolate & roasted organic almonds dusted with grey sea salt — an enticing combination! 38% cocoa content Organic Milk Chocolate Bar with sea salt and almonds

My Thoughts: Paul and I both liked the fact that there were almonds in this bar, but there was just way too much sea salt. It almost killed the entire chocolate taste. It was an interesting bar, but I wouldn’t try it again.

I don’t plan to break out the wine unless there’s a special occasion (aka Valentine’s Day!).

Now, I’m off to get a workout in. Yesterday, I ran a 5K in 32:26 which is a personal best! I’m so proud that I was able to come back from my injury in a couple weeks. Thank you to everyone who gave me encouragement and lots of tips!

Do you use Groupon? If so, what’s the best deal you’ve ever gotten? Have you ever tried any funky chocolate?

This entry was posted in food, shopping, snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Using My Wine and Chocolate Groupon

  1. kitkat1126 says:

    Yum wine from Chile! Ohh I like chocolate with a little sea salt but I could see how there could be too much. Nice work on your 5k πŸ™‚

    I love Groupon! I have gotten an awesome haircut deal (at my normal salon), and I love getting the food deals at restaurants in my area. It’s the perfect excuse to have dinner with a friend midweek. I’ve been keeping my eye out for a massage one though!

  2. I love Lake Champlain Chocolates, although I’ve never had any crazy flavors, just pure dark chocolate. Awesome time on your 5k!! You’ll do great when you run a race this spring!

    I love Groupon. I just used one last week to Yogenfruze ($3 for $6 worth of frozen yogurt).

  3. I’ve still not tried spicy chocolate, but I’m guessing it would be really good… an interesting combination of flavors.

  4. Jenny says:

    I just recently got groupon courtesy of the bf but nothing yet that I’ve bought πŸ˜€ And I seriously need to find a wine that I like 😦 I feel so uncultured!

  5. Kat says:

    I totally use Groupon!! They always have good coupons for either Jamba Juice or other juicing places near me, so I love it. I also like all the spa packages and facials because they are perfect gifts for my mom!

  6. Thats one awesome groupon! =) wine and chocolate? yes please!

  7. Yey! great job on the running! So glad you are feeling bueno again πŸ™‚

    I have never used a groupon but hear so many people talking about them/ using them. All I know is when my friends salon was accepting them it was IMPOSSIBLE for me to get in for me massage. I was not happy, LOL πŸ˜‰

  8. I just ran a 5K on the treadmill this morning. We think so alike. πŸ™‚

  9. Katy says:

    I love Groupon! They had a Bath and Body Works coupon the other day, and I spent $15 for a $30 coupon! I make sure they all have expiration dates for after I get back to the States!

    Great job on the 5K! I haven’t had the guts to do one since I was injured, though I’m going to soon. πŸ™‚ I’m even thinking of running my base Valentine’s Day 5K. πŸ™‚ Good for you!!

  10. Way to go on the run soph! πŸ™‚

  11. I dunno if you’re familiar with the “chocolove” brand of chocolate but they make a sea salt & almond bar that is quite delicious in my opinion… I’m sorry yours wasn’t so good!

    That other bar sounds amazing though πŸ™‚ Nothing quite like dark chocolate!

  12. i just found your blog and gotta say – wine and chocolate are my two favorite food groups.:) i think we would get along swimmingly.

    p.s. if you ever have any questions about Australian vino, let’s just say i’ve tried a few. πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Short and Sweet | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

