“Life-Threatening” Snowstorm

That’s what the National Weather Service called the massive blizzard that’s supposed to hit Chicago tomorrow. Talk about a sure-fire way to incite mass panic. I’m definitely a little nervous about the snow tomorrow, mostly because I’ll be driving in it to and from work. Since it’s not supposed to start until noon, I shouldn’t have any trouble going into the office, but it’s that ride home that I’m really freaked out about.

Hopefully, if conditions get to be pretty dangerous, we’ll be allowed to work from home. I’m not the type of person who would just bow out of work like that, but hearing the word “life-threatening” has made me worried+scared+apprehensive and a ton of other things. Fingers crossed that it won’t be as bad as they expect. What they do expect is 18 inches of snow coupled with 40 mph winds.

I’ll make sure to keep you posted so you’ll know that I didn’t get buried in the blizzard…

Breakfast

Angie received a huge container of Chobani yogurt the other day. She won a giveaway, and lucky for me, she decided to share the wealth. We want to make sure to eat all of it before it expires, which will be a little challenging since it’s just us two that eat it. I tried the Chobani Non-Fat Black Cherry, and it was really good.

With only 150 calories, and globs of real cherry, this Greek yogurt is healthy, satisfying and fruity. Usually, I eat plain yogurt and sweeten it up myself, but it was nice to not have to do the work with this variety.

Pieces of cherry = score!

I’m going to try a different variety in the next day or so, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

I got a ton of reading done this weekend, and now I’m pretty far into The Snow Queen. I’m off to read some more. Hopefully, it’ll keep my mind of the blizzard of doom.ย  Stay strong Chicago!

Will the blizzard affect you at all? Globs of fruit in your yogurt…yay or nay? Favorite fruit yogurt flavor?

This entry was posted in breakfast, Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to “Life-Threatening” Snowstorm

  1. little racer says:

    do you ever think they would cancel classes at Loyola for the snow storm? I’m hoping they do!!!

  2. Meri says:

    I walk to work, so my commute usually is only minorly affected by snowstorms. Sometimes we close our building down though, since we often follow the Minneapolis public school system calendar for closings.
    Stay safe!

  3. No snow is expected here, but I think it will just get windy and COLD!!! Be safe! I don’t want to lose you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh la la! Cherry yogurt is the best — especially when it is Cherry GREEK yogurt!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Give me a Y. Give me an A. Give me a Y. Yay to the “globs” of fruit in my yogurt! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Tara says:

    Ummm I live in south Texas so I think the most affected we will be is when it gets into the 20’s at night and 30’s during the day starting on Wednesday. (I don’t feel TOO bad about it… we have ridiculous heat AND humidity for most of the year).

    Love vanilla yogurt with fresh or frozen fruit in it. That’s what I eat every morning for a snack!

  5. We’re going to be caught in that same store. Stay safe. We can send each other care packages.

  6. Jenny says:

    Life threatening snowstorm?! Eek ๐Ÿ˜ฎ stay safe!! And I love banana strawberry yogurt. Wish I could bring you some heat ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. jealous! They don’t have the black cherry chobani here!

    good luck with the snow tomororw! fingers crossed! + stay safe! =)

  8. Maryann says:

    Omg that is so scary! Stay safe and warm girl! Lucky you for being able to cash in on Angie’s luck…I want to some free chobani! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Eekk..I only have research tomorrow–so I’m sure my prof would let me work from home! But I always feel bad doing that!

    Be safe driving girl!!!! Slow and steady wins the race. ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

  10. Be safe!!! I’m not a big fan of fruit in yogurt..(Unless I put it in myself!!)

  11. JFlo says:

    Be careful!!! It’s even supposed to snow in Dallas tomorrow, Craziness!

  12. Your Chobani looks like funfetti in a bowl we all know I love that LOL

  13. Kristina says:

    We are suppose to be getting a massive blizzard tonight-eeks! I’m hitting up the grocery store later today (and prob with the rest of the town!)

  14. I love fruit in my CHobani ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually buy the plain and add my own..however, that cherry looks so good!!

    Stay safe!!! We are getting a crazy ice storm here, eek!

  15. Olivia says:

    I love plain greek yogurt with TJ’s tart pitted cherries mixed in. It’s soooo good, and my mom and I always pretend we’re eating cherry strudel:) I’m praying for you that Chicago isn’t too terribly miserable and unsafe today! They said it was going to be terrible here in Cincy too, but we got literally-no. snow. or ice! ha! stupid weather men!

  16. No blizzard for me – I’m in Tucson and although it’s below freezing at nights, it gets up to 40 during the days & no snow in sight! Also, I totally say YAY to fruit in the yogurt!!! Delish!!

  17. Kayla says:

    I love Chobani’s yogurt, I’ve never tried the cherry one though! It looks delicious!

    I have always lived in places where it doesn’t snow! I’ve never been in a snow storm, so I don’t even know what you’re going through! But I hope you stay safe and warm!

  18. OMG 18 inches of snow and 40 mph winds? Your work has to close for that! I would think you would be in a state of emergency and then everything will shut down. Stay warm and be careful driving…
    I have been off the internet for 3 days and have so many blogs of yours to catch up on!
    I like to buy the plain yogurt and add my own toppings ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Cait says:

    AHHH! THE STUPID SNOW STORM!
    Thank goodness my class canceled! And a snow day tomorrow?! Sounds good to me ๐Ÿ™‚ woohoo! I love GREEK yogurt!! I def love plain yogurt and putting fresh strawberries/blueberries on it!

  20. i’m usually a plain yogurt girl too, but my grocery store just started carrying the pineapple chobani. it is SO good.

    we are blizzard-ed in here in iowa. the winds are so crazy intense i think my house is going to blow down! i never believe the newscasters anymore because they are always off on their predictions so i didn’t take the time yesterday to go to the store and get some “snow-day baking essentials” (lame). thank goodness for netflix and hot chocolate with mini-mallows!

  21. Sruthi says:

    I like to add my own toppings. I like strawberry and banana.

  22. I really like fruit in my yogurt. And, the snowstorm isn’t going to touch where I live. We are going to be warm and sunny!

  23. Phew…glad we made it home! Now we can just watch the snow pile up from our windows! Yay for working at home!

  24. keribop says:

    And so the snow madness continues to ensue… I hope you stay good and safe during this crappy weather!

    I actually just bought a container of the Black Cherry Chobani and am totally going to eat it tomorrow ASAP because of this ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. I hope you got home okay today! It’s supposed to be a doozy!

    And how awesome that you get to share in the wealth of Chobani!

  26. I miss CHOBANI! Send some to France??

Leave a Reply

