Pizza Bagel Thin and Sauteed Vegetables

I tried a couple new things over the weekend, and they both turned out to be successes! I’m going to side-step the fact that they’re both incredibly simple, mainly because it’ll take away from my big smile and feelings of accomplishment. 🙂

Pizza is by far my favorite food in the entire world, and I’m constantly craving it. But ordering pizza = lots of calories, so I tried making my own mini pizza instead. Since we didn’t have any English muffins, I figured a whole wheat bagel thin would work just as well.

Ingredients

I really wish I had some pepperoni…

Toasted and topped with sauce

My stomach was starting to growl at this point. I was really, really hungry.

Cheese and peppers

I probably should have added a bit more cheese, and next time I will!

12 minutes later...

Here’s what they look like after they’ve been baking. The cheese is so gooey!

I couldn't help myself!

I dug in right away! This pizza bagel was really tasty. Next time, I’m going to add some more cheese and add in some pepperoni.

Pizza Bagel Thin

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat bagel thin
  • 2 Tbs. tomato basil pasta sauce
  • 1/4 C. shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 C. yellow bell pepper, chopped

Directions:

Separate bagel thins and toast for 3 minutes in a toaster oven. Then spread sauce on each one. Cover with mozzarella cheese and peppers. Bake at 400 degrees in oven for 12-15 minutes until edges are golden and cheese is melted.

I also sauteed up some of my favorite veggies yesterday. I’ve been getting bored with just eating them raw, so here’s what I did…

The vegetables minus spinach

At first I wasn’t going to add spinach, but then I remembered that I’d been neglecting it for a while.

The spinach is here!

Getting the skillet ready

Sizzling

I think my favorite part of this easy dish was the scent. The garlic and olive oil together smelled unbelievably good.

Shaking and stirring isn’t so difficult! Looks like this is going to be a new favorite.

Feta cheese!

I firmly believe that cheese makes everything better, but especially vegetables.

Time to dig in!

This was a really simple way to change up how I eat my vegetables. Granted, eating them raw is always going to be the easiest option, but this one has so much more flavor.

Sauteed Mixed Vegetables

Ingredients:

  • zucchini slices, chopped
  • red bell pepper slices, chopped
  • orange bell pepper slices, chopped
  • cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • spinach leaves, torn
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • feta cheese, chopped

Directions:

Heat olive oil and garlic powder in a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add vegetables into the skillet. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes. Season with more salt and pepper if needed, then cook for another minute or so. Serve immediately topped with feta cheese.

You can pretty much use any vegetables for this dish. That’s the beauty of it!

Do you like to saute your vegetables? Pizza bagels…yay or nay? Favorite vegetable to eat?

This entry was posted in food, lunch, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pizza Bagel Thin and Sauteed Vegetables

  1. Katy says:

    Both of those look super yummy!! I love how you went and instead of taking the easy (and high calorie) way of ordering pizza, made your own! I need to take a page out of your book, because I also LOVE pizza. 🙂 Good job!

  2. Maryann says:

    Bagel pizza is an amazing idea! Lately ive been loving meatless meatballs with some spaghetti sauce and cheese on an English muffin…pretty similar! I never saute my veggies, I usually just eat them raw, steam them or bake them. It would be too hard for me to pick just one I love, I am a veggie whore 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    Yum I love pizza but have yet to make a pizza bagel. I’ve made flatout pizzas and those are super delicious too. And I do like to saute my veggies although I could eat them raw any day 😀

  4. Kat says:

    Yum to both!! If I had bagel thins I would so make those, but I love making tortilla pizzas. They are just as good, but way more healthy. Saute is also one of my favorite ways to cook vegies. Its quick and I love stirfrys, so it works perfectly!

  5. I love Bagel Thins!! I’m just out of them at the moment….

    I actually roasted my vegetables the other night, and that is my latest love for veggies — roasted ones. 🙂 Have you ever roasted your veggies?

  6. That pizza bagel looks delicious!!! It’s like bagel bites but healthier!!

  7. Lisa says:

    I love pizza bagels…and english muffin pizzas!
    I agree with you—-cheese makes veggies (and most everything!) taste better 🙂

    Looks like some awesome food…

  8. You’re totally right – feta makes everything better! esp. sauteed veggies! I love pizza bagel thins btw! so delish and easy! ❤

  9. I love new, simple things! Both of these look awesome!

  10. Tara says:

    Bagel pizza is a great idea! I eat bagel thins every morning and I’ve had pizza on pita bread before but never on bagels. I’ll have to try it!

  11. Yummmm I make my own pizzas like that all the time!! But it’s because I’m cheap and I cant buy the real thing, lol. At least it allows instant gratification!

  12. Bagel thins are good! I had one of those bagels and they were ok the cinamon raisin ones i mean. I honestly don’t think anything compares to a real bagel from New York bagel don’t you?

  13. Kristina says:

    you just took me back in the day to bagel bites/english muffin pizza days-I used to love them!!!! May have to bring them back-home made style of course!

  14. oatsandspice says:

    The veggies look amazingggg! 🙂

    I love your blog – so cute 🙂 I started my blog about 2 months ago (it’s so addicting) – check it out: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  15. Kayla says:

    Awww, YUM! Great job on the bagel pizza and veggies! I love sauteeing my veggies and garlic and olive oil are the BESTT!

Leave a Reply

