Sitting on a Couch All Night Long

That’s pretty much how I spent my entire Friday night, and oh how I loved it. But before I get into that, I want to thank everyone who gave me some advice/tips in the post below. I’m still unsure of what I want to do, but I’m going to keep doing some more research.

Now, back to my couch-potato self! This entire week has been filled with long nights where I refuse to let myself fall asleep, and I felt the effects of that tonight. Paul and I are starting to realize that none of our friends do anything on Fridays anymore. It’s all about Saturday apparently. I mean I guess I understand. We’re all working, so Friday is the night to recuperate from the week and Saturday is the night to let loose.

Paul and I stayed in at his house, watched the Bulls game and watched the movie Valentine’s Day. It was ehhh. Lots of big-name characters, but it wasn’t as cute as I thought it would be. Oh well…I still had such a great night. Do you ever have nights where from some reason you feel extra appreciative? That was me last night. πŸ™‚

Anyway, onto food! Lunch was a good one!

Lunch on January 29

I’ve been creating mixtures of raw veggies for a while, but I’m going to try to include them even more so from now on since I haven’t been eating too well. For some reason (maybe it’s lack of will-power), I’ve been snacking on lots of cookies and chocolate chips. 😦 Not going to happen today though. I promise.

I included red and orange peppers, cherry tomatoes and zucchini in the bowl. The peppers were my favorite, unsurprisingly.

I know this probably looks like mush, and I’m sorry! My photographing skills really need improvement. In here you’ll find rice, baked chicken and sauteed onions and peppers. Very filling!

On most Fridays I create some type of snack plate for myself when I get home from work, and yesterday was no different. Here’s what I had:

A toasted Thomas everything bagel thin with a Laughing Cow sun-dried tomato cheese wedge, a couple whole wheat tortilla chips and a dollop of medium salsa. Very nice (in the Borat voice!).

Now, it’s time for me to hit the elliptical since I took a day off yesterday. I’m going to try to get a few errands done during the day to help clear my mind of its to-do list.

Do you ever have nights where from some reason you feel extra appreciative? How was your Friday? Any tips on what to do when its becoming hard to say no to those fattening chocolate chip cookies?

This entry was posted in dinner, food, lunch, Me, movies, snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sitting on a Couch All Night Long

  1. When it becomes hard to say no to those fattening chocolate chip cookies, I either make a healthier version, like my Almond Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

    http://katshealthcorner.wordpress.com/2010/12/26/milk-and-cookies/

    Or I make, for instance, chocolate chip oatmeal for breakfast (or whatever). Those really satisfy my cravings. πŸ™‚

  2. Jenny says:

    Not much to comment on my Friday. Was home watching reruns of the Jersey Shore. Lol What can I say, I love the drama! πŸ˜€

  3. Katy says:

    Girl I am the last person to ask cookie avoiding advice from!! Lol. I have to turn everything into a challenge or a game! Lol. I love lazy Friday nights. Shane and I are total homebodies, and we will just hang out together, or watch movies. But usually play some XBOX. I love it. πŸ™‚ I think that’s how you know you’ve found the right guy. When you can just enjoy spending time together without needing to go out. πŸ™‚

  4. Don’t worry I’ll stop making sweets (muffins bars with mold EW) and start making salads in the kitchen LOL

  5. Cookies are a weakness for many πŸ˜‰

    I try to make them myself…less “evil” versions. But really, the best thing is to not keep them around. I sometimes have will power, but other times…it’s non existent. Out of sight, out of mind is sometimes the best way! If you feel like you have been eating them too much. But don’t beat yourself up. We all have those days!

    Have a great weekend!

  6. Maryann says:

    Sometimes staying home and relaxing is the best way to spend an evening! My Friday was pretty fun, I still need to blog about it though πŸ™‚

  7. Sometimes a long night of just sitting on the couch is the BEST thing EVER!!! That’s totally what I’m planning to do tonight!

  8. My Friday was pretty much the same…I was pooped and went to bed early! I’m so exciting. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I definitely have those nights where I feel extremely appreciative of everything!

  9. There are days I LOVE staying home. (Besides dancing, that was my friday night too!) I try to only go out one night a weekend!

  10. Meri says:

    As long as I get enough veggies and protein in, I go ahead and have the cookies πŸ™‚

  11. I felt the same way about Valentine’s Day! It was kind of a waste of a movie–oh well!

    My best tip for saying no–don’t have them in the house! lol Or just eat have single-serve portions so you just have the recommended portion size. Everyone needs a cookie now and then. πŸ™‚ Or you could bake healthy cookies!

  12. We all need lazy days and nights at home once in a while. Love those times for sure!
    Have you ever tried taking Melatonin to help you fall asleep at night?

    Best thing is to not have those tempting foods in the house. If you are anything like me, if you know they are there, then suddenly you are hungry for it!

  13. I totally just had Mike get me bagel thins (cinnamon raisin) and Laughing Cow cheese today at the grocery store! I think I am going to break it out the moment he gets home!

Leave a Reply

