Need Help!

Hi guys! So I’ve noticed that most of the blogs that I follow are hosted by the users, not by blogger or wordpress.com.

I’m considering moving my blog over its own domain: http://www.ravenwavesblog.com. Has anyone ever done that, or did you who already have your own domain, just start it that way?

Any advice would be much appreciated, in terms of how difficult this is, if you think it’s a good idea, etc. Thank you!

This entry was posted in blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Need Help!

  1. Good post soph I would like to learn about this too

  2. I want to know too! Keep me updated if you get any tips!

  3. Linda says:

    I have considered it but never done. The idea of the hosting etc made me itch! If you do please blog about the process!

  4. I actually just bought my domain name and all my traffic is now diverted to the new site. But I’m not self-hosted. WordPress may have a similar option?

  5. I love the idea!!! 🙂

  6. Katy says:

    I have no idea, but I am curious…

  7. I have no clue! but, like everyone, I totally want to know more! haha.

    I asked for my own domain but my husband seems to think it’s not needed. Hmm… i’m desperate to convince him otherwise. he loves the blogs. just not the cost of the dot com. boo

  8. I don’t know why it is needed. I started out on a dot com.

  9. I haven’t done it so no advice from me! Let us know how it goes!

  10. Olivia says:

    Ok, so I have about 10 million things to say to you! First off, I absolutely adore your blog!!! I just found you and already can’t stop flipping through the pages! We have so much in common; and all of the foods you eat look exactly like stuff I pack for lunches/make for snacks, etc. I love it! Anyways, I’ve been considering switching away from the wordpress.com part too. My mom did this with her blog, and it’s not difficult at all; basically you can still stay on the wordpress server just purchase your blog domain name so that wordpress isn’t in the name. Let me know what you decide, and I’d love for you to come visit my blog too! Can’t wait to read more:)

  11. Unfortunately, I just started my blog off with my own domain so no helpful hints here. But I really think that WordPress must make it relatively easy! So says me who can barely figure out how to do anything so far with my NEW blog! But totally excited about it anyway!

  12. Lisa says:

    Hi Sophia,
    I would check the wordpress website for help—there is wordpress.com and wordpress.org, so it can be confusing (they’re the same company, but one is for self-hosting and the other is not). I started out self-hosting on wordpress, and I highly recommend it…but that also means I don’t really know how to transfer from what you have now. It seems like staying with wordpress would likely be the most seamless option, and they should want to help you. I host my site through dreamhost and also have a site on Hostway and did some work with GoDaddy. Dreamhost would be my top choice based on price and customer service.
    I don’t know how helpful that info is…
    Good luck!

  13. Kat says:

    Im not self hosted, but I bought my domain from go daddy.com. I use blogger though, so I dont know if wordpress has different options, but im sure they are similar!

  14. classyrose says:

    Hi, I’ve never done it but a search of the support pages at wordpress.com I came up with the following. Hope this helps you. 🙂

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/domain-mapping/domain-management/
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/site-redirect/

  15. Hey darlin! So my BF is really great with the blogworld (he’s actually had one of his own for the past few years now.. how funny is that?! He got me started with my own about a month ago!) and he said that first, i would want to go to godaddy.com and *buy* my donamin name. So I did that, and now I own happytalesblog.com. Then he said in order for me to blog, it’d be smart to set up a wordpress account, so I did that and had to pay for that was well (one time yearly fee of 12sometthing) and I’ll just pay that every year. If I wanted to self-host, i could, but that’s a montly fee on top of the other two fees i’ve already paid (go daddy and then wordpress). Hope this helps! Let me know if you ahve any other questions!!

Leave a Reply

