Reppin’ Loyola!

I graduated back in May, and I seriously think about college almost every day. I miss it! My life was very structured, but in such a way that I was doing completely different things on a daily basis (different classes, different activities, etc.), but my weeks were pretty much the same. That’s the kind of freedom I loved. Now things are pretty much the same every day, except on the weekends.

What made me think about college even more so was the fact that I received an email from a woman involved in Enrollment Management Marketing at Loyola. She received my name and e-mail address from Loyola’s Career Development Center. Basically, they are putting together a new series of videos profiling some of the young alumni. She asked if I was interesting in participating, and if they could interview me.

Getting ready to head to my college graduation ceremony

My experience at Loyola was more than awesome, so I sent her an email back with a yes! I’m kind of excited to be part of something like this especially because I didn’t have the typical Loyola experience. I’m part of the 10% minority of students who commuted to both the Lake Shore Campus and the Water Tower Campus. Granted the LSC is only 20 minutes from where I live, but ask any commuter, no matter the distance, it’s still a pain driving and/or taking the train.

Anyway, I’m pretty pumped for this video. I love to talk about things I’m passionate about, and it should be an interesting experience. I’m curious what they’re going to ask me. Oh, and this isn’t my first time being a spokesperson for Loyola. I was also interviewed about my Journalism major. Yes, I sound like a dork, and I’m extremely nervous, but it was still fun!

Breakfast

Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers always talks about Thomas’ Everything Bagel Thins, and I figured I’d try them out. Usually I just stick to the whole wheat bagel thins, but I recently discovered they contain the same amount of calories. That made me immediately want to switch up my thin.

Breakfast on January 26

This morning, I had a toasted everything bagel thin topped with a Laughing Cow Light Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil wedge, and some green grapes and blueberries on the side. I also had my thermos full of coffee, but that just didn’t look right in the picture. Every breakfast is accompanied with the Sun Times and the Trib. Can you say newspaper junkie? That’s me!

Lunch on January 26

I had a variety of things for lunch, and it really made for a meal worthy of two shiny gold stars! Yogurt was a must since I skipped it for breakfast. I thought we had some honey at work for me to use as a mixer, but it was kind of stale. We did however have some leftover raw cacao nibs, and the dark chocolate paired really well with the cold, creamy Fage.

Pasta Salad

I started things off with a pasta salad filled with noodles, black olives, cheddar cheese wedges, chopped up yellow, orange and red bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes and some light Italian dressing. The olives made this salad, and needless to say, I had some more as soon as I got home tonight.

Veggie Bowl

I mixed together cucumbers, tomatoes and red bell peppers for this crunchy vegetable bowl. For some reason, cucumbers have been flying under the radar lately, and it was nice to get them back in the lunch mix.

Tomorrow is out-t0-lunch Thursday and it’s so nice knowing I don’t have to pack a lunch. It’s not even the packing that I don’t like, it’s having to think about what I want to eat. I can be really indecisive, and I miss the brown bag lunch days when my mom would pack me a muenster cheese sandwich, a bag of chips, grapes and cookies. If only I could still get away with that!

Happy Hump Day!

Do you ever miss college? Was your college experience a good one? Pasta salad…yay or nay?

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, looking back, lunch, Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Reppin’ Loyola!

  1. Kat says:

    I actually am still in college, but I do it all online. I went to college like everyone else too, but I hated it. I am a very shy and quiet person, so college just wasnt really for me. Not to mention I am married now, so with work and being a wife, online college is much easier!

  2. Katy says:

    I am going to start college when I get out of the Navy, and I’m super excited about the experience. Though it will be a little different than the norm, I think. I’ll be 25 and married… lol.

    I’m not as excited about my major (business management…boring) but it’s what I need to do what I’m dreaming of….. opening a bakery with my best friend! So the end way justifies the means there! 🙂

  3. Well… I’m IN college, so I guess I can’t entirely answer 😉 I have a love-hate relationship with it I guess. Right now I”m mostly hating the fact that i have two midterms I really don’t want to study for.

    But the freedom is great and I’m in California (vs living in Seattle all my life) so that’s a definite plus. Very much missing having my own kitchen though!

    Your food all looks delicious! 🙂

  4. Happy Wednesday! ❤

    Congrats on the video! That's beyond awesome! =)

  5. Jenny says:

    Pasta salad is definitely yay!
    And yes I do miss college. I was happy when I finished but now it kinda sucks. I loved being occupied which is why I’m going back! 😉
    Applying for my BSN/RN so gonna be busyyyyy

  6. Lisa says:

    I miss college sometimes, but I wish I had really appreciated it more when I was there!
    Once out in the real world…college looks pretty desirable. I guess there are a lot of things I don’t want back though (the financial strain and having crappy jobs at places like Office Max).

    Food looks great!

  7. little racer says:

    I’m at Loyola right now as a sophomore right now and I LOVE it there! What was your major? Right now I’m in English creative writing, but we’ll see if that changes any time soon. Like you, I am also a commuter. Yes…it’s a drag sometimes to drive out there, but I only live 20 minutes away so it’s not too bad. Plus….I can’t complain about having home-cooked meals!

  8. Maryann says:

    How exciting! Interviews are fun 🙂 Ohhh I had way too much fun as an undergrad 😉 haha! So many great memories that are all documented on facebook, lol. Now that Im in grad school, I commute to my school so Im only there for business!

    I never really have pasta salad but sometimes I get it from salad bars because I like it! esp with feta and olives!

  9. Heck yes I miss it! I went to UCLA and had the best, too-much-fun, not-enough-sleep-or-studying, Big School University Experience. As I’ve called it. Haha. It was seriously amazing and I miss it a lot–don’t think I’d want to go back to being in college, but I miss the constant fun and being surrounded by close friends all the time.

  10. How exciting! Good luck with your interview. 😀
    And I love those everything bagel thins! Yummy.

  11. BEST TIME EVER! I definitely lived it up while I could & I’m thankful for it now, for sure, because I really feel like I got the entire “college experience” & got all that craziness out of my system! I’ll never regret it!

  12. Congratulations! 🙂
    A definite yes to pasta salad!

  13. YES! I graduated in May as well. I miss my friends mostly. And I’m so nervous about finding a job when I get back to the US!

  14. alex says:

    my college experience was AWFUL! I am glad I am away from there. A lot of Tragedy happened my 4 years in college. I met my husband though, best part of college!

  15. pasta salad? NAY… i dont like pasta very much! esp cold!

  16. Congrats on the interview for alumni:)
    I miss college all the time…I graduated with my BS…worked for a yr, went back for my MS…graduated and have been working for 2 yrs. It’s nice (sometimes) to play grown up but I miss the freedom and waking up with a room full of girls and always something to do with somoeone!

  17. I’m loving my college experience so far! I dont wanna leave! LOL classes are just a tad bit early for me… p.s. I signed up for the race to wrigley on april 16th today!

  18. Sruthi says:

    Of-course I miss college, it was a lot of fun.

  19. I’m not a creature of habit so I really miss the freedom that came along with college! I loved having so much free time and different activities to do each day! I think about it every now and again!

  20. keribop says:

    Oh dear, I am loving college SO much right now… I graduate in May and know for a fact that I’m going to miss it dearly! Sighhhh.

    Pasta salad is a yay I think. I definitely prefer it the way you made it, light on the dressing but heavy on the veggies.

  21. That’s awesome about the interview! Very cool they called you 🙂

    I commuted to school for a couple years. Then did a bunch of certs, seminars, conferences, and online classes to continue my education. I am still always continuing my education! I never got the whole college experience. I visited my friends like every weekend, so I experienced it through them. But not personally…not the same. Sometimes it makes me sad. But now that I am not 50k in debt form loans…it helps ease the pain 😉

  22. Stefanie says:

    That’s so great that they called you for an interview! How fun. 🙂

    I’ve commuted to school for a while–so I definitely know the pains of commuting. But I know I will miss it like crazy once it’s over!

  23. I cant wait to see your interview!
    I can totally relate to your commuting to college and think its awesome that you graduated despite your commute! I ended up stopping because it was just too much for me. I had to drive an hour, pay $20 to park and then drive over an hour home.
    LOVE pasta salad… but I usually only like it in the summer time!

  24. College was not my favorite time. I LOVED freshman year..but after that it got too routine for me. I’m glad it’s over but it is weird not having to study or do homework!! Your lunch looks super yummy!!

  25. I’m never going to miss college; I know these years have just been hell for me. your food post is so immaculately organized; I really loved reading

Leave a Reply

