30 Degrees Feels Warm?

Yep, you read that right! Walking out of work today at 5 p.m., I noticed two things: the sun hadn’t set yet and it wasn’t as chilly as I expected. It really felt like I didn’t need my winter jacket, but I didn’t fall for that one. I got home in 30 minutes, which is like record time for me, and I’ll admit I’m one of those crazies who gets on the highway and is in the fast lane in about 10 seconds.

Since I got home earlier, I had more time to be on the treadmill. That’s kind of good/bad thing. I didn’t want to overdo it, which is so hard once you get on that machine, but I always wanted it to be a decent workout. I ended up only going about 2.5 miles before calling it quits. Not bad for my first time back, eh?

But I didn’t run for the entire time. Rather, I did a speed walk for the first 5 minutes to get my blood going, then I pretty much jogged the rest. But the best part is that I had 0 pain in my knees! I’m back! That means I can start planning which 5K I want to do in the spring. There’s no way I can run outside if it’s still cold. I want my first race to be fun, not frigid.

Lunch

I tried something new today for lunch, and it was pretty good!

Mish Mash Lunch Bowl on January 25

Though you probably can’t tell, at the bottom of my tupperare is tons of quinoa and fava beans, courtesy of Angie. Also in the mix are yellow and orange bell peppers, cucumbers, spinach, feta and medium salsa. This main lunch dish was a winner.

Sides

On the side I had some low fat cottage cheese and my first-ever Larabar!! I’ve waited too long to try these things. I tried the Cherry Pie Bar, since I’m obsessed with the flavor of cherry but not the actual fruit. Weird, I know. I wasn’t sure what to expected when I peeled off the wrap, but this thing was thick, rich and just packed with flavor. I got all that without even a taste.

When I finally did bite into it, I immediately loved the texture. Most of the other bars I eat are granola, but this one just tasted so…natural. That’s probably because the only ingredients in the bar are dates, almonds and unsweetened cherries. Here’s the official description from the Web site:

“Tart and tasty! The mouth-watering experience begins with unsweetened cherries abundant in Vitamin A, flavanoids and antioxidants. All are vital for disease prevention and good health. Dates and almonds add pleasing texture along with Vitamin E and 16 essential vitamins and minerals. Each bar helps the heart with 2.7 grams of Omega-6 fatty acids and tantalizes the taste buds with off-the-chart flavor.”

Lunch on January 25

When I got to the refrigerator at my work, I also noticed that I had a little pack of apple slices still in there. I made sure to munch on those at lunch too. I was craving fruit!

Now I’m off to Paul’s to hopefully watch a movie. I love the fact that I finally got my Bears NFC Champions t-shirt in the mail today. Yes, that was sarcasm. Who knows, maybe if I wore it, they would have won! And yes, I am that superstitious! πŸ™‚

Are you going to be running 5K in the Chicagoland area this year? Do you like Larabars? Favorite flavors? Any thoughts on the Academy Award nominations?

This entry was posted in fitness, food, lunch, running, snacks, working out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 30 Degrees Feels Warm?

  1. kitkat1126 says:

    I love Larabars, I think the apple-pie and lemon are both SO good! I prefer the tart lara bar flavors to the cookie dough, peanut butter, cashew type ones.

    That’s exciting about the 5k! Yay no knee pain πŸ™‚

  2. The salad looks awesome — dude! I tried to buy quinoa at two different supermarkets in my stinky new town and neither had the stuff. I’m craving it even more now!

  3. Katy says:

    Awesome for no knee pain! Woohoo!

    I have heard about Lara Bars all over the blog world, and I will give in. I’ll have to try some out. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear about which 5K you choose!!!

  4. My first larabar was a fail! I’ll have to try that one…

    Good luck on your first 5k! I will be running one on March 20th in memory of my Uncle for colon cancer… I suggest running one that has meaning behind it because I think it pumps you up!

    So glad you were able to run today!

  5. I’m glad your knees are feeling better! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never tried an official Larabar, but I want to try them! I am going to have to pick one up the next time we go grocery shopping.

  6. Oh so THAT’S why they didn’t win. Thanks a lot. πŸ˜‰
    But that’s great your knee is feeling better! Also, I’ve tried a lot of Larabars, but I don’t think I’ve tried the cherry pie one. Weird!

  7. Love larabars-and I don’t have a fav…depends on if i’m craving chocolate, peanut butter, cherry pie, haha….I said the same thing today about 30 degrees feeling like a heat wave!

  8. Meri says:

    I have also been loving that it’s lighter longer! When I walk home from work it is MUCH less depressing πŸ™‚

  9. Maryann says:

    Great job on the run!! The blog world will hate me for saying this but Larabars arent my fave! There are others out there that have the same amount of calories but actually fill me up. Gotta love the ingredients list though!

  10. alex says:

    great job on the running! I am not a fan of larabars…they are too much for me…in a way I can’t describe…lol

  11. your FIRST EVER LARABAR!! wow!! and you even live in the country where they exist! i love the choc chip cookie dough!

  12. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    I looooooove Larabars! My fav flavors are coconut cream pie (tastes like a coconut donut) and banana bread. So so good! They taste sinful πŸ˜‰

    Have a great day ❀

  13. Yesterday it went up to 40 here…it felt like a heat wave!!!! 7 degrees the day earlier!!!

    I have been eating larabars for years. Haven’t had too many lately though. I love the apple pie, the cashew cookie and the newer ones are goo…carrot cake, peanut butter chocolate chip, ad chocolate chip cookie dough.

    I saw a lot of the movies nominated. The Kings Speech was AMAZING! True Grit was so boring. I thought 127 hours was also great, it’s funny how James Franco is hosting and nominated!

  14. Jenny says:

    I’ve been seeing those Larabars on every blog! lol Are they really that good?

  15. Lisa says:

    Your mish mash lunch looks yummy πŸ™‚

    I can totally relate—in NY the weather has been similar and I totally felt like 3o degrees was a heat wave!

    I like larabars…sometimes. I like the cashew cookie, and cherry pie is all right too. But I look at the contents in it, and sometimes I think I might as well eat some cashews and a couple dates instead (and save some cash and feel like I’ve eaten more!).

  16. I love Larabars! They are so awesome. Peanut butter cookie is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

