A Beautiful Dress!

This is probably the third time I’ve thanked Alyssa, but I need to do it again. I finally snapped a photo of me in the dress I won from her giveaway, and I’m obsessed with this dress.

This dress is gorgeous. It honestly fits my fashion style completely. Black is one my favorite colors to wear, and I love the belt. It makes my waist look smaller than it really is!

Cute card with a sweet message!

Bears

Now that I’ve finally cooled off a bit since yesterday’s game, and I’ve learned that Jay Cutler suffered a minor MCL tear, I’ve just decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. I don’t question his toughness, but I still think he needs to compose himself better on the sideline. At least try to look interested. Anyway, the Bears had a fantastic season. They went farther than I thought they would, and now I can just be pumped with the fact that next season should be great too!

NaNoWriMo

In November, I participated in National Novel Writing Month and I wrote and completed a +50,000-word novel in 30 days. It was intense, but I loved it! About a month after the competition, I reread my novel–Within the Forest–and made a few small tweaks.

It’s no where near perfect, and I’ll probably never publish it, but I did order a free proof-copy of it. My mom, sister and a couple friends are interested in reading it, and since it’s free, I figured what the heck? Might as well get it. I created my own personalized cover and everything.

It should arrive around February 10, and in the meantime, here’s the teaser that will be on the back cover:

“Prentisia didn’t live through the war that divided the country Enosa into Enathia and Racosa. She was born many years after the two had already settled their differences. She never experienced the pain that her parents and others suffered. But she has dealt with her own form of loss. Her father passed away six months ago. Her older sister just got married, and has moved away from her village. As Prentisia tries to come to terms with her depression and her fear of further change, she goes for a run for the the first time since her father’s death. But an accident in the forest, and the outsider she meets will change her life forever.”

It’s a young adult piece of fiction set in a different world. It has elements of fantasy and adventure, and in a nutshell, it’s a coming-of-age story.

Workout

My soreness was on a whole other level this morning after yesterday’s intense 40-minute Jillian Michaels yoga workout. My left thigh was aching, and I literally felt a muscle. Progress, maybe? I didn’t feel like doing another Exercise TV workout, so I just did a quick 20-minute elliptical workout. If everything goes according to plan, I want to try to get on the treadmill tomorrow and run 1 mile. I think that’s a reasonable goal coming off of my injury.

On a closing note, here’s a fun picture I wanted to share. Angie and I in Disney World when I’m almost 4, and she’s almost 3. Miss this place!

Now I’m off to make my lunch for tomorrow and get some reading done 🙂

Have you ever tried writing a story or novel? How’s your Monday going? Any exciting plans for the week?

This entry was posted in books, chicago bears, clothes, fitness, working out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Beautiful Dress!

  1. Katy says:

    What a cute picture! Oh, how I adore DisneyWorld!! That dress is GORGEOUS, by the way! I love it!!

    Great job on the novel, I always think of great (to me!) plotlines for a story, but never can stick to it long enough to put the real work into making it come to life. Good for you!!

    I also love rock bands with girl singers! They make me happy! Lol. Have a great day!!

  2. Soph I can’t tell you how proud I am of you for writing the novel. I promise I will read it! Even though I’mnot a big reader since I’ve been blogging lately I found reading to be more enjoyable and easier for that matter I’m quicker at it too lol… I love that picture of us! 🙂
    P.S. what are u doin tomorrow after work

  3. You wrote a novel! ohmygosh! That is beyond amazing sophia! ❤

  4. First off.. what an amazing give away you won from Alyssa! Sooo neat!
    Secondly… i think it’s AMAZING that you wrote your own novel! I am a horrible writer and am not that creative, either… but my boyfriend has a goal to write and publish a shortstory someday!!!
    Lastly… you and your little sister at Disneyworld= ADORABLE!

  5. Stefanie says:

    That is soo great that you wrote your own novel! Seriously, how many people can say they have done that? That takes such hard work + dedication AND it sounds like a great read!!

    My son wants to be a writer/illustrator and he has written so many little books–maybe he’ll grow up and write a novel too! 🙂

  6. You look amazing-love it! I’m a sucker for LBD…
    I have NEVER tried to write anything other than what I have to-i’m a horrible writer!

  7. Sruthi says:

    You are looking so pretty in that dress. Congrats on writing a novel, I know how much work goes into it. I am really impressed.

  8. Your novel sounds amazing!!! I wish I could read it….

    I have never been to Disneyworld or Disneyland. I hope to go sooner or later….

  9. I love that you started nanowrimo and actually finished 🙂
    I started, and then just did not stay committed!
    I wrote “books” when I was younger, not since high school though. I was obsessed with young adult novels—like the novels 12 and 13 year olds read. I used to read the same ones over and over…so I decided to write one. I did it twice, and never had it printed or anything. I think that’s a great idea!

  10. Kat says:

    The dress looks amazing on you!! And I am not sure about Cutler anymore…I thought Lovie Smith came out and said its actually a SPRAIN and not a tear. Ive had both, so I know they suck, but man people are ripping into him right now!

  11. Congrats on finishing that novel. What an accomplishment. I used to write stories and stuff like that, but I haven’t in a while.

  12. That dress is seriously adorable! Love it!

  13. LOVE YOUR DRESs! you look fab!

  14. That dress looks great on you!!!!!

    Good luck with the workout tomorrow. Glad you are feeling better!

    Adorable Disney pic of you and Angie 🙂

  15. That dress is so cute on you!!! This week involved a LOT of work. But it’s ok work=money! Hope you’re having a good week!

  16. Aw you look beautiful in the dress – WAY better than I did 🙂

    I am so impressed about your novel! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

