Success on the Elliptical and a Massage

I rested my knees for 8 days before finally getting back on the elliptical on Saturday. It was a success! I didn’t have any pain after a short 20-minute workout. But I did make sure to ice both knees for 5 minutes each before I got on the machine, and 5 minutes each after I got off. I don’t know if that helped at all, but I’ve decided to do that every single time I plan to do some type of cardio workout.

After some light cardio, I tried out a Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred on Exercise TV. I am now officially obsessed with Jillian, and feel as if we’re good friends. She kicked my butt, my arms and my abs, and I love her for it.

It was only a 25-minute workout, so after I was finished and showered, I still had a ton of time until I needed to get ready to go out. I decided to get a massage at Mario Tricoci with an $100 gift card I’ve had for years. Best decision ever!

A pre-spa snack

The quality of this picture stinks since I had to use my cell phone. Forgot the cam-cam at home unfortunately. Before the massage, I got sit in this little waiting area with comfy couches, women’s magazines and snacks. Pictured above is a combination of crackers and banana chips. The latter were addictive. I got up for a second helping!

This was my second time ever getting a massage. I had gotten one about 5-6 years ago, and I didn’t really like it. I think I might have just been too young though because I loved it this time.

I’m a very tense person who has terrible posture. It doesn’t help that I sit at a desk in front of computer for 8 hours a day, 5 times a week. When my masseuse finally made her way to my shoulders, she started massaging them for 10 seconds before she asked me if I work on the computer. She said my shoulders were really tense and that I had a ton of knots in my back. I wasn’t surprised.

She worked some of them out, but I guess the Signature Massage is more about relaxation then working out knots. If I decide to go again a month or so, I think I’m going to get a deep-tissue massage.

More pictures of the night and my cooking/baking escapades later. Now I need to get ready for the Bears game!! 🙂

This entry was posted in beauty, fitness, working out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Success on the Elliptical and a Massage

  1. Massage must of been nice cant wait until i get mine!

  2. Kat says:

    Glad that you didnt have pain! I need a massage soo bad. When my sis comes out in february we are going to go to a spa together. I so cant wait. I love jillian as well. I have several of her dvds and just adore them. Maybe its because I think shes hot lol Just saying. That woman has a great body!

  3. Great that your knees didn’t hurt!

    I love massages but also hated them when I was younger. I hardly ever get one—and deep tissue works much better for what I need, but it is also painful sometimes!

  4. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    I need to get on the elliptical more often. It’s so good for your joints and I tend to over-do it with the treadmill.

    Soooo jealous of the massage! I need one baaaad 😉

    Happy Sunday!!!!

  5. Katy says:

    I’ve only gotten one massage, and it was a hot stone massage, it was HEAVEN. Ooooh buddy. 🙂

  6. Maryann says:

    So jealous! Massages are amazinnggg! I am SO happy to hear that your knees didn’t hurt, I bet the ice helped!

    Thank you so much for such a sweet comment on my blog…sometimes I am self concious to post my food, because I never cook or really eat anything “special”, you know? But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t taste amazing 🙂 I love love love your blog and am so happy to have “met” you as well!! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  7. Maryann says:

    *typo! I meant conscious 🙂

  8. I really need to go get a massage. Do they take a very long time?

  9. Enjoy the game! I havent had a massage since my wedding… ahhh they are SO awesome! =)

  10. Ok, let me give you another fitness tip 🙂 Never, EVER ice BEFORE you workout. ALWAYS after 🙂 You want your muscles to be warm before you workout. If anything, you can apply warm compress before you go on the elliptical to loosen up. Then, after, add ice. The same rule applies for after you workout. NEVER heat after a workout. Always ice to reduce the inflammation. I am so glad the workout was a success!! Just don’t want to see you hurt yourself jumping on the elliptical with cold muscles. think of your muscles as a rubber band. if you put a rubber band in the freezer, then stretch it…what will happen? It will break. you want to always properly warm up. And after wards. when all the blood is flowing, and if you are prone to injury..you want ice THEN to reduce the inflammation. 🙂
    There’s my fitness tip of the day for yah 🙂

    I am OBSESSED with massages. I too am very tense. Especially in my traps. I used to get a massage weekly when I had bad headaches. It really helped. I try to go every couple months now. I am definitely due!!!!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, girlie!

  11. Ugh I would LOVE a massage right about now. 😀
    Btw, how depressing was the game today? 😦

  12. SO jealous of your massage! My back is in serious pain today and I could use one…
    I am glad you finally got to use the elliptical again! Didn’t you just love the corny things Jillian says in that video? You should buy the DVD…Level 2 and 3 are the best!

    Random – So weird but everytime I checked your blog this weekend there were no new posts and now I just got a ton of notices!

  13. Stefanie says:

    Oh, a massage sounds fabulous! I love Jillian, too! I would love to work out with her in real life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

