Stick to What You Know

I made another breakfast sandwich this morning, and while it was delicious, it didn’t fill me up like a normal breakfast usually does. I have no idea why, but I’ve been famished all day long. Nothing will keep my belly satisfied!

Breakfast on January 21

I started breakfast off with this yummy sandwich: 2 lg. egg whites, 1 handful spinach and 1 sun-dried tomato Laughing Cow Cheese on a whole wheat bagel thin. I thought this would fill me up because I was crazy full after my last breakfast sandwich. But not this time. I also ate a small pack of apple slices for my fruity goodness of the morning.

I always have 1 thermos full of coffee, but I never take pictures of that. So around 10 a.m. at work, I started to feel hunger kicking in. Granola bar time. I munched on a crunch Kashi bar, but it still didn’t make my stomach feel much better. But I stuck it out until lunch, figuring that it would fill me up, at least until I got home from work.

Lunch on January 21

Lunch was fabulous. I haven’t had a string cheese in a while, and the fruit salad was filled with all my favorites.

Blueberries, blackberries, grapes and melon

The real star was my Lundberg Wild Blendยฎ Rice concoction. In the mix you’ll find tomatoes, orange bell peppers, red bell peppers and zucchini. Really good!

But after another couple hours, I still wanted more. So I had another granola bar and a couple candy canes. Yes, we still have them from Christmas! I also had some dried cranberries.

Also, you’re probably wondering if maybe I didn’t drink enough water. That’s not the case. I drank more normal amount today, mostly because I thought I might be dehydrated too.

When I got home from work, I had some Greek yogurt, a slice of toast, some cereal and a little bit of honey mixed in. Still my stomach craves more! So I had a cup of soup! Hopefully that’ll make me feel better. Either way, I’m still going to make some dinner tonight. Maybe a sandwich or some type of rice mix. I think these things happen to everyone sometimes. It doesn’t bother me that I keep eating, but I’m just curious why.

Here’s one theory…I’m thinking is that for some reason my morning breakfast sandwich just threw things out of whack. When I start the morning with yogurt, that ties me over until at least 11, when I have my first snack.

Maybe it was the cold that got me so hungry? It was 0 degrees in Chicago today. On my ride home, it bumped up 10 degrees, but that’s still pretty bad.

I’m hthinking about getting a gym membership at my local YMCA. It’s only 5 minutes from my house, and I think the price is somewhere between $45-50 per month. They have a ton of equipment there! I’m planning on checking it out with a friend soon. We’ll see what happens.

Do you ever have one of those day where you keep snacking and nothing seems to fill you up? How are you staying warm tonight (if the temperature by you is as bad as it is in Chicago)? Do you think $45-50 per month is reasonable for a gym?

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, lunch, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Stick to What You Know

  1. Maryann says:

    Yes! I definitely have those days…i hope this isnt TMI but I find theyre usually around that time of the month, if you know what im sayin’ ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll probably be less hungry tomorrow, it will all even out!

    I actually think $45-50 is pretty pricey, at least compared to what I pay. Is there a 24 hour fitness by you? Memberships are usually $25-30 and they have great group exercise classes like the famous BodyPump! I’m sure the Y would be great too though!

  2. Katy says:

    I have one of those snacking pretty much every day of my life. I think it’s so bad because I work 12 very boring hours at work. I am totally guilty of being a boredom snacker. I’m going on day 4 of candy sobriety, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    At least what you’re snacking on is healthy! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think joining a gym is a great idea. I LOVE gyms. I know they are pricey, but they make you want to go and work out. I just enjoy going to a gym, even if I don’t do every single one of my workouts there. I agree with 24 hour, though, if there is one near you. The classes are free (at least they were in HI) if you have a membership. And their equipment is top-notch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I was just going mention 24 hours fitness to you as well but Maryann beat me to it!
    That Rice concoction for lunch looks so good! I love anything with grains and veggies.

  4. Stefanie says:

    I was like that yesterday-I literally ate all day long and I still wasn’t satisfied! I definitely have those days every once in a while!

    $45-50 sounds pretty pricey, but it really depends on what they offer. If they have cool classes, newish machines, and great facilities then it might be worth it!

    Have a great night! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. cbrady3 says:

    Definitely have those days – today is kinda one of them! I tend to get really snacky on Fridays but try to just honor my hunger with healthy snacks instead of being miserable – just like you!
    Also I tagged you with the Stylish Blogger Award – read my post and then fill it our yourself!

  6. For my family, $45-50 would be lovely (we currently pay double that). Is that just for a one person membership?

    Yes, I do have those days. I figure those happen when my body is craving something, and I’m not in-tune enough to know exactly what it wants.

  7. My 24 hour fitness membership is $60 a month!! Um, clearly I’m getting ripped off?

  8. i totally have those days and its just imporant to eat protein filled healthy snacks, but listen to your body and eat! I always think a filling breakfast is the way to go.. ihave a big bowl of oats every morning probably around 500calories.. but its m biggest meal of the day and keeps me full until my mid morning snack!

  9. I think $45 is somewhat high, depending on what they offer. However, the proximity is appealing. It may be worth an extra few dollars per month to have it just five minutes away.

  10. OMG – it’s COLD there! I definitely have days on occasion when I can’t get “full!” I try to up my water-intake, which helps to some extent (more than you’d think).
    $50 for a gym is a little on the steep side (especially just a YMCA) – but sometimes you pay for convenience. 5 minutes from the house is pretty much as good as you can hope for. And if they have everything you’re interested in, then go for it!

  11. I think everyone has those kind of days!!! There’s days when nothing will fill up, but days where I’m full very quickly. I think it’s some sort of balancing act!!

  12. That sounds like a reasonable price for a monthly membership. My husband and I pay less than that, but its because we payed a big downpayment.
    I live just a little south of you in Indy and it’s COLD here as well. Lots of snow still on the ground. I’m comfy under an electric blanket though!

  13. Kat says:

    Ive never been a member of a gym so I cant really help you with that one ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have a bunch of hand weights as well as a kettlbell and a treadmill. I like getting my workout in in the comfort of my own home, and its free!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Cant wait for football tomorrow!

  14. I definitely have those days. For me it’s most often the day after a hard workout. Also sometimes if I didn’t sleep well the night before, I’m really snacky the next day. I’m the same way about breakfast- when I try to eat something other than what I always eat, I’m out of wack. Especially if I just eat cereal- no staying power at all!

  15. It’s so unpredictable-i’ll go forever without being hungry and other days I just can’t be stopped!!!!!! I blame it on pms-3 weeks out of the month the week before, during, and after, ha!

Leave a Reply

