Almost the Weekend!

I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t pumped for the weekend! There are a ton of awesome things going on, and I’m excited to get some cardio in on Saturday. Both of my knees felt fine again today, and I was so tempted to jump on the elliptical after work. But I told myself no (and I actually listened!) and did some abs and arms again. Just a couple more days of ice and resting and then I’ll hopefully be back to normal. I found this quote, and it fits perectly for my injury experience:

β€œThe secret of patience is doing something else in the meanwhile” – Unknown

Before my workout

Yes, I am as pale as a ghost, I know. But I refuse to go fake tanning. Yuck. Now you might not think my paleness is too bad, but when you compare it to this, maybe you’ll understand.

That’s how I tan I get. I haven’t been on a real vacation to somewhere warm since the summer of 2009. So long ago!

But I digress back to my weekend plans. Paul and a couple of his friends are visiting ISU this weekend. That means a full-on girls weekend! Tomorrow is one of my best friend’s birthdays, and I think we’re either going to the movies or we’re going to rent a movie. Either way, I’m pumped. Girls nights are my fave!

We’re probably going to hit up the local bar, The Snuggery, on Saturday. I want to try to get in 15 minutes on the elliptical or 1 mile on the treadmill. I don’t want to get back into things too quickly. Slow and steady will win this injury race!

Sunday = Bears vs. Packers = The game of a lifetime = What determines my happiness for the next 3 months! Not sure what I’m doing for the game yet. If Paul is back, we’ll probably be together, but if he’s gone, I’m either going to invite friends over to watch it at my house, or if I’m feeling lazy, I’ll watch it with the fam. Nothing like some good old football with my parents and siblings πŸ™‚

Now I’m off to watch the second half of the Bulls game. Derrick Rose: Too big, too fast, too strong, too good!

Do you think it’s better for my knee to do 15 minutes on the elliptical or 1 mile jog on the treadmill? Are you doing anything exciting this weekend? Will you be watching the football games?


This entry was posted in chicago bears, family, fitness, friends, injuries, Me, working out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Almost the Weekend!

  1. Katy says:

    i would start with the elliptical, and see how that feels first. Less impact. πŸ™‚

    Holy cow, you get tan! I’m SUPER pale. Lol. I can get a light brown color if I work really hard at it, but it takes time and dedication! Haha.

    Your workout picture is super cute! πŸ™‚ Yeah I’m excited about the half, and since it’s a little less than a year away, I feel I’ll have plenty of time to train beforehand without pushing myself too hard! I’m super excited.

    I love 5Ks. They are super fun, and just the right distance! Haha. I’ll be rooting for the Bears this weekend! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow – what a huge difference! Not that you look super pale right now, but seeing how dark you get I can see how that’s “super pale” for you, lol. I have no idea about your knee – my gut intuition says the elliptical would be better, but I really don’t know.

  3. enjoy your girlie weekend! =)

    xoxo

  4. I’d go for the elliptical. Unlike a treadmill, an elliptical puts less stress on your knees. πŸ™‚

  5. Definitely start with the elliptical!

    I’ll definitely be watching the games this weekend… I cant decide who I want in the Super Bowl!

    No exciting weekend plans… I am housesitting so my plans are really going to have to be a last minute decision thing!

    Hope you have fun tomorrow πŸ™‚

  6. Stefanie says:

    I’m so glad your knees feeling better! And have a great girls weekend–sounds like a blast! πŸ™‚

    And kudos for not fake-baking! You look beautiful both ways!

  7. I’m lovin the Stacey King quote at the end LMFAO. Let’s watch the bears together! πŸ™‚ invite paul and his friends idc! I miss you, PS I wanted to tell you today you lookin super slim when you walked in the bathroom, to bad the dang scale wouldnt work but I finally got it!

  8. i think elliptical! so much less stress on your knees!

  9. Elliptical-fo sho!
    I miss being tan too!!!!! Winter kills me-I tend to cheat and hit up mystic though sometimes-shhhhh

  10. Glad to hear your knee is feeling better!! I must admit, I was tanorexix…but do not do beds anymore so I am ADDICTED to fake bake and sunless tan :/

    I VOTE ELLIPTICAL! MUCH less impact on your knees! See how it feels, and if you want to start jogging again, take baby steps. Also, work on strengthening those quad muscles!

  11. I would say elliptical- but if you did a boxing workout you’d get good cardio with almost no knee impact… (I love boxing/ kickboxing workouts)

  12. Girl I know, I feel so pasty and porcelein in the winter! As unhealthy as it is, I love to have a tan, but I never do in these winter months.

    My weekend plans include pure relaxation and a movie date with my girlfriends to see Country Strong!

  13. Hey fellow Bears fan! I just found your blog. πŸ™‚ I hope your knees are doing alright. I don’t know how you injured them so I don’t really want to weigh in on how to get back into your workout routine, but I’m assuming elliptical is the best way to go. WAY less impact on your knees. I look forward to following your blog, into the Google Reader you go! πŸ˜€

  14. I am way more pale then you so don’t feel too bad!! I would do the elliptical because it’s easy on the joints!

  15. Sruthi says:

    I think you should be doing the elliptical, thats less impact. Yes, I will be watching the football games.

  16. Kat says:

    The elliptical will be easier on your knee, and you can be just as intense on an elliptical as you will be on the treadmill!
    I will most DEF be watching the football games this weekend! I am so stoked! I cant wait to see what happens, it only gets better from here!

  17. Geraldine says:

    I’m extremely jealous of your real tan! It’s amazing.

    I have tried, and failed many times to give up fake tanning, but I just keep going back to the bottle. I hate being so pale – bloody Irish genes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

