Breakfast Sandwiches Rule!

I want to thank everyone who wished me a speedy recovery in my last post. It really meant a lot to me…and my knees! Also, thank you to everyone who reassured me that I won’t gain my weight back. Sometimes it’s nice to hear it from other people. It really made me feel better. So after a ton of RICE (rest, ice compression, elevation) yesterday — Thanks Laury — both of my knees felt much better this morning. But I’m not going to fall for it.

Instead of jumping back into cardio, I did Chris Freytag’s 10 Pound Slimdown UPPER BODY after work. Thank goodness, I have Comcast Exercise TV! It was a 25-minute workout with 4 different circuits. Though some of them included jumping jacks and fake jumping, I just did air punches instead. Hopefully, I can get back to the elliptical by Friday or Saturday. But only if I feel no pain in the next couple days. I hope Katy starts to feel better soon too. We’re pretty much in the same injury boat right now.

Icing after my workout

Egg and Swiss Sandwich

Breakfast sandwich on January 18

I had some trouble sleeping last night, and I finally just decided to get up at 6:30 (15 minutes before the usual time). The extra quarter-hour gave me some freedom to be creative with my breakfast, so I ended up with something very different than my usual morning meals.

Egg and cheese!

I toasted a whole-wheat bagel thin, then melted two slices of Swiss cheese on one side, and fried up an egg sunny-side up and added that to the other half.

After that first bite, I knew this little sandwich was a winner. Can’t wait to try it again. I think I’m going to try a different breakfast sandwich tomorrow. Not sure what it’s going to be, but we’ll see if it can top the Egg and Swiss Sandwich.

Lunch

I retreated back to my semi-usual salad for lunch. It was filled with mixed green, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes and orange pepper. Somehow, I forgot the feta cheese!? I don’t know how! I did remember the dressing though. I went for an olive oil vinaigrette.

Angie made her own version of a healthy lasagna last night, so I packed up a slice of that for lunch too. Really hit the spot.

Angie's lasagna

My last little treat for lunch was another fruit bowl filled with steroid blueberries, purple grapes and some fresh melon. It was nice to see some orange in my dessert. It’s been a while..

The In-Between Drizzle

It was raining on my commute home from work today, but it wasn’t bad at all. More of a drizzle, which seems tolerable. But I quickly realized that sometimes that in-between drizzle is worse than a downpour, and here’s why…

The rain was falling in such a way that I couldn’t figure out if I should just leave my windshield wipers off and use them when I needed to, or leave them on lowest level. I kept going back and forth because as soon as I’d turn them off, I’d have to use them, and then when I put the low level back on, it would make that obnoxious squeaking noise after about 10 seconds. Definitely an aggravating ride.

Off to watch the Bulls game now. I’m eating lunch at Subway tomorrow with a friend, and we have another Girl’s Night tomorrow night. If I’m lucky, Paul might stop by after his class tonight. Fingers crossed.

Oh, one more thing…so at work today, one of my co-workers received a vase full of flowers and a little stuffed bear. She was feeling kind of sick today, so her fiancee sent her the gift to cheer her up. How cute is that! Now if I could only hint that to Paul πŸ˜‰

Have you ever tried Comcast Exercise TV or any other type of workout like that? Do you make breakfast sandwiches? Ever experience the in-between drizzle that annoyed me so much today?

This entry was posted in breakfast, fitness, food, friends, injuries, lunch, Me, recipes, work, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Breakfast Sandwiches Rule!

  1. Katy says:

    Awwww, that was so sweet of her fiance! πŸ™‚

    I am also feeling better! And also not falling for it! Hehe. Thanks for all the encouragement. πŸ™‚

    I make a breakfast sandwich EVERY day. It’s super simple, just fried egg and toast. But it is my favorite meal, and I hate when I miss it. Right now I’m working nights…. so it’s my dinner. Lol. All my meals are backwards!

    And yes, I have experienced that drizzle. It drives me up the dang wall! Lol.

  2. LOOOVE breakfast sandwiches! I can’t have them too often or they lose their charm. but weekly… omg they are crack! =) bagel thins… english muffins… rye toast — its all perfect!

    xoxo

    feel better love! my knees are always a wreck! hopefully yours are good as new soon =)

  3. Maryann says:

    I dont have comcast exercise TV but I like the sound of it!

    Your breakfast sandwich looks amazing!! Next time I make one, I need to use the whole egg and not just the white.

    In between drizzle is def annoying..luckly my windshield wipers have a detection thing, so they usually know when to “wipe”, which is helpful.

  4. Hmm I havent had a breakfast sandwich in a LONG time! Maybe I should make one tomorrow πŸ™‚

    I’m sending your dress out tomorrow! Keep resting the knees… Have fun at your girls night! I’m longgg overdue for one of those!

  5. Haha the inbetween drizzle. I can’t wait to make myself one of those breakfast sandwiches! Tag me in the lasagna making! πŸ™‚

  6. My sister loves sandwiches in the morning, but I prefer hot cereal. πŸ™‚ A girl’s got to have her oats. πŸ™‚

  7. I have exercise on demand and have used it when in a pinch! Love bfast sandwiches but have no had one in a while…i’m thinking I need one soon.
    Feel better girl!

  8. alex says:

    I don’t make any breakfast sandwiches..I don’t have enough time….I’d probably make breakfast burritos for the rest of my life if I could!!

  9. Sruthi says:

    I make breakfast sandwiches all the time. Yes, I have experienced that annoying drizzle so many times, I hate the squeaking noise the wipers make.

  10. yummy breakfast sammies! i never have them becuz i cant sacrifice my sweet bowl of oats.. but for lunch- oh yeah!

  11. My husband makes us breakfast sandwhiches a few mornings a week! He uses egg whites, dried chives, sea salt, laughing cow cheese on a sandwich thin, yum!

  12. Kat says:

    Ok, we share a brain. I totally made an egg sandwhich for breakfast this morning too! Gosh it was so amazing, I cant wait to make another one!

  13. That egg sandwich looks really good lol. I hope you do feel better!!! I just came along your blog today! I love it! I am currently TRYING to get into fitness…ugh I am all talk right now haha! πŸ™‚

  14. I’ve done some stuff from FitTV. Overall I think I would rate it as “okay” or “acceptable”….not the best workouts ever (and with commercials they’ll frequently just leave you hanging with nothing going on – but I DVR so I can fast-forward), but they’re convenient since they’re in-home & I like them to mix up my normal routines!

  15. Pingback: Stick to What You Know | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

