Just Another Manic Monday…

It’s definitely been kind of a crazy Monday. The weather’s been pretty crappy in Chicago (lots of freezing rain), and my knees are still in a lot of pain. As much as I want to just mope, I’m not going to let myself get depressed. I’m going to use this “no-treadmill” time to work on my arms, abs and to basically get back to reading. The only thing I’m kind of worried about is this. If I’m not doing cardio, will I end up gaining back the weight that I lost in the last few months?

I’m just going to really focus on eating well, and trying to be positive. I’ve been icing my knees, resting and keeping them relatively elevated. I’m going to try to be optimistic. There is no way I’m going to be injured for 6 months, like I was last time. I’m going to do everything in my power to take care of my knees, and force myself to stay off the treadmill. Wish me luck! I need it.

Lunch

I had a delicious veggie and quinoa plate today.

Lunch on January 17

Mixed in here is cooked quinoa, chopped yellow bell pepper, chopped zuchinni, chopped cherry tomatoes, green olives, cranberries and medium salsa. This little bowl was delicious, and actually kept me pretty full…for a couple hours. 🙂

My fruit kick for the day!

These blueberries were on some serious gorilla juice-head steroids. They were the same size as the grapes. The pear was perfect too!! Definitely one of the best fruit treats I’ve had in a while.

Sorry about this horrible quality. Don’t really know what happened. But I am obsessed with cottage cheese. I have been since I was a little kid. Another great addition to today’s lunch!

One other thing. Thank you so much to Alyssa from Fashion Fitness Foodie! I ended up winning the giveaway she had on her blog for this amazingly gorgeous dress. I’ll definitely snap a few photos once I get it!

Jersey Shore was also hilarious tonight. I’m glad Sam finally apologized to Snooki, but I really wish her and Ronnie would just end this horrible relationship they have.

Now, it’s time to decompress, ice my knees some more and get some reading in. I’m still not very far in The Snow Queen yet.

How’s your Monday going? Any tips for not moping around while I get over this injury? Did you catch Jersey Shore tonight?

This entry was posted in fitness, food, injuries, lunch, television and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Just Another Manic Monday…

  1. ughhh sam and ronnie tick me off. There is no way they should be together. ever.

    love me some snookie though =) ahaha the whole show is a train wreck!

  2. Katy says:

    Awwww, I really hope your leg gets better! I think it’s a good idea to stay off the treadmill, no matter how tough it is!

    And your fruit bowl made me super jealous. I LOVE making fruit cocktails and using it as a snack. Yum.

  3. Maryann says:

    I love cottage cheese!!! Could never live without it 🙂 gah im so excited for Jersey Shore! It hasn’t aired here yet..I always feel so behind the blog world!

    Have you tried the elyptical or stationary bike yet? When I injured my knee I found that those didn’t hurt it. Or if you dont have a gym membership, you could always try to add half hour speed walks to your day or something?

  4. kbwood says:

    oohh LOVE cottage cheese! soo good! hope your leg feels better lovely!

  5. I am hoping to send the dress out by Wednesday!! We just got tons of freezing rain (ugh!) and i’m hoping its not to messy tomorrow. I hope your knee feels better. You wont gain the weight back because you aren’t running… There are still other ways to get your heart rate pumping and calories burned. Have you ever done pilates? The elliptical always helps when I have pain as well! I am so behind on Jersey Shore – I really need to catch up!!

  6. Stefanie says:

    Good luck girl–you won’t gain back the weight, just do some strength training and you will be just fine!! 🙂

    Your quinoa bowl looks so yummy! That will be included in my lunch tomorrow!

  7. Good luck with the knees soph, Loved watching Jshore with you tonight

  8. Katy says:

    Heck yeah we can get through this! 🙂 Injuries are no fun, but it helps to know you have friends supporting you. 🙂

  9. alex says:

    hope your legs start to feeling better!!

    I don’t watch Jersey Shore but the stuff I hear about….is ridiculous!

  10. I didn’t watch it yet-shhhh…DVR’d!
    I love quinoa and have been neglecting it-why?!
    Hope you feel better ASAP!

  11. i havent watched it yet!! i thought it was thurs.. why on monday now?? so confused!! and YAY for cot cheese. I LOVE IT SO MUCH!

  12. Sruthi says:

    Hope your knee feels better.

  13. Sorry about your injury. It sounds like you’ve got a good plan worked out. I hope it heals quickly. I had a great Monday because I got to spend time with my nephew who I don’t see very often.

  14. Hope you’re injury heals quickly! I always think it helps not to focus on the # on the scale. If you’re building muscle mass, chances are that you might see a slight influx in your weight, but it’s a good thing! If you can take other measurements (like BMI or % body fat) I’m sure that’ll help!

  15. Kat says:

    You will NOT gain the weight back. As long as you are eating well and still staying active you will be fine. You dont need to do intense cardio to maintain weight as long as you make smart choices. Take care of your body and it will take care of you 🙂

  16. grace says:

    yum! looks so healthy!

  17. Good luck on rehabilitating your knees! You’ll thank yourself later if you take care of them now. It’s so hard to be patient and let things heal like they need to. It sounds like you have a very balanced approach to it though, including the eating healthy thing!

    I don’t watch Jersey Shore…but everyone talks about it so maybe I should start!

  18. Kayla says:

    So sorry about your knee! My knees hurt when I run so instead I ride my bike, but not the stationary bikes! They’re too boring!

  19. keribop says:

    Awww, I’m sorry to hear about the injury. It definitely takes some willpower to keep from running… you’ve got positive good luck coming from here but I don’t think you’ll need it…I believe in you! 😀

    The veggie/quinoa looks fab and alas, I STILL haven’t caught up on any of the Jersey Shore episodes! Haha, sounds like I definitely need to though.

  20. JFlo says:

    I can’t believe we get 2 episodes of Jersey Shore this week! AHHHHHHHHHH (that was Snooki’s scream). Sammi- please leave, you are so boring and all you do is sit and think all day about ways you can be mad at Ronnie…

    Your quinoa looks yummy, I need to make some soon! Gluten free Goddess has some awesome looking Quinoa too: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2011/01/quinoa-salad-with-roasted-beets-chick.html. She makes it in her rice cooker. I need a rice cooker!

    Abs are great to work on. Do you have a gym membership? You could do some yoga or piyo classes. Even cycling is not hard on the knees.

  21. I hope you get better soon! Good luck with the rest to make them better!

    Your quinoa and veggies looks awesome and there is nothing better than delicious fruit!

  22. Pingback: Breakfast Sandwiches Rule! | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

