Scrabble Champ!

Our game!

Although we haven’t played Scrabble in at least a year, Paul and I decided to take the dusty game out and play. Long story short, I won! It was really close though: 236 to 233. I’m sure if we play again, Paul will probably beat me. Here are some pics from the game.

He thought he was #1..

But that was really me!

I also forgot to post my snack plate picture from Friday, so here it is:

Yellow bell pepper, Wheat Thins, green olives, salsa, zucchini, sun-dried tomatoes and black beans. Next time, instead of eating them all separately, I’m going to make a snack bowl. So many bloggers say that food always tastes better out of bowl, so I’ll have to put that to the test!

Avgolemono soup

My mom made the family some avgolemono (egg lemon soup) today, and it hit the spot on a cold day. YUM!

On to the bad news, after my treadmill workout on Friday, my knees felt pretty bad. I’ve decided I’m staying off the treadmill for a while and I’m going to ice them. It’s really depressing, but I don’t want things to get worse. I’ll just have to find some other ways to get a good workout. I’m also not sure if I should even risk trying the elliptical.

If you have any workout ideas that I can easily do, please let me know. Are a Scrabble player? What’s your favorite board game?

This entry was posted in food, friends, lunch, Me, snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Scrabble Champ!

  1. whoohooo congrats! I love looking at your snack plates! =) so random and fun!

  2. Stefanie says:

    I love scrabble! Adam got scrabble flash for Christmas and it is so addicting!

    You should try kickboxing/punches. It’s a great way to get your heart rate up without too much stress on your knees. Swimming is also a great workout without any impact at all. Good luck girl! Staying off your knee is the right decision! All too often people end up being injured even worse when they don’t take time off to rest. Keep your head up!! πŸ™‚

  3. Katy says:

    Awww, I’m so sorry about your knee. I know how you feel, I had the same issue with my thigh, and was even afraid to try the elliptical at first. I definitely recommend swimming! I hope it heals quickly!

    Your scrabble pictures are adorable! Looks like y’all had fun!

  4. I no sorry to hear about the knee! It’s good that you’re being smart and resting it though!

    I played scrabble with the bf two days ago actually…I won because he gave me a couple words and let me get away with “OJ” and “LOL” haha! Other than that, I always lose. To my defense, he was an English major!

  5. sorry about your knee! rest will pay off though!! i SUCK at scrabble ahhaha its terrrible… and i loveyour snack plate! little bites of dif things are the BEST

  6. Scrabble is fun, and it’s funnier seeing the words people come up with, especially when you’re in a jam! My old favorite game was candy land, as a joke we pulled it out a couple months ago, finished in 7 min and tried to figure out why we loved it so much as kids!

  7. Got to love the avgolemono! πŸ™‚

  8. alex says:

    ever play Words With Friends?? I get my daily scrabble fix with that!! lol

    Sorry about your knee…sure do hope it gets to feeling better

  9. HA!!!! Michael and I are OBSESSED with Scrabble. Although, he is FREAKISHLY good at it. I have no chance. We own the board game…but play online a lot. Our latest obsession is Scrabble Cubes on games.com. We also love Scrabble Blast. So fun!!!!

    What a bummer about your knee!! RICE (rest, ice compression, elevation) it, girl! The treadmill is evil. SOOO bad for the knees. I would let it heal, ice for a few days. Just do upper body in the gym. See how it feels. Then try the elliptical and some low impact stuff. Stay away from the leg extension machine. Worst exercise for your knee caps. You want to find exercises to strengthen to 4 muscles of the quads. This is a great one here that hits a muscle that people do not usually work…which gets weak and leads to knee issues:
    http://www.thefitnessdish.com/?p=2056
    (scroll to bottom of post for exercise)
    Do it higher off the ground if you feel anything in your back.

    There’s my free PT advice for the day πŸ˜‰
    Feel better!

  10. I myself love Bananagrams. Have you heard of them?

  11. cbrady3 says:

    I know that spinning is actually supposed to be good for your knees…you could try that? It’s a good way to still get a great cardio work out

Leave a Reply

