First Time for Pilates = Success!

I tried Pilates for the first time today! Granted it was only a 20-minute session, but it made me realize how nice it is to have something new. I had gotten to the point where I literally memorized everything Denise Austin would say in Yoga Buns, some of which is so corny:

“Let me see that smiling face!”

“That’s what yoga does, it stretched the body, stretches and strengthens”

“Squeeze that tushy. If you don’t, nobody else will.”

My sister bought me Pilates Core Challenge with Ana Caban for Christmas. It comes with a 20-minute workout and a 40-minute one. I didn’t want to rush into the longer one, mostly because I really didn’t know what Pilates is. But just the fact that the DVD cover mentioned core got me pumped. My yoga DVD is all about the bottom half; it’s time to get the tummy area involved too.

Also, as a side note, my knee wasn’t in any pain today. Rather than rush getting back to the treadmill, I took another day off of cardio. I just don’t want to risk anything so soon.

Back to the Pilates. Overall, I thought the video moved along nicely. I didn’t get bored, but I also didn’t feel lost. I felt like my abs got a decent workout for it only being 20 minutes, and I’m kind of excited to try the longer routine. Also, I like the fact that Ana did the exercises, but also had a voice-over explaining the moves. If my knee feels good tomorrow, I want to get on the treadmill, but Pilates are moving in on the weekend for sure!

Breakfast

Greek yogurt with pomegranate seeds and cacao nibs

Yes, I’m obsessed with Greek yogurt. But this morning, I tried something a little different. Instead of the normal honey or cinnamon as a mixer, I added pomegranate seeds and Navitas Organic Cacao Nibs. I loved mixing all these textures together. While the honey and cinnamon are both relatively smooth, the seeds and nibs are the opposite. Can’t wait to try this one again.

Lunch

A nice change!

Everyone always seems to be talking about almond butter and apple butter, so I finally gave in and tried out the latter. On my wheat bagel thin, I have apple butter and raspberry preserves.

Can you tell which is which?

I chopped up a red bell pepper for the side, along with my remaining sun-dried tomatoes. I need to get some more of these things! For sweetness, I also have a tiny apple and grape snack. But it just didn’t cut it today. I started getting hungry really early, and thankfully I have a ton of snacks at work. I also had a cottage cheese pack, veggie chips and the last of my dried plums (prunes!).

Lunch on January 12

Baby Shower

I’m already thinking about this weekend, and even though I don’t have too much going on, I do have a baby shower. Paul’s oldest brother and his girlfriend are having a boy in February. I always have a field day when I go to Babies R Us, probably because I get to shop for a baby that isn’t mind. Just printing out the registry list and walking around (especially in the clothing section) is a ton of fun. Here’s what I got:

I guess the theme they’re going for is dogs because the two blankets they were registered for were puppy-related. When I saw this little Bears onesie, I had to get it! There’s a bib and a little pair of booties too. Can’t wait to see all the other presents on Saturday!

Have you ever tried Pilates? What did you think of it? What’s your favorite Greek yogurt mix-in? Thoughts on apple butter?

This entry was posted in breakfast, chicago bears, fitness, food, lunch, Me, working out and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to First Time for Pilates = Success!

  1. Katy says:

    I LOVE pilates! My best friend and I do the home videos together. It’s always so much fun!

    I have never had Greek yogurt… I know, that’s like a sin. I will definitely pick some up AS SOON as I am back in the states. πŸ™‚

  2. I have got to choose a workout vid already! everyone keeps telling me either tracy anderson or jillian michaels… which is your all time fav? i’m going to end up buying all of them and flat broke with flat abs aren’t I? haha

  3. Maryann says:

    I have never tried pilates but want to soon!

    I don’t usually put stuff into greek yogurt, but put onto stuff, ya know πŸ™‚

    I have never tried apple butter! I love the reading health food blogs because I honestly learn about something new everyday!

  4. It might sound weird but I love lots of cinnamon in my greek yogurt. Berries are always good too. (:

  5. i went to a pilates class once and really enjoyed it! its more intense than yoga, which i like.. but i need to work on my flexibility!.. fav greek yogurt mix in is almond butter!

  6. alex says:

    I tried pilates… I am just not a pilates gal. I have never tried apple butter…i’d love to though!

  7. Love pilates-and forcing myself to 2x a week now:) I used to go 4-5x and then was over it (I obsess about things too quickly!)
    Love apple butter, I want to make it myself!

  8. Sruthi says:

    I went to a pilates class and really enjoyed it, I do it at home once in a while now, but I personally feel its more fun in a group than all by myself.

  9. Stefanie says:

    That’s the exact same apple butter I have! It’s good, right? πŸ™‚ I also love putting it on top of oats with almond butter and banana!

    Lately, I’ve been loving savory Greek yogurt–instead of sweet. Greek yogurt on top of a sweet potato is so good!

    I’m glad your knee is feeling better!! πŸ™‚

  10. keribop says:

    I’ve always wanted to try out pilates but have been intimidated by it for some reason! And apple butter IN greek yogurt is pretty fantastical πŸ˜€

  11. Kat says:

    I need a pilates dvd!! I used to do it, but the videos I have are vhs lol Old school stuff. I love apple butter but I must say that my homemade pumpkin butter is THE best. The flavors and spices are just incredible!

  12. Kayla says:

    Pomegranate seeds and nibs are the best on yogurt! I really want to get a Pilates video too! I didn’t even know how you pronounced it until recently. I always thought it was PILOTS not PI-LAH-TEES. Haha!

  13. Yey!!! I am so glad you tried Pilates!!! It’s my FAVORITE!! Oh, how i miss it 😦

    LOVE the baby clothes!! I can’t wait for my shower! Have fun!

  14. I’ve yet to find the cacao nibs!!! I do some pilates videos on demand but havent been able to take a class yet..jealous.

    I LOVE baby showers πŸ™‚ Cute stuff.

    I tagged you in my blog.

Leave a Reply

