A Kashi Lunch and A Pita Wrap

Lunch was actually really good today. I wasn’t sure if I’d like the Kashi Chicken Pasta Pomodoro lunch but it hit the spot, mostly because it was steaming. It was horrible all morning and afternoon in the Chicagoland area. We’ve been hit with a ton of snow, so having a warm lunch as opposed to a cold sandwich was definitely comforting. Here’s what you’ll find in this frozen Kashi dinner, courtesy of the Web site: “Chicken and roasted vegetables over whole grain pasta and topped with fresh tomato garlic basil sauce, parmesan cheese and Kashi® 7 Whole Grain Flakes.”

Lunch on January 11

I’m thinking I might have to add this frozen lunch to the rotation. On the side, I had a spinach salad mixed with chopped zucchini, sun dried tomatoes, chopped yellow peppers, feta and a balsamic vinaigrette. Cottage cheese also gave me some much-needed cheese! Cheese is my favorite food out there. Give me any type and in any form, and I will devour it!

Workout

When I woke up this morning, my left knee had a small ache in it, which really freaked me out. A couple of years ago, I tried to really get back into working out, but I did too much, too quickly, and ended up with tendinitis in my right knee for several months. I couldn’t get on the treadmill or the elliptical, so I basically gave up on fitness.

Having knee pain immediately scared me today, so I didn’t want to get on the treadmill or elliptical. It definitely stinks because I really enjoyed yesterday’s challenging workout. Instead, I did my 30-minute yoga DVD. I know well enough not to much too much stress on my knee. Injuring it would be the worst possible thing right now, so if it needs a break, I’ll deal with it.

If I’m still feeling some pain tomorrow, I might try my new pilates DVD and just do my arm workout. Fingers crossed that the pain will be gone!

Snow

I’d rather be in a torrential downpour then take one step in snow. Too bad, we never seem to get a choice. This morning, my commute went from a normal 30 minutes to 45, and it was pretty dangerous on the roads. People were driving slow, which was great, but the roads weren’t as clear as they should have been. The evening commute was much better, but still about 50 minutes. Yuck!

SNOW!

Pita Wrap

While I’m not officially in on Stefanie of The New Healthy’s Lunch Box Wrap Challenge, I was feeling a little creative when I finished yoga this evening. I created a sort-of wrap, but to be honest, it kind of fell apart. Nevertheless, it was still delicious and really filling.

Pita Wrap

So what we have here is a toasted whole wheat pita toasted, filled with Roasted Red Pepper Laughing Cow Cheese, spinach, yellow peppers, green peppers and sun-dried tomatoes.

Ingredients

I thought I’d be able to stuff the pitas without a problem. Stef always makes her snack wraps look so nice!! Maybe I should have used a tortilla. Hm… Anyway, this is what the two of them ended up looking like.

I’d say that’s an A for taste and a C for presentation! I really need to get better at this stuff!

How’s the weather where you are? What’s the worst fitness injury you’ve had to deal with? Are you part of The New Healthy’s Lunch Box Challenge?

This entry was posted in dinner, food, lunch, Me, running, snacks, work, working out, yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Kashi Lunch and A Pita Wrap

  1. I’ve never had a fitness injury – thank god!! I hope you feel better tomorrow 🙂

    We are finally getting the snow they’ve been promising… I’m sure I’ll be over it when I still have to work tomorrow morning.

    I am not part of the challenge but it looks so fun! Maybe I will make one for lunch tomorrow just because!

    Glad you liked the Kashi lunch… I still need to try my pizza I’ve had in the freezer!

  2. Kat says:

    Im sorry to hear about your knee pain! I have had several injuries but have never done well with the “resting” bit (check my post today for details lol) If there is one thing that I wish I had done it would be to TAKE CARE OF MY BODY. You only get one, so treat it right!! Instead of running maybe do some incline walking or biking. If you have access to a pool thats even better!!

  3. Crumbly or not… it looks delicious! =) you should have seen me eating about-to-fall-apart sushi with my hands this afternoon… Now that was a hot mess! 😉

  4. Katy says:

    Awww, I hope your knee feels better! I know how much an injury sucks, especially when you find something you enjoy. I have a problem pushing myself too much too quickly, and getting hurt. Then giving up as well. But not this time!

    I think your Pilates idea is great! 🙂 I love doing Pilates videos with my best friend. We have so much fun!

  5. Maryann says:

    That always happens to me when I try to stuff pitas! I think its cuz I stuff them too much, they need to be stronger 🙂

    It’s smart that you took it easy today instead risking making your knee worse. I’ve been pretty lucky in my day, with few injuries. That is until I started running last year and got them left and right. I’m hoping a long break from the pavement will do the trick!

  6. Injury’s suck Soph Hope your better by tomorrow! 🙂
    Love you

  7. Stefanie says:

    I seriously love you! You always make my day with your sweet compliments! 🙂

    I have been using La Tortilla Factory wraps for all my lunches in the challenge. They are really soft and roll up super nice! Also, I put a bit of whatever condiment I’m using on the last part of the wrap as a sort of glue to hold it all together. Works like a charm!

    Yoga is an awesome option when you’re having any sort of knee pain.

    We’re pretty much in the same area and we have the same crappy weather! yuck!

  8. alex says:

    I only ever want snow if it is before christmas…after that I don’t want to see a drop. Texas normally doesn’t get snow so i am pretty lucky. hope it melts soon.

  9. I hope your knee feels better:) I know how tedious it is to have knee pain!!! And it def puts a nix on the exercise-good improvising with the yoga though, it was prob much needed!
    I love pitas when they stay stuffed!!!! I get so frustrated when they crumble!

  10. YES i am doin the lunchbox challenge! its so fun to make up new lunch recipes!

  11. Sruthi says:

    Hope your knee feels better. Even i had a knee injury few months ago. Yes, we are having the same crappy weather, we were snowed in.

  12. Usually I’m not a big fan of frozen entrees, but I’ve had a couple from kashi before and I think they’re really good! Your wrap looks awesome too, I love the bright colors. (:

  13. I haven’t had a pita in a while….I am feeling the need to get back on my kick! We got about 5 inches of annoying snow last night. Enough to ruin my morning of work, lose money on cancellations =, and make me cold. Luckily my hubby got up very early to clean my car, so I didn’t have to 🙂

  14. Kayla says:

    I’m usually not one for frozen meals, but I have to say, I would definitely go for that one!

    I get knee pains which makes it really hard for me to do strenuous amounts of running. I don’t even know where it’s from but it keeps me from doing more running! 😦 I hope you knee gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

