Eating Mexican

I woke up pretty groggy this morning, and the blame falls solely on Jersey Shore. Paul had a couple of his friends over to watch the premiere, and since most of my friends were either with their bfs or busy, I went over there too. By the way, I think it’s hilarious that even guys like this show! I made myself a cocktail of cherry vodka and Sprite Zero, and despite fact that I only had one (I was driving), I still woke up super tired this morning. Lesson learned? Drinking on work nights is a no-no. Oh, and Jersey Shore was fabulous. This show is so funny!

The morning at work flew by. I had a couple projects I needed to complete and a ton of emails to respond to, and before I knew it, it was time for lunch. We went out today for what was supposed to be Burgers and Beer.

But I was feeling a little guilty after the drink yesterday, so my meal ended up being quesadillas, waffle fries and water! Unfortunately for me, one of my co-worked knew the manager of the restaurant so they gave us free buffalo fried pickles and breaded baked pickles. I really don’t like pickles at all, but these little guys were addictive. Definitely had a couple more than I should have. Sorry I didn’t take any pictures. I’m really embarrassed to take pics in front of my co-workers!

Anyway, weather here in Chicago is getting kind of ugly. It was flurrying with snow that will stick during the entire drive home from work, making my normal 35/40 minute drive a 50-minute one. Horrible. Some friends were going to go out to the bars tonight, but now that the weather is stinking and because of the fact that most of them don’t even plan to get there until 11 pm, Paul and I are going to pass. I’m hoping for a movie night!

Mexican Corn and Black Bean Salad

My dinner was a real winner tonight. I’ve been thinking a lot about some of the meals I’ve seen some of my fave bloggers (check out my blog roll on the right sidebar) and a lot of them make these yummy looking salads topped with either salsa, hummus or yogurt. I tried something kind of like that tonight.

In my little concoction you’ll find cooked corn and black beans, raw cherry tomatoes and zucchini, all topped with a medium salsa. Delicious! This one is going to be made again soon.

I also got 2 miles in on the treadmill right after work. It’s not much, but it’s more than I usually do on a Friday.

Tomorrow’s going to be really busy. Hopefully, I can wake up kind of early to get a workout in before I rush to get my eyebrows done at 11. Then I have to drive 40 minutes to meet Paul’s brother’s fiance to look at bridesmaid dresses. They invited me to be part of the wedding party, and it’s my first time being a bridesmaid!

Have a fun Friday!

Have you ever tried fried pickles? Ever just stumble into a meal you ended up falling in love with? What was your first experience as a bridesmaid like?

This entry was posted in dinner, food, Me, television, working out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eating Mexican

  1. Katy says:

    I’m not really a fan of pickles. But I love cucumbers!!!

    I was a bridesmaid in my girlfriends wedding in 2004 for my first time. Now, she’s going to be one in mine! It was super fun, and pretty fancy. She also took mercy on us, and had really pretty dresses!

  2. Stefanie says:

    Your salad looks amazing! I need to start adding corn to my veggie bowls–I always overlook it!

    My first experience as a bridesmaid was so fun! It was actually the first wedding I had gone to (besides as a child)–so it was unknown territory to me. The bride was (and still is) my best friend-so it was awesome to be a part of her special day!

    Have a great night girl! 🙂

  3. maryannb5 says:

    I watched last night’s Jersey Shore episode twice! haha. The salad looks soooo good! I agree with Stefanie, I always overlook corn.

    I have never been a bridesmaid or had fried pickles but I hope to do both soon 🙂

  4. Can you believe i haven’t watched Jersey Shore yet!? Ugh, need to get on it!
    I love fried pickles… Hooters has the best 🙂
    Your salad looks good! I had a similar one for lunch!
    I need my eyebrows waxed sooo bad and everytime I call my girl is out. Hello uni-brow.
    Good luck with the bridesmaid dress fitting tomorrow – I’m going to a bridal expo on Sunday with a girlfriend…I love weddings!!

  5. wahtttt i need to try fried pickles! i dont usually like fried things.. but pickles sound great! ahh your salad looks amazing.. im thinking I’m going to have something similar tonight!

  6. I finally watched Jersey Shore last night…omg….out of control 😉

    The first time I was ever a bridesmaid I was matron of honor, and it was great! My BFF let us pick our own dresses and the whole experience was a blast! I am kind of a control freak so being a bridesmaid could make me anxious. You never know what the bride is going to ask you to do, LOL.

    Never had fried pickles. Never even heard of them!

  7. Kat says:

    Nope I HATE pickles. My hubby loves them though!!
    I was actually the maid of honor when my stepmom and dad got married. I was only 8, so obviously I didnt do all the moh traditions, but I felt pretty special 🙂
    I was a bridesmaid in my sisters wedding and wass TERRIFIED. Again I was only 10 so I obviously did not really fit in with her 20 something year old friends, but I was glad to be in it and got to wear a pretty dress 🙂

  8. wow that burger place sounds really good – waffle fries are my favorite 🙂

    awesome run girl!

  9. I’m not a fan of pickles so have never tried fried ones!-sounds funky but i know people love them. I’m still waiting to watch Jersey Shore bc I told W I would wait for him-ughhhh i’m dying!

  10. Katelyn says:

    Ahh I LOVE Mexican food! Slash yes, I have had fried pickles and they were so good! After the first one though I had to stop, too much fried food for this girl:)

  11. keribop says:

    Hmm, never had fried pickles before but the idea DOES sound quite delicious… whenever I hear it though I always think of Snooki! Hahaha. Accident meals are the best! I made a cold pasta salad once that was a bunch of vegetables topped with balsamic. It came out of nowhere but now it’s one of my favs! And yaaaay for being a bridesmaid! I was the maid-of-honor in my sister’s wedding and it’s definitely an interesting/super awesome experience. Have fun shopping for dresses… hope you find a winner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

