Work Out with a Friend

It’s not often that I work out with someone else. I don’t go to a gym, and I’m so thankful that my parents have invested in a treadmill and an elliptical. They’re both more than five years old, but they get the job done!

Denise Austin Yoga Buns

(source)

Today, I was really in the mood for some yoga. I invited one of my friends over, and she said yes! Woo! She’s never tried my Yoga Buns DVD before, so I made sure to give her fair warning that her butt would definitely be sore tomorrow. She was game, so we went for it.

Thirty minutes later, I felt amazing. The burn was still there, but it wasn’t like it had always been. This makes me think that all the cardio I’ve been doing and weights has been paying off. It also means that I need a new DVD. My friend, on the other hand, was pretty pooped. But she loved it!

After the yoga, I got my butt on the treadmill and ran a mile and then did 2 sets of my arm workout.

Ready for yoga!

I know, I’m so lame. But I wanted to get some type of a photo for this post. Don’t think I’m a tool, please! No more solo pics of me, I promise! But this actually brings up a good point.

I have a ridiculous amount of baby hair, so I can’t work out at all unless I have a headband. For Christmas, my sister bought me a bunch of colorful headbands. This has prompted me to try to match my workout outfit with my headband, just like in the pic. Kind of a random or funny thing: one of my guy friends way back in high school called my baby hair, my wings. They would always stick out in random places, and for some reason, I didn’t hair-spray them. He’d always tell me that I was going to fly away one day. Haha!

Lunch

Paul goes back to school next week, so he came up to meet me for lunch today. We went to Go Roma, which is literally two minutes away from my office. But I was so swept in finally getting to see my boyfriend during the day that I forgot to take picture of my meal. I’ll just have to tell you instead. I went for the Go For 2, which is probably the best invention in restaurant history!

My first choice was the Pear & Walnut Salad, which is comprised of baby greens, pear, goat cheese, grape tomatoes, seasoned walnuts and dried cranberries. I had the balsamic vinaigrette on the side. My other choice was the signature cheese pizza on wheat crust. The meal was delicious! Pear and walnut salads have to be the best salads out there. And pizza is THE BOMB! Yes, I just said that.

Probably not the healthiest combo, but everyone get to cheat once in a while. I’ll admit, I did feel a little guilty when I saw the pizza. Instead of eating all four pieces, I just ate three and let Paul have the last one.

How I Met Your Mother

Paul and I have been really getting into the show How I Met Your Mother in the past couple weeks, and there are a couple of hilarious lines we heard recently.

1. Nothing good happens after 2 a.m. – This line is true in every way possible. Don’t believe me? Try to think of an amazing thing that happened that late at night…I know I can’t. It’s all random, drunken things. Yuck!

2. Your relationship’s a fourth grader! – Two of the characters on the show have been dating for almost 9 years, so one of their friends called their relationship a 4th grader. That is genius! Mine and Paul’s relationship is almost in kindergarten! (Almost 4 years)

A couple weeks after Paul and I started dating

That same couple was discussing how they don’t have any more “firsts” since they’ve been together so long. That got me thinking about Paul and I since we’ve been together for almost 4 years. Now here’s the connection between How I Met Your Mother and lunch today.

Paul and I were talking about the Bears and how they’re in the playoffs this year, etc. Last time the Bears were in the playoffs was back in 2007, when they reached the Super Bowl. Paul and I began dating a couple weeks after that. So we’ve never been together while the Bears have been in the playoffs. As soon as I said that, Paul said: “See, we still have firsts.” That brought a huge smile to my face! πŸ™‚

Do you ever work out with a friend? Ever watch How I Met Your Mother? Having a good Hump Day?

This entry was posted in chicago bears, food, friends, lunch, restaurant, television, working out, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Work Out with a Friend

  1. Maryann says:

    Lucky that you have a treadmill at home! We have an elyptical but i dont use it much. My bf loves HIMYM and bought me season one, which I like but dont watch too much to be honest! Haha my mom actually told me last week that “nothing good happens after 11pm”. Such a motherly thing to say!

  2. Katy says:

    My friend Jackie called her baby hair her devil horns. Lol.

    I LOVE working out with a friend. Or my fiance. It’s the best way to work out in my opinion.

  3. I want a treadmill at home so bad! I just need to make room for one!!! I used to have a running buddy but we’ve been slacking lately! As far as weights go I like to do it on my own:)

  4. Kat says:

    Keep those corny pics coming!! Those are what give blogs personality. If I could ever take a picture of myself that was halfway decent I would post it! lol SO keep posting your gorgeous self πŸ™‚
    My bestie and I go hiking all the time and that is how we workout together. And I LOVE How I Met Your Mother. The hubby and I watch it every week together

  5. peasandcrayons says:

    a home gym sounds fabulous right about now… the cold makes it so hard to be active!

    and omg OB-SESSED with HIMYM! I quote barney constantly!

    xoXOxo
    jenn

  6. Linda says:

    We love HIMYM. Barney is my favorite character. I can’t wait for the season to start up again!

  7. Stefanie says:

    I love solo pics! You look so cute! I wear headbands all the time–working out or not. I have side swept bangs and I get annoyed with them after about 5 minutes. So, I’m rocking a head band a lot. I just get the really skinny ones that comes in cute colors!

    Sam and my relationship is a 4th grader! Wow! haha I like that analogy.

    I miss Go Roma! I used to have one only 5 minutes from my house, but they closed down. They’re pizza is delish! Everybody needs pizza in their life, so don’t feel bad! πŸ˜‰

    • That’s part of the reason why I’m too scared to get bangs. I feel like I’d end up getting annoyed and putting them back every other day haha! Your bangs are so cute though! Totally agree that everyone needs a pizza every once in while πŸ™‚

  8. WOW GO ROMA I love that Place… Lets work out tomorrow?! πŸ™‚
    P.S. let’s try that pilates video I bought us for Christmas…

  9. i like working out alone! its kind of my ‘me’ time, but it is fun to do a class with a friend!

  10. alex says:

    I love the saying “nothing good happens after 2am” that is so incredibly true!!!

    I love working out with a friend!! they keep me motivated!! My husband also watches “How I met your mother” . .. the show kinda bugs me so I don’t watch it regularly

  11. im not one to work out with a friend but i do love doing classes with some buddies!

  12. I always work out alone…but I wouldn’t mind a yoga partner sometimes!

    I just watched How I Met Your Mother for the first time a few weeks ago…it is super funny!

    …and don’t stop postin’ pics of yourself! It’s fun to see what a person looks like in all their different areas of life…even if it’s solo pics of workout outfits!

    ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

