Margaritas and an Interesting Bookmark

It was a mad dash when I got home from work today. I got changed and ready as fast as possible to get a small workout in. On the ride home, I determined I would just opt for the elliptical, and that’s what I went for as soon as I laced up my shoes. Thank goodness for Eminem. He got me through a grueling 15-minute workout. If I feel good tomorrow morning, I’m going to try to get my arm workout in. My usual feeling of accomplishment after a workout just isn’t there if the workout is so short.

Margaritas

The girls and I headed over to El Jardin tonight. Usually when I go out for drinks, I just head for the city, mostly because I live literally 2 blocks away. But two of my friends have been raving about the margaritas at this restaurant in Glenview.

Lava Lamp Frozen Margarita

I had the Lava Lamp Frozen Margarita, which is an original margarita on the rocks with a splash of strawberry margarita. Wow, this thing was good! I’ve had margaritas before, and they’re not really my thing, mostly because they are too heavy and filling. But this was more of a drink than a smoothie, and it was tasty! We all had two, and I’d love to try one again the next time I come back.

The girlies

Bookmark

The Summer Queen's bookmark

Although I read all the time, I never use a bookmark. I have in the past, but sometimes I’m reading multiple books at once, and I just lose track of the bookmark. The reason why I bring bookmarks up is this: I received the sequel to The Snow Queen a couple days ago in the mail. I hadn’t gotten a chance to really do anything with it until today. When I picked it up, a bookmark with a note on it popped up. This is what it said:

Jennifer –

I know I haven’t been the constant in your life I want to be. I love you. I’m proud of you. You are a spectacular person and I can’t wait to find out what sort of adult you’ll become.

Someday we’ll have a long talk and I’ll explain many things. Right now though, just know I think about you every day.

Love, love, love,
your sister Paige

I didn’t change one word here, or any grammar. I was more then taken aback when I read this.

1. The entire note depressed me profoundly. Clearly, Paige regrets that she hasn’t been in her sister, Jennifer’s, life.

2. Paige loves Jennifer, though she clearly messed up along the way.

3. Paige has been out of the picture for a while. Who knows how Jennifer even received this gift.

4. Lastly, and sadly, Jennifer gave this book and bookmark away. She didn’t even keep it for sentiment. What did Paige do? Why did Jennifer get rid of the bookmark?

This whole thing is a major mystery, one that deserves to be its own book. It really upsets me, and now I’m going to make it a point to always use this bookmark, for Jennifer and Paige.

Honestly, I’d love to hear any thoughts about this bookmark. I love my sister more than anything; she’s my best friend. It makes me wonder about what happened between Paige and Jennifer. Plus, this book came out in 1991, so who even knows how old the bookmark is.

This entry was posted in books, friends, restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Margaritas and an Interesting Bookmark

  1. Katy says:

    Oh that is so sad. 😦

    I don’t have a sister, but I can imagine it would have to be something tragic to make you never want to see one again.

  2. Maryann says:

    Wow that is very interesting…I wonder if something happened between Paige and her parents that maybe got Paige kicked out of the house so she couldn’t be there for Jennifer? It is depressing, but at the same time it’s nice that Paige is reaching out to Jennifer and expressing her love. I do agree with your #4 though…hmm.

  3. alex says:

    aw, that makes me sad. I sure do hope they mended whatever was wrong. 😦

    on another note, that lava lamp margarita looks awesome!

  4. Kat says:

    That is awful. I have 2 sisters, a much older one and a much younger one (different parents, my parents got divorced when I was 2). My older sis is 12 years older than me and she is my WORLD. I mean really. We have never gotten into any fights or arguements. I dont know whatt I would do if we did. I cant go a day without talking to her, let alone a lifetime

  5. Stefanie says:

    Wow, that is so sad! I have two sisters (one older, one younger) and I am SO close to both of them! I couldn’t imagine life without either of them. πŸ™‚

    And I love a little mystery, so this is an intriguing story!

  6. Linda says:

    I love finding books with old notes written in them. It makes me feel like the book has “lived”. Oh the stories we could write about Jennifer and Paige. Perhaps Jennifer was so mad at Paige that she tossed the book out. Or Paige might have passed away before giving the book to Jennifer and her family not knowing the bookmark was in the book, gave the book away. I love the mystery.
    I have lost a few bookmarks (ones friends gave me with notes attached) to the library. So now I keep those out of the books and use the library bookmarks. If I lose those I won’t be upset.

  7. Kayla says:

    It’s certainly not easy keeping track of my many bookmarks! Haha, but I always use one!

Leave a Reply

