Changing Up My Sandwich

No matter how hard I try to make lunch new and interesting, it’s still a challenge every week. Luckily, I’ll be going out to lunch on Thursday, so that’s one lunch I don’t have to worry about.

For my main meal today, I topped a wheat bagel thin with Athenos hummus, chopped cherry tomatoes, Swiss cheese and turkey breast slices.

Turkey, Swiss and Hummus Sandwich

On the side, I also made a salad filled with spinach leaves, chopped cherry tomatoes, chopped green olives, feta, chopped sun dried tomatoes and topped with a balsamic vinaigrette. Blueberries and grapes also served as fruity side.

Lunch on January 2

This lunch isn’t bad by any means. The sandwich is tasty and I love all the ingredients in the salad, but sometimes I just get a little bored. Maybe I’ll pack a Kashi lunch for Tuesday…

Do you have any good ideas for sandwiches or an easy lunch recipe? I love salads without lettuce, so any ideas would be great!

This entry was posted in food, lunch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Changing Up My Sandwich

  1. i just love roasting veggies in the oven with some spices and then making a big salad mixing in mustard and hummus- no lettuce, but loads of flavor and texture!

  2. alex says:

    I always have issues about deciding what I want for lunch when i go to work. I just need to end up bringing tuna as a back up to work with me.

  3. Kat says:

    Thanks for the blog comment. BTW, totally love that your a football fan. Sometimes I feel like a freak since Im one of the only girls I know who loves football! Lunches for me are usually leftovers since my hubby wont eat them, but a lot of times in the beginning of the week I will make a huge batch of veggie burgers. Ill freeze them and then just take one out each day for lunch. Ill put it in a sandwhich, burger or on top of greens or quinoa 🙂

  4. Stefanie says:

    I usually do spinach, hummus, tempeh, and veggie wraps for lunches on-the-go! Sometimes I’ll add laughing cow cheese or matchstick carrots. It’s def. hard to be creative with lunches on the go!

  5. Maryann says:

    I always use broccoli slaw as my base for salads because I hate using lettuce too! I bet you’ll like it. Then I add any roasted/raw veggies I have, some beans, salsa, hummus/or greek yogurt. I also usually eat it with some sweet potato or bread for carbs. Love it!

    • Haha! I thought I was the only out who hated lettuce! I’ve never tried broccoli slaw though. It sounds really interesting. I think I’m going to have to bring some salsa to work. Good idea! Thanks!

  6. Any chopped up veggies (celery, peppers, onion,broccoli, carrots, etc) add some beans/peas, spices, salsa/dressing, etc-I always call them “clean out the fridge” salads-you take all the left overs and chop ’em up and enjoy!

  7. Kayla says:

    I always have the hardest time thinking of good lunch ideas! Haha, but never breakfast!! I love bagel thin sandwiches, I used to have them all the time, but haven’t for a while! Today for lunch I just threw some canned tuna together with some salsa, hummus and yogurt and had it on salad.

Leave a Reply

