A Basic Arms Workout

I’ve been hearing all over the place that adding some strength training not only helps intensify your workout, but it really does wonders for your body too. I know I’m not going to bulk up by adding some weights to my workout, but I do hope it helps tone me up a bit. After checking out Kat’s arm workout on Keep’n The Faith, I wanted to do something similar, but less strenuous since I am a beginner. Here’s what it looked like:

In and Out Bicep Curls – 2 sets of 8
Tricep Kickbacks – 2 sets of 8
Tricep Dips – 2 sets of 8
Upright Rows – 2 sets of 8
Static Arm Curls – 2 sets of 8
Standing Dumbbell Curls – 2 sets of 8
Tricep Dumbbell Extensions – 2 sets of 8
Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 2 sets of 8
Side Dumbbell Lateral Arm Raise – 2 sets of 8
2 Planks for 30 seconds

I don’t know if my arms will hurt tomorrow. I was able to do this mini arms workout without too much trouble. So if I don’t feel sore tomorrow, I’m either going to increase the reps or try to get some other exercises in there. Oh, by the way, I only have 5 pound weights right now.

Before this workout, I did a 4-miler on the treadmill. I feel myself becoming more confident as I run, and more sure of the distance I can cover. While I don’t always run the entire thing, I always run the first 3.1 miles 😉 After that’s finished, I cut myself a little bit of slack. In the coming months though, I want to try to increase that to 3.5 miles, 3.75 and on until 6. That might take a long time though.

Work’s back in full swing now. Everyone is back from vacation and 5-day weeks are the norm once again. On the bright side, Jersey Shore is back this week!

Season 3 cast of Jersey Shore

(source)

I’m so pumped for this show: 1. All my other favorite shows have ended for the season 2. The lines on this show are straight-up hilarious 3. We can watch this at the Weekly Girls Night.

I also started “The Snow Queen” last night. I’m pretty intrigued so far, and I’m only on page 43. It’s kind of complicated though, so I won’t even try to explain it.

Lastly, Stefanie from The New Healthy blogged about her Inspiration Board, which is an amazing idea. While I don’t have one per say, I do have my own massive bulletin board which I am obsessed with, and have been for years. I bought it in pieces off of Pottery Barn Teen, and Paul put it together for me.

To say that that day was interesting would be an understatement, but since then, this board has been amazing. As a college student, it was a savior! Now, it’s a little more relaxed (no homework, no school meetings, etc.) so I have more room for quotes and other happy things 🙂

Thanks Stefanie for making me think of my own board!

My bulletin board! Love it!

Hope you’re all having a fun Monday! If you have any tips for arm workouts, I’d love to hear them! Also, if you’re curious about my bulletin board, let me know. I’m considering doing a more in-depth post about it, since I love it that much! 🙂

This entry was posted in books, Me, running, television, Uncategorized, working out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Basic Arms Workout

  1. alex says:

    Congrats on doing so well with the running, I can only hope to be able to run that much some day (have always been an eliptical girl-just now started running). The way I see strength training…your arms or legs or abs should somewhat hurt when ya leave – that’s when you know that you worked them out…if you are just going for toning and not necessarily muscle then it probably shouldn’t hurt when you leave (i am no expert – i could be completely wrong). You are doing great though!! yay!

  2. Kat says:

    Glad you tried the routine!! I would DEF say to up your weight or reps though. I use a 10lb and I rep pretty much to failure. You WANT your arms to be shaking afterwards!! If all you can get is 5lbs for now though, I would just recommend taking the reps up to 15 and maybe adding an additional set. Either that or throw in some body weight moves like pushups! Those are great arm workouts. Great job though, can’t wait to see how you progress!! 🙂

  3. Stefanie says:

    You are SO welcome!!! I love your board too! I have something similar in my computer room, but it’s mostly filled with important papers and Adam’s artwork. 😉

    I’m the same way with running! I have a certain distance at which I cut myself some slack–it’s different every time!

  4. Kayla says:

    I get the Pottery Barn Teen catalog in the mail and I saw those, they looked so cute! I really want to get one for my room!

  5. I am making a board too! I think it’s a great way to stay on track 🙂 OMG – what kind of jersey shore fan am i? I had NO idea it was coming back on this week. Thank god for you. Nice treadmill run! I enjoy running outside a lot more but that’s pretty much impossible in the winter for me.

  6. Pingback: Work Out with a Friend | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

