Grilled Cheddar, Swiss and Tomato Sandwich

2011 has begun, and I’m already on my way to cooking more! Even though I wasn’t feeling especially creative for lunch today, I did my best. I wanted to make something easy, and that’s exactly what a grilled cheese sandwich is known for. But I didn’t want it to just be cheddar cheese. I had some leftover Swiss cheese in the fridge, and a delicious looking tomato, so I added those in and made my own sandwich recipe.

Sandwich ingredients

I only had a block of cheddar cheese, and I did my best to cut it nicely. That didn’t work too well though.

Two slices together

I don’t know why I keep choosing recipes that require me to flip! First the omelet, then the pancakes and now this grilled sandwich. At least I’m getting some worthwhile practice.

Side view

In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have used so much tomato. It was kind of difficult to flip the sandwich without having the tomato pieces fly out. Live and learn!

Ooey gooey cheddar cheese

Delicious and really easy!

Grilled Cheddar, Swiss and Tomato Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • no-stick cooking spray
  • 2 slices wheat bread
  • 2 slices cheddar cheese
  • 2 slices Swiss cheese
  • 1 med. tomato, chopped

Directions:

Preheat skillet over medium heat and spray with no-stick cooking spray. Butter one side of the two slices of bread. Place bread slices butter-side-down onto skillet bottom and add 1 slice of cheddar cheese. Then add slices of tomato, followed by slice of Swiss cheese. Place one slice on top of the other so that all of the two slices of bread are on the outside. Grill until lightly browned and flip over; continue grilling until cheese is melted.

This entry was posted in food, lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grilled Cheddar, Swiss and Tomato Sandwich

  1. dang! so simple, but i love the flavor combo!

Leave a Reply

