Greek Style Omelet

An ideal breakfast on a day off

I’m 100% Greek, but I’m not one of your typical Greeks. By that I mean that I don’t listen to Greek music and I don’t only hang out with Greek people. But I am fluent in the language, I love my church and I could eat Greek food every single day.

Since I had the day off of work today (woo hoo!), I wanted to try making my own omelet. I’ve never made one before because the idea of having to flip the egg concoction over intimidates me! But, I was really craving eggs, and I wanted it to have a little more flavor, so I searched for a Greek omelet recipe that I could make with all the things I already have at my home.

I found this My Big Fat Greek Omelet recipe on Allrecipes. Originally, the servings were for 4, so I cut it down to 1. Scroll down for my version of this recipe.

Ingredients for Greek Style Omelet

I had all of the ingredients on hand, which to me is the most important quality of a recipe.

Tomato and feta mixture

A tale of two bowls

At first, I thought I might be using too much spinach.

Yum!

The picture above is definitely my favorite so far. I love how the green, yellow and white contrast here.

No, I cannot flip well...I know!

I really tried to make this omelet look good. But that was a lot easier said than done.

Another angle

The final product

One thing right off the bat. I cannot flip. I don’t know why I find flipping to be so difficult, but I do. Now, I need to practice my flipping skills. Maybe I can try that in 2011! 🙂

My Greek Style Omelet

I really enjoyed this omelet, but it was a tad bit too salty. Next time, I don’t think I’ll add any salt to the tomato mixture. The feta is salty enough as it is. Also, I think I should have made the tomatoes even smaller. The fatties just would not get in that omelet! I’m glad I put a ton of spinach in the omelet, too. I thought it might have been too much, but it was perfect while I was eating. This omelet rocked, and I wish I could force myself to make breakfasts like this during the week, but there’s no way that’s going to happen. I’m way too tired as it is, and I only wake up at 6:45 a.m. So omelets will have to stick to the weekends and days off like this!

Greek Style Omelet

Ingredients

  • 1/4 C. halved cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, divided
  • 1/8 tsp. salt, divided
  • Pepper
  • 2 Tbs. crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 handful spinach, chopped
  • 3/4 tsp. olive oil

Directions:

Heat a 10-inch skillet. Mix tomatoes, 1/2 tsp. oregano, 1/4 tsp. salt, and pepper to taste in a small bowl. Stir in feta. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs together, then stir in spinach, 1/2 tsp. oregano, 1/4 tsp. salt, and pepper to taste. A few minutes before cooking omelet, add oil to the pan, and increase heat to medium-high. Add the egg mixture to the skillet.

Using a spatula to push back the eggs that have set, tilt the pan and let the uncooked egg mixture run onto the empty portion of the pan. Continue pushing back cooked eggs, tilting the pan and letting uncooked egg mixture flow onto the empty portion of the pan until omelet is moist but fully cooked, about 3 minutes.

Reduce heat to low; pour the tomato mixture over half of the omelet. Using a slotted, flat spatula or turner, carefully fold the untopped half over the filling. Slide the omelet your plate and let stand a minute or two for the filling to warm. Eat!

Happy New Year’s Eve!

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, new year's and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Greek Style Omelet

  1. Kristina says:

    Mmm…omelette looks delish! I looooove going to the local greek restaurants for bfast:) Happy New Years!

  2. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Pancakes | Raven Waves

  3. Pingback: Grilled Cheddar, Swiss and Tomato Sandwich | Raven Waves

  4. amy says:

    Hi, just saw your blog on fage facebook for the pancakes (sounds yummy!)

    Your omelet looks fabulous/yummy.

    For a 10 inch pan, you should have 3 or 4 eggs. .. for 2 eggs only, it’s better to use a 6 or 8 inch pan. Those are the traditional omelet pans (and of which I Have yet to actually buy one. I have a 12 inch pan, so I make a huge omelet and split it in 2 for hubby and myself. You sort of want a “crust” of eggs to form on the bottom, so you need a really hot pan when you add in your eggs. I’ve learned a lot from when hubby and I use to attend a pancake/omelet breakfast event (once a month) with his bicycling friends (they ride there, I meet them, they eat and then ride home–or I give them a ride if there’s a flat or sore muscles).

    Also, not sure how much butter/oil you used in the pan, but you do need some–even in a non-stick skillet.

    Definitely, this is a recipe worth trying at my house –and yours in 2011!!! Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

