A Sunday Without the Bears

It’s always a mixed blessing when the Chicago Bears don’t play on Sunday for me. It’s great because I can get a better work-out in, and I don’t have to rearrange my schedule so I can watch the game. On the bad side, my day is a little less entertaining, and I usually feel compelled to clean. Yuck! My room needs it though…

For my work-out today, I started with 20 minutes on the elliptical while reading the latest edition of Fitness Magazine. Congrats to Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers and Tina from Faith, Fitness, Fun for making it in the magazine. Great tips as usual!

I’m always reading about interval training, so I decided I’d give it a shot on the treadmill today. Now that I can run a 5K in 36 minutes, I feel like I should try to challenge myself more, and change things up. Here’s what I did:

5 minute warm-up (low-intensity cardio)

3o seconds sprinting then 1 minute speed-walk – 15 reps

10 minutes low-intensity cardio

I actually really enjoyed this work-out. Those 30 second spurts are brutal, but they really made the workout go by faster. As much as I love my 3 mile runs, I think interval training is going to become a mainstay in my workout.

On to breakfast…

Greek yogurt, granola and honey

This is by-far my favorite breakfast. Fage is so filling, and Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Raisin Granola gives it a crunchy texture. I’m obsessed with honey, so just a tiny bit is enough here.

Yummy!

Great breakfast and great workout!

 

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, working out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

