Strawberry Banana GU Energy Gel

I broke my GU Energy Gel cherry yesterday! I’ve been waiting for the perfect moment to try one of the gels that I won from the wonderful Katy’s giveaway, and the stars aligned yesterday afternoon. I woke up, ready for a 4.25-mile run/jog on the treadmill, and was feeling great. Jillian Michaels was calling to me, but so were all the blog posts in my Google Reader. Naturally, I skipped good old Jillian and got on the computer instead.

Later on, I received a text from one of my best friends. She wanted to know if I wanted to go for a run with her. I haven’t seen my friend in a week or so, and I really wanted to hang out and chat. I told her, of course and that I’d be ready in 20. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to make it the entire time so I ate/drank (?) the Strawberry Banana GU Energy Gel.

First off, let me just say that I am big on the texture of my food. If something doesn’t feel right, I seriously might gag. Now I knew that these things were gels and that they would be slimy, but still when it hit my mouth I thought about Simba trying his first insect in The Lion King.

But, once I got past the initial gooey-ness, I easily forced the rest of it down my throat. Unfortunately, I didn’t glance outside until after I took the gel. It was pouring and really cold. Wah wah. I texted Ana, and told her we could work out in my house instead. Thank you treadmill and elliptical! She took the T. and I got the E. and we pumped away while chatting for 30 minutes. This gel really really worked. After the machines we did Level 1 of Jillian, and even though the workout was just as grueling as it usually is, I wasn’t feeling tired.

Overall, the effect of the gel made up for the unpleasant texture. Next time, I want to do a run over 3.5 miles, I’m going to take one! I really think it could help me go farther! Thanks so much Katy!

Switching the Blog

I’ve gotten a couple questions about switching to self-hosting and getting my own domain. The best advice I can give you if you’re considering this is to check out The Singing Runner’s breakdown of her switch. She did it all herself, and her blog is phenomenal. I’m actually really lucky because I have a friend who is pretty much a tech genius. He registered with a Web Host for me, downloaded and installed the WordPress software, reverted my DNS and set up my SQL and he’s going to export all of my files from this blog and import them to the new one. I can honestly say that without him, I probably wouldn’t be switching. So why am I self-hosting?

1. Freedom – Though WordPress.com is seriously great, I now have a ton of themes to choose from. I can also modify these themes (colors, fonts, columns, etc). You can’t do that with a free blog.

2. Plug-Ins – This is probably the most important thing. There are so many plug-ins that can make your blog look amazing and feel like your own. I’m adding a ton to my new site, and you can’t add any with a free blog.

3. Changing the Code – I have some basic knowledge of coding, which allows me to make more in-depth changes within my new blog. Again, you don’t have this ability with a free blog.

About Sophia @ Raven Waves

Some girls buys shoes. Others buy purses. Me? I buy books.
This entry was posted in blogs, fitness, food, Uncategorized, working out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Strawberry Banana GU Energy Gel

  1. I’ve never tried the Gu—I think it would take a while to get used to the texture for me too.
    Good luck with your site migration!

  2. Alyssa says:

    I LOVE apple cinnamon gu! and the texture may not bother you as much, cause it tastes just like applie pie filling. :)

  3. kitkat1126 says:

    Ahh that’s exactly why I fear trying the Gu! There’s something about the thought of that texture, especially if I’m mid run or mid transition in a workout that causes a gag reflex. Have you tired Clif shot bloks? LOVE them!

  4. Kristina says:

    I’m not a gu gal-yuck! Something about the texture freaks me out.
    I self host-but only bc i’ve got a tech savy digital guru that does everything for me!

  5. That’s awesome you have a friend to help you make the switch!! I am also in the process of moving to a self host. I just have to wait a certain number of days before transferring my domain because I purchased it recently!

  6. vixter2010 says:

    Not tried it myself, sounds freaky :) looking forward to the new blog!

  7. myhighonlife says:

    I’m totally a texture person too and took forever to try a Gu again. If you like chocolate (which I sure hope you do!) I *highly* recommend the Mint Chocolate flavor. It is like eating candy, sooo yummy.

  8. I really want to make the switch sometime soon as well. I’m pretty nervous though because I don’t have anyone savvy to help me out ahh.

  9. Thanks for the shoutout! :D I appreciate it! Good luck with the switch! :D

  10. I hate Gu. I was also thinking of making the switch, but off late I have been so busy that I am not able to blog on a daily basis hence I decided to wait for a few more days.

  11. ivenever tried a gu but i dont like id like the texture!! WOW changing your blog sounds complicated- but seem to have got the skill!

  12. Kat says:

    I want to switch to wordpress os badly, but I have to find out how to switch my domain over first. It is frustrating as all heck!

  13. Jenny says:

    Can’t wait to see the new blog. Freedom to do whatever you want does make a big difference! :D

  14. Yes, the sports gels aren’t the best at first, but once you find a good flavor, it’s not as bad. I’m addicted to my vanilla hammer gels. It’s the only flavor and kind I can stomach.

    Can’t wait until you unveil the new blog!

  15. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    I hope you do your own run-down on the switch if you change over! there are a lot of limitations on wordpress

  16. Courtney says:

    Uff, I cannot stand the texture of Gu either! Props to you for getting it down :D

  17. I’m not a Gu person either. It’s too slimy and hard for me to swallow. :-?
    I love the new look, BTW!

  18. Your workout sounds like SO much fun! Catching up with friends is the best way to spend a workout. :)

    The Lion King is one of my favorite movies ever!!! :D

    Congrats on the self hosting! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  19. Thank you so much for the hosting advice! Super helpful!

    Gotta love Jillian Michaels!! :)

  20. Stephanie says:

    I’m seriously scared of Gu. I’m not sure I’ll ever try it…and I’ll try almost anything!

  21. Katy saved me when I was switching my blog over! I don’t know what I would have done without her :)

  22. what kind of plug-ins can you add? i am excited for you!!

    I have never tried the gu – but it seems odd to me – I do have some though… I should try!

  23. ewww I don’t think I’d like that gu stuff! It looks interesting though!

  24. runyogarepeat says:

    I’m gonna start using Gu for my longer half-marathon training runs. I hope I don’t gag on the texture though!
    You should write a post about cool plug-ins or tips for switching your blog.

  25. Meri says:

    I always wondered about that Gu!
    Interesting ideas about self-hosting. I feel so very very out of my own league with the technical side of blogging- I think I need a tech partner to do that part! Luckily man-go-round is pretty good at this stuff, so I just haven’t really “gotten around to it” yet. I can’t wait to see how yours evolves though!

  26. Ive only had gus during runs longer than ten miles and at the time they were AMAZING, so im not sure how they would taste any other time :)

    good luck with the site change! xoxo

  27. In looking to change my blog around on bluehost but all of the tech stuff is freaking menout. Thanks for the helpful link. :)

  28. I haven’t tried the gu for those texture reasons (even the name sounds gooey!), but I might try it – sounds like the energy level goes up!
    Like your blog by the way :)

  29. Katy says:

    Haha, the Simba reference made me laugh. I’m glad you (kinda!) liked the Gu gels! Lol. It took a minute for me to get used the texture as well, but now I slurp it down as quickly as possible.

    That’s awesome that you have a friend to help you out with all of that. I have a few friends that can write HTML, and I used to have a very basic knowledge of it all (I’ve since forgotten…) but I don’t think I’m prepared to put all the work into right now. Maybe this summer! :) Congrats, though, that’s super cool!

  30. Haha! I love the reference to Simba! That made me smile. :) Glad the GU worked out well for you despite the texture.

    Looking forward to seeing your new blog. I know it’ll be great. :)

  31. I can’t wait to see the new blog! You’re so lucky to have someone who can help you :)

  32. I find the citrus flavored GU the most tolerable. Good luck on the blog switch!

  33. I agree about the Gu – something about it just doesn’t sit right with me!

  34. Ellie says:

    coooool! can’t wait to see the bloggie Sophia! how exciting is that? :D

Leave a Reply

