Thick Smoothie

Up until yesterday I’d been very hesitant to go near the xanthan gum in my house. Why? That name is really creepy, and it gave me the idea that xanthan gum was too “advanced” an ingredient for me to try. But because my sister always uses it in her smoothies, I decided to give it a shot. First, I did a bit of research.

Xanthan gum is used as a substitute for gluten in gluten-free baking, but you can also use it to thicken smoothies. There are only 5 calories for every half teaspoon of xanthan gum, so you don’t need to be nervous about using. Plus, if you’re like me, and your smoothies come out a bit watery, xanthan will become your savior. Be aware that xanthan is pretty expensive, so if you don’t already have it hidden in your home, then it might not be necessary.

Ready to blend!

Almond milk adds a nice touch to the drink. I’ve also been using it in my coffee recently, and it really gives the coffee a nice boost of flavor.

Oh so thick!

Thick Green Smoothie
Ingredients:

  • 2 huge handfuls spinach
  • 1/4 C. red apple, chopped
  • 2-3 frozen peach slices
  • 3-4 lg. strawberries, chopped
  • 1/4 C. almond milk
  • 1/2 Tbs. xanthan gum
  • 3-4 ice cubes

Directions:

Place spinach in blender first. Then add the rest of the ingredients, and blend until smooth. Pour into glass and enjoy!

Soy Joy

I tried the first of the bars that Kayla sent me last week, and this one was really interesting. I’ve never had a soy bar, first of all, and second, I’ve never had a bar with banana flavor. I think that was the best thing about this snack. The banana flavor was delicious, plus it was thick like biscotti. Plus, the bar is low in calories (130) and filled with all-natural ingredients, like raisins and dried pineapple. If you like soft and chewy bars, I’d say, try this one!

Today

Not sure what I’m doing today. Already got my workout in this morning while watching The Price is Right on TV. I could seriously get used to doing that! My sister and I were obsessed with game shows when we were kids. We’d watch everything from Let’s Make a Deal to Supermarket Sweep to Jeopardy. Do you guys remember Supermarket Sweep? Contestants would race through a grocery story, and try to grab as many expensive items as possible. There were also bonuses in the shape of huge stuffed animals or products. The game was crazy!

Instead of a normal girls night tonight, we’re inviting the guys out with us for margaritas. I haven’t had one in a while and I’m really craving the sweetness. Hopefully, everyone can make it out.

One other random thing…I’m getting a new blog! I’m hosting my own blog with its own domain! I should be making the switch in the next couple weeks, just need to export everything from this one. I’ll keep you all posted!

Also, just wondering, is there anything you’d like to see more of on my blog, or do you have any questions for me? I see this all the time on other blogs, so I just wanted to ask. If not, no worries :)

Have you tried a Soy Joy bar? Do you ever work out while watching a game show? Remember Supermarket Sweep?

About Sophia @ Raven Waves

Some girls buys shoes. Others buy purses. Me? I buy books.
This entry was posted in blogs, food, looking back, Me, recipes, reviews, snacks, television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Thick Smoothie

  1. I’ve been dying to get some xanthan gum!!!

  2. Alyssa says:

    I’m a xanthan gum LOOOVER! I’ve used it in fat free dip recipes, too! :)

  3. I used to eat soy joy bars all throughout college, but they do tend to dry out a little for me. When I tried larabars I was pleasantly surprised!

  4. kitkat1126 says:

    Omg, I haven’t thought about Supermarket Sweep in YEARS! So funny, my older sister and I used to LOVE watching that show and we were also diehard Double Dare fans!

  5. I’ve been curious about xantham gum, thanks!

  6. I’ve tried Soy Joy, and like them…but I try not to eat much soy.

    I use xanthan gum occasionally, like in the cashew ice cream I just made (or if a smoothie accidentally turns out too thin).

    Glad you’re enjoying your break!

  7. I think I always use to much xanthan gum because it becomes to yucky and too sticky. I’m not sure I’m still in the phase of working with it so we will see.

  8. Huh, I have never tried xanthan gum before!! I’m not sure if I would like it, though.

    Ohhhh yes… I used to LOVE watching the Price is Right (Bob Barker style, though…none of this new drew carry stuff). So glad you are enjoying your little break from the real world :)

  9. vixter2010 says:

    We had Supermarket Sweep here as well, hilarious! I’d quite like to do a shopping sweep. Looking forward to seeing the new blog!

  10. I loved Supermarket Sweep and any game show really!!

  11. I’m so glad you posted about this! I’ve actually been wondering about xanthan gum since I see it in smoothie recipes all the time. Now I just need to find some on sale, haha!

    Congrats on getting your own domain! I’ll look forward to the big reveal! :)

  12. So exciting that you are getting your own blog!! How much are they? I’ve thought about switching but know NOTHING about them.
    I like soy joy bars but really prefer to make my own.
    I use xanthan gum often…I love it!

  13. I’ve been scared of xanthan gum too! I’m glad it worked for you! I’m working on self-hosting too! Maybe you could post about the process? Just an idea! :)

  14. congrats on the self hosting!! cant wait!! oh i love xantham gum in smoothies- makes them oh so thick!! never tried a soyjoy!

  15. Jenny says:

    How awesome to get your own domain! Can’t wait to see it :) And xanthan gum is awesome in my shakes, a little goes a long way. Have a fun night out, I definitely need a margarita too ;)

  16. Stephanie says:

    I’m super scared of xantham gum! Every time I see it listed in a recipe, I just mentally dismiss it and decide I won’t make it after all. I’m not sure why…I know that it’s a powder, but I guess i just imagine a bit, sticky, gummy wad. Dumb, I know!

  17. I dont want to buy anything newwwwwwwww! hehehe! Wanna know my trick? I chop the apples and all other fruit I need for smoothies and freeze it all ahead of time. the smoothies come out so thick they are practically sorbet! holler!!!!!

    your green monster is GORGEOUS girl! so green and vibrant! must try peach soon!

  18. Courtney says:

    I used to LOVE SUPERMARKET SWEEP! Best 90’s game show ever! :D

  19. Ma Ma Megan says:

    I love xantham gum! I was a bit apprehensive about using it too, but i’m so glad I ended up buying it. Makes the best smoothies <3

  20. Kristina says:

    Love what guar and xantham gum can do to a smoothie/ice cream! I used to eat strawberry soyjoy but now have switched to Larabars!

  21. I LOVE watching TV while doing a treadmill or elliptical. And when I’m outta the gym I’ve GOTTA get some tunes going! I basically want to be entertained at all times : )

  22. Sometimes I do work out while watching TV. I remember Supermarket Sweep. I loved that show!

  23. My mom and I used to watch Supermarket Sweep all the time! I want to know what it’s like to live in Chicago. lol

  24. Katy says:

    That’s exciting about hosting your own domain! I don’t think I’m quite ready for that yet… Haha. :)

  25. I don’t buy Xanathan gum too much because it’s SO expensive and my grocery bill is already like a million dollars a week ;-)

    Have used it in baking, not in smoothies though. I feel my smoothies are already pretty thick!
    Congrats on the hosting! Good luck with it! SO much better though, you will love it!!

  26. It seems like everyone’s on the xantham gum. Like Jenn, I think frozen banana adds a ton of thickness to my green monsters.

    I also loved game shows! I always associate Price is Right with staying home “sick” from school because it was usually the only time I really saw it. I was a huge Wheel of Fortune kid.

  27. I actually really like soy joy bars. they’re kinda…buttery?
    and I hate to tell you, but I got xanthan and guar gums at deals and steals : )

  28. Your smoothie souds fantastic!!!! I love smoothies!!! I especially love how green yours is! YUM! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

